Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cult Quest

by barleyarley - Jam Entry

Hey, ever wanted to run a cult in a city? Now you can!

Recruit people to The Church of Connected Worlds, and make enough money to ascend to the other side.

This is my second Ludum Dare, and my friend's first. We're not exactly sure what this game is supposed to be precisely, but we're pretty happy with the general weirdness of it and wanted to make something that was at least fairly original. What we ended up with was more of a rough tech demo than anything else. Hopefully you enjoy messing around with it though!

Some things we didn't get to signpost properly:


The aim of the game is to make enough money to create a portal to 'the otherside'. Do this by converting people to your cult. If you run out of money you lose.

All characters have a 'self esteem' level, which determines their effectiveness at converting/resisting other characters.

Converting a character increases this esteem level, aloowing that character to convert others easier in the fututre.

Grey characters are civilians. These can be converted to your cult if you have higher self esteem, and will give you money when converted.

Red characters are rival cult members. They will convert citizens and felow cult members to their own faith.

Purple characters are fellow cult members, these will convert people to your cult but cost you money per second. Taking them back to the processing centre will give you additional funds, but reduce their esteem to 1.

Orange characters are defectors, they will reduce the esteem of your cultists unless you convert them back.

Grey buildings can be converted into new procesing centres for $400. These will convert anyone who enters them to your cult.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Humor(Jam)2.85
#354Innovation(Jam)3.10
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#591Mood(Jam)2.68
#628Fun(Jam)2.57
#647Theme(Jam)2.35
#647Graphics(Jam)2.67
#676Overall(Jam)2.73
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I'm getting a virus warning so I didn't dare to run it.

barleyarley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I've updated the link. Seems to be working okay now..

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Played on web, it's pretty fun, but a little more transparency would be nice. Hard to figure out exactly who's doing what and why

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I really enjoyed this game, Congrats. :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

A bit confusing, I wasn't able to win. But the idea is nice!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51pm

that was an interesting take on the theme, well done. Having a horde of followers is always enjoyable ;)

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

This is a neat idea. Kinda fun. There is so much going on at a high pace. I like how people are just doing these random dialog though. Maybe if you could put an indicator in purple(converted) when people gets converted or slow down the pace that would help. GG!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Jehovah witnesses online! ;-) Oryginal gameplay. I also like the building models, simple but nice.

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I didn't know what I was supposed to do. But I loved the music so much :). Great job completing the game

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:23pm

It's a bit too fast-paced, but an interesting idea.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I'd have liked if it was slightly longer. I'm not quite sure what I was doing wrong, haha.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]