Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Impossible Worlds

by lukz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Impossible Worlds is a platformer game in which you can switch worlds to change position of other players in order to use them as platforms and get to the next level.

Game aestetics base on Red, Green and Blue colors. Each world have different base color.

---------

Controls:
UP - jump
SPACE - switch world (color)
R - restart level

--------

It's my first ludum dare entry!
Unfortunately I didn't manage to add:
- UI
- better sounds (were added in hurry)
- more levels (there are only 7)
- particles
- implement menu

Gameplay and style were inspired by games like Thomas Was Alone and The Impossible Game.

I used: LibGDX, Box2D, Universal TweenEngine, sfxr, tiled.

twitter: @lukz_dev, http://infunity.pl/en/

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#456Fun3.15
#479Innovation3.26
#486Overall3.28
#552Graphics3.11
#609Theme3.19
#694Humor2.13
#707Mood2.81
#791Audio2.22

Comments

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11am

This was really fun to play. Great job!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

really fun game, one of the best

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice game. Good idea and well implemented. I really like that it was a runner game, so I only had to worry about jumping and freezing. I like the look of it as well.

Collision with spikes maybe a bit harsh, and some problems when freezing the player instantly when starting the level, and not being able to jump sometimes. But in general, great work!

Joncom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Cool take on the theme.

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Most of bugs cause switching layer near spawn point. I knew about that but I didn't had time left to fix it. Simple fix could block player from switching layer for 1 sec after spawn.

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I don't like all those frustrating platform games but this one is make me less frustrated :)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Good mechanic it was fun to play :D

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Fun little game, I like it. The switching is a bit late and could be more tight, but overall a very well done challenging little game.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Really neat idea and executed pretty well. My only gripe is that the controls seem unresponsive sometimes which makes the game more difficult to play

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Timing the world switching was pretty challenging but the game is great fun. Well done

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Really nice. I was thinking "this is kind of like Thomas Was Alone and Impossible Game's lovechild" then I read your post. Definitely nailed it :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

Sometimes I wish I could choose right away which block to move instead of cycling through all of them every time, but then I realize that it may result in being frustrating.

Nice and fun! Congratulations!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

I like the abstract art, I had issues playing 'cause pressing UP made the page scroll.

lukz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

@(Not) Ivano I tried to block default UP behaviour but it was also not working in game. Although, I successfully blocked space for scrolling down.

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Great idea. It was a bit hard to play. I had a lot of trouble with the jump button--it worked only about half the time, unfortunately. Even when it was working the game felt pretty difficult to control and not terribly user-friendly, which was a shame since the game itself looked very interesting and I wanted to see what it had to offer.

kdunee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I liked it, it was challenging. Sometimes the cycling mechanic was a bit annoying and resulted in just restarting the entire level, but overall cool game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Good mecanics. Game is bugged after the really hard level (5 little jumps in a row. I don't know what is after but until there i think the difficulty is too much reliant on the platform and not enough on the color mecanic. I would be great if the level is finishable only with one color and you have to use others only as platform in the right order. Maybe it's what you did in next levels but sadly i can't play it. Still the game is good, art style is great too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Pretty sure I broke it... I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/8xjQ7S7Vv10

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Nice mechanics, I like minimalistic concept, really fun game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Psst - We played your game on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEDWtuUqVjk

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Nice design which works really well with this mechanic but did find the switching a bit delayed. Would definitely like to see this expanded. Fun game.

dcampos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I like to see simple, yet innovative games like this. The art style looks good with its minimalism too.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:13am

The platforming physics are well implemented and I feel like this could be a really good game, but I'm stuck on the second level and suffering a bug where sometimes I can't jump. With a bit of tweaking this could be fun though. :)

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Great game concept and levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]