Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

O.R.B

by OhFiddleDiddle - Jam Entry

Welcome to a different world. A world hand crafted in just 72 hours to be explored. With a beautiful soundtrack and a cast of voice acted characters, immerse yourself in the world of O.R.B.

O.R.B uses a mechanic never used in a first-person game before. You answer questions via nodding. Yes, nodding. In-game nodding. Welcome to the future.

Created in 72 hours for LD30 by a team of 3 people.

You can get the soundtrack for O.R.B here at: http://keltonhallomusic.bandcamp.com/

Programmer: Joshua Hall
Designer: Joshua Hall
Musical Composer: Kelton Hallo
Voice actor director: Matthew Gibson

Voice actors:
Joshua Hall
Matthew Gibson
Kelton Hallo
James Partington

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.48
#27Humor(Jam)3.92
#43Innovation(Jam)3.93
#60Mood(Jam)3.88
#126Overall(Jam)3.63
#322Fun(Jam)3.13
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#466Graphics(Jam)3.18
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I wanted to enjoy it. I really did. It looks like a lot of effort went into it. But the controls worked out terribly for me. I had to make space on my desk to make yes movements and the no ones rarely worked because of the web player. It looks nice, the music is good and there's a lot of love gone into the voice acting I can see that. Tighter controls is my only problem with it.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I jump because i'm so intelligent... ;)

Interesting use of the noddling, i'm less fan of the look of the city, but the idea is really great.

It lacks of more physical interaction but the main idea work surprisingly well.

twintrite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I really liked the mood of the game and the funny dialogs. I could totally see myself enjoying a couple of hours in a bigger surrounding and more story behind it. (I also have to say that the mouse controls weren't that great)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. :D
I believe I fixed the mouse issues, they were simply a bug.
If anyone still had issues with the sensitivity feeling really off, please tell me in the comments.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

That was fun! Great voice acting and it was strangely fun to nod and have the characters react. I encountered some graphical glitches with the "How To Nod" billboard showing over the floor. I also wish the mouse was more sensitive. But overall, great job.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

What a fun/funny little adventure! I will say, like others, that the controls are a bit wonky. My work comp's mouse doesn't have the sensitivity it needs, I think.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice musics, voice acting and graphics. The problem is that the mouse sensitivity is extremely low and I had to move my mouse over the table many times to move on that world that looked fantastic.

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Great use of audio, had a nice time wandering around and exploring.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Really interesting idea, but english is not my native language so.. Sometimes i have trouble with understanding. Subtitles would be nice :) Also... Controls are little bad. But all other things are great!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Really cool made. Fantastic user interface idea. It must have been a lot of work to create all the audio for the game. Unfortunately I had often problems to see if the game accepted my nodding and also problems to nod correctly. I was even called a 'potato', but still enjoyed it.

chadiik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Very nice entry :)
Expand on this game!

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:48am

Had a really good time with this. It was funny always saying no to the characters. They always seemed a bit stumped.
eheheh

JonathanG says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Very funny! The graphical glitches were a bit shaky at times, but the voice acting was great, and made me laugh :D Definitely worth playing through again to get the different reactions from people!

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Great work! Even with these basic graphics, the world you guys created felt... alive. Too bad I couldn't nod at all. At first I was being rude, but then I tried to nod and both the controls and my mouse did not get on very well.

Nevertheless, excellent work. Thanks to the audio you get a nice mood and overall feeling. Oh, if I may report a bug, the executives asked me if I was from the earth, I tried to nod, and all of them behaved weird without answering (all of them approached the table at the wall and started walking randomly) :D Is it normal?

Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:33am

Thanks so much everyone!
I noticed a lot of people are still having issues with mouse sensitivity and things like that, and unfortunately I feel like I have tweaked it as much as I can without actually rewriting code, which I don't want to do as it isn't really in the spirit of the Jam. :)
The current version works fine for me, but as I said, a lot of other people are seeming to have trouble with it.

MaesK, in regards to the bug with executives, I have absolutley no idea why that happened, it shouldn't have. Hahaha.
But I'll look into it, thanks. :D

Knowledge says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:04am

Ok funny game.

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I must say this is impressive, the ambition, story, voice acting -- the whole deal. And it is a really good start. I only wish the nodding worked much more smoothly. I was frantically trying up-down and side-to-side but several times they got me wrong and many times they didn't notice my actions. So helping the user see what answer the user is currently giving according to the game as well as making the game better at understanding the user is desperately needed.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:39am

This is brilliant omfg hahahaha! The dialogue alone really makes this world shine, regardless of the fact that it's a world full of orbs that are incapable of visually displaying emotion. I actually like that pretty much your only interface with the world is nodding yes or no. Props to the voice actor!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Maybe there's no actual gameplay but the narrative was great !! And with The mood and the music, this game has such a real personality. Want to see more

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]