Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Civil War

by breadstix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The basis for my game is two lands connected by their similarities at war with each other.

The concept is to launch missiles to destroy the other lands base. Missile strength and missile defense can be upgraded. Missiles have to be purchased to launch at the enemy. I know it's bad, so be easy.

-HOW TO PLAY

This is a basic point and click game. Clicking on a building or the missile launcher will bring up options for the player to choose. The AI might be a little tough and could probably use some adjusting.

-Things I Learned
*I wasn't able to get sound in the game as I had some trouble with a few concepts that I had not tried yet and it through my schedule off. I might go back and add some simple sounds at some point.
*I need to start adding UI sooner as it always causes me trouble
*If I'm going to get faster I MUST start using more tools and stop trying to do so many things manually
*Tons of minor things

While probably one of the most amateur-ish games in the compo, I'm still proud that I got one in and of how much I learned.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#871Humor1.81
#891Theme2.71
#903Innovation2.68
#1030Mood2.29
#1057Fun2.38
#1066Overall2.59
#1076Graphics2.20
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Neat concept.

I enjoyed figuring out the correct number of missile upgrades to get before firing them as fast as I could.
Sometimes when I bought defense upgrades, my defense number reset to 0.
Would be nice to have a display of how many health points the buildings have left.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Nice idea, graphics could be better but concept is really nice.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Graphics are minimalistic but still appealing to the eye. The lack of audio is a bit of a shame but it doesn't necessarily detract from the gameplay. Overall, I think the biggest problem is that the game does not have a phase without combat (that I could distinguish). I remember a Midway game by the name of Rampart that this kind of reminds me of, but one of the best parts about it was the frantic non-combat timed strategy phases. This game could benefit from that, as it isn't really fun to be bombed while at the same time having to learn the game on the fly while the AI doesn't have the same crutch.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

It was an interesting idea! I'm not sure how to earn more money though it seems it is irrelevant to the missile strength or defense? but the AI can keep on firing at me faster and faster and I couldn't figure out how to catch up. It will be nice to display the health of the main building and how things are related. Also the close dialog button sometimes doesn't work.

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I like this idea behind this!

And regarding your intro text: Yes, finishing a game is definitely an accomplishment :)

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54pm

It's a great start! It's hard to tell how upgrades are affecting the game without some more info. And a little sound would go a long way. Just use SFXR for some fast, great SFX. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This is a fun premise.

I only wish there was some way of knowing how much health each side had.

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Strategy game in is simplest (but not dumbest)form. Lacks of info about the evolution of the war. "Am I winning ?" As for many of us, keep practicing to reach top level. Congrats for finishing your game

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Not bad if this is your first time! Nice idea, and it's already great that you learned from this Jam!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I have to say that the concept is quite good and if this is your first game well: nice job!

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

The game ran well but I must admit didn't manage to do anything propery ingame.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:45am

Very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]