Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds by Jacksack and JordanFitz

by JordanFitz - Jam Entry

Connected Worlds (original name, I know) is a game made entirely in 72 hours. All art and music was created by Jacksack (http://www.twitch.tv/jacksack) and all programming was done by myself. (http://jordanfitz.com)

Libraries used:
jQuery (http://jquery.com/)
Salmon JS: (https://github.com/JordanFitz/SalmonJS-2)
Salmon is unfinished, and is mostly for my own use. It's basically just a collection of utility functions that make setting up canvas projects easier.

The controls are explained within the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Theme(Jam)3.84
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#186Humor(Jam)2.97
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#213Fun(Jam)3.34
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#324Mood(Jam)3.20
#358Audio(Jam)3.13
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

Interesting concept. Perhaps a reset button is in order for some of the trickier levels. The face drawing feature was also really cool.

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

I liked that I could draw the faces, great feature! - Nice and motivating music, great concept! - I liked the graphic style a lot!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Fun game! Really polished experience.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

I liked the face drawing.
I found the controls awkward. I think 'E' should be both pick up and place.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

The graphics are nice and the music is quite fitting. Also, Drawing the different characters faces is a pretty clever idea!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59am

I liked that this game gave the player the power of creativity from the get-go. Cute game :)

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40am

Fun game. I could tell some work went into this.
The control scheme was rather awkward though I'm afraid. The face drawing thing was a nice feature.

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40am

Good design, polished and well made. Congrats !

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

"Loading textures" brings me back to the old days of cannon fodder! Nice design overall and very clean. Great job

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

A bit of a predictable concept, but it's still fun. It would be great if the world-switching was more instantaneous.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

Platforming controls felt great. Nice puzzles game. The block collection and placement control choices felt a bit awkward to me but I got used to them. This was a very solid entry overall!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45am

I really liked the face drawing feature, and the gameplay was interesting. It's nothing that hasn't been done before, though, and the controls weren't tight. Regardless, I enjoyed this game even though I wouldn't label it more than average gameplay. That face drawing feature though; it was great! Just spend less time on a small gimmick and more time on the gameplay next time.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

I liked the face drawing part the best ;)
the art was reallly good, and the music was nice for the first 5 minutes.
I think you need a better puzzle mechanic, though; The block was a bit boring a repetitive.
Also, space was a bit awkward, I kept hitting it thinking I would jump.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27am

Loved the face drawing feature! Kicked the game off to a great start! The world switching mechanic and singleplayer co-op style puzzles were great! good job

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53am

Its a cool base for a puzzle game. I wonder what you could do to tie the face drawing idea to the rest of the game a bit more? Maybe several gameplay elements could be introduced over time, and every time you get to draw something for it?

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

Very polished, with neat concepts and good mechanics.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

Fun, the face drawing really made this game stand out :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Great idea / interpretation of the theme. Fun to play, but I didn't like the music. Drawing my own faces was fun

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53am

I spent waay too much time drawing stupid faces XP, really fun and a solid idea. Would love to see this concept developed more :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01am

Nice art and audio and solid polish. Controls felt nice.

enteagd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Face drawing was a fantastic bit of polish to add.

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Cool game idea, drawing your own faces is a nice touch. The game overall feels polished and well thought out, nice job!

idovingx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Wow, really really cool. Drawing your own characters was a really nice touch. You should definitely develop this further!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Excellent use of the theme and very pretty looking. A little frustrating on the controls, specifically, it might work better if switch world was on space down and not space up. Overall very nicely done!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

I liked it. Espetially ability to draw their faces, pretty good %)

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The game is quite challenging. I enjoyed myself. I like how you can draw your characters faces. Its replayable. This is just an awesome concept. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]