Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Eat Cute

by gnerkus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#184Humor3.07
#213Audio3.32
#441Graphics3.25
#479Innovation3.26
#497Fun3.11
#564Mood2.98
#697Overall3.07
#1111Theme2.16

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Cool concept, if somewhat stressful. It took me a while to figure out what exactly I was supposed to do, but it was pretty fun to try and redirect things where they need to go.

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

Really cute! I love bunnies <3

The game itself could get surprisingly hectic at times! I quite enjoyed this :)

gnerkus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

@CogentInvalid @Weaver Thank you for trying it out. I bumped up the difficulty a bit towards the end because I thought it was too easy *facepalm*. I'll adjust it.

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Awesome!

d__adee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

hehe, you like to play around this idea a lot :) It's cool. I love the graphics, and that music! O___O

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

This is lovely! The idea is also good, I haven't seen something like this before

gnerkus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

@ploogle Thank you. I'm sorry I haven't played your game yet.

gnerkus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

@d__adee Thank you very much! I want to beat the mechanic to death this year. Next year I'll create a new one.

@matthias_zarzecki Thank you! I feel inspired to raise the strangeness of my games a notch.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Hi, the blue flame haunts me even if i did not kill any bunny

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03pm

great game

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06pm

This was a very strange game. lol. It was fun to play tho. I liked the animations and the seriousness of the music. Good luck :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Great idea and a fun unique game. I didn't realise you could eat the ghosts too at first.

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Cute visuals and concept. It got pretty hectic with a lot of objects moving around, and having to direct the right ones where I wanted them to go :)

gnerkus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

@fallingBear There's at least one flame per level. I was trying to balance the game. Thanks you for playing.
@pjimmy Thanks.
@nerd burglars Thank you so much! I wanted the game to be strange.
@ElectricSeagull I forgot to mention that in the instructions. The flames reduce your karma.
@ikr Thank you. I guess I made the game too difficult. I'll fix that after the voting ends.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

Love the sound when you eat bunnies. I found the trick to be as simple as trapping the bunnies in an endless loop and letting my guy chase the carrots. Also not sure how the theme plays into this one. Solid entry!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:15am

Cool idea! I found it pretty difficult, but it was fun! Nice submission, keep it up

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Unusual and addictive gameplay. Very suitable for smartphone. Nice job!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Awww, I killed bunnies but didn't want to...

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I like the idea. Logical and skill game.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

That was kinda cool! Who knew the spirits of eaten bunnies could be so vicious?

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

A bit confusing due to the level swap, but once I figured it out quite nice! Also cute graphics and good music!

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Hilarious game! Haha! I loved the sound and music, really set a superb tone for the game. I loved how the tinkly piano was then corrupted by the dark charing sound when the rabbit's rabbit ghost came for revenge. "tasty!". Took me a couple of goes to work out which was me ;)

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Those rabbits are funny and kyute. Nice music! Well done!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Difficult!

Cleverly built game mechanics, and could be expanded to various directions. Liked the bunny gfx. I started wondering if there was some other way to display arrows. For example arrows that point down would be "blue", arrows that point up would be black, etc. I'm not sure if that would have been messy, but perhaps could have given me more info where the arrow is pointing.

Or maybe animating them ... or something like that.

Also, I would start with a smaller grid & slower bunnies first, and then later added more grids and faster speed.

Anyhow, well done!

gnerkus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:34pm

@sandbaydev Thank you!

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Cool! I got an error that locked the game at one point: "Cannot read property 'map' of undefined (game.js:908)" on Chrome

gnerkus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@BMacIntosh Thank you. The error must have occurred after the second night scene. I'm very sorry about that.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Awesome, a Nigerian (?) game! (Found it through "Connecting LD30 to the Real World" by Will Edwards).

Cool style, in the opening screen already with the icons. It reminds me a lot of some ~20 year old games I used to play on the Mac.

I think the gameplay could get a little more complex (maybe it does, but the game froze on level 3 or something), and random appearances don't feel very fair.

Shide says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:02am

Cool game, but on level two sound is very annoying.
By the way, interesting concept

gnerkus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:11am

@Shide Thanks. I'm sorry for the annoying music. The track from the first level overlaps that of the second level.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Interesting concept, though a bit hard to control. Gave up after a while... ^^"

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Nice work needs a little tlc but would be an amazing android game with a little polish

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:15am

Cute graphics and audio! Nice change of worlds and interesting mechanics. Well done!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:30am

Heh, pretty fun.
Note: The game crashed on me with "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'map' of undefined (game.js:908)"

Code White says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Simple yet sweet, and the speed makes it hard enough to want to keep playing. Well done!

Dohan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The game froze in the third or fourth "night". Other than that, I really like the puzzle and the rabbits are really cute nibbling their carrots.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:48am

Very original, nice graphics and music. Good job overall!

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Quirky, cool idea, even kind of unsettling,in a good way... The music really helped set the mood, both tracks XD

local minimum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I like the premise, but I think it would do better with the arrows being turnable in both directions, having the creatures start in more varied locations and most of all having the arrows shift orientation at will every so often. Now I just locked the cute and the evil on a row and had my self trapped between a pair or -> <- while feeding on the carrots.
The music was really good, and it was easy enough to understand how to play.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

Stupid bunnies... go where I want you to go! Nice job :)

martim00 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:21am

cool game! Reminds me of atari games. Also, the music is great!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice little game. I tended to have things just go left and right till I figured out where I wanted them to go :)

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:38am

Cute but it crashed after changing level a few times.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Cute game! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/hvOt_bkuFkM

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]