Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Guardian of Galaxy

by monsterkillu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fate of the galaxies is in your mouse. Dodge the planets carefully from the Asteroid Onslaught and save the galaxies.

Engine : FlashPunk, Physics : Nape, Snd: SFXR, Loop: Media college, Gfx : Gimp/Inkscape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#55Theme4.00
#195Humor3.04
#246Innovation3.57
#284Fun3.39
#327Audio3.11
#596Overall3.17
#642Mood2.88
#783Graphics2.75

Comments

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37am

Small, but I like dodging! Thanks for game!

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Ooh, this is a fun little game! The level progression is nice, adding one planet each time. My tactic is always sacrificing planets from the start :)

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Nice polishing! Really fun to play!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Really cool use of the theme. Very fun game. Nice job.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Fun & simple game. DEM face expressions ;D

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice game ! I like how the planets look stupid and defenseless. Brought out the white knight inside of me.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Fun and challenging game! It would be more realistic if two asteroids destroy each other if they collide.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Great concept. Simple but effective. Cool look. Great job

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

I was like. ok just chill in the corner

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great game, I guess there's no denying your game is based on the theme in some way ;)

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:25am

@thanks to all ... Glad you enjoyed it as much i enjoyed it :)

@pxlcoder : "It would be more realistic if two asteroids destroy each other if they collide." .. honestly, somehow I forgot that ..Maybe later :)

@bazld: "My tactic is always sacrificing planets from the start :)" & @mess110 : "ok just chill in the corner".. After playing a bit i realize it could be exploited in these ways, but decided to not punish the players with those tactics :) .. Why block the paths the players might choose :) .. Let them have some fun employing their own ways ...

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

Fun little game!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Hah, nice. I love the look of panic on the planets' faces. :D

At least once (level 2 I think?), the two remaining planets were no longer connected together (this made them easier to save, definitely.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Decent game this. Recon would be cool on a touch device

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34pm

A little too literal, perhaps? But still fun. I found the smaller planets felt too slippery, always trying to keep a distance from the rest of the planets-- I suspect this was intentional, to prevent camping in the corner?

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

It's an alrighty game! I began getting bored, when it only said save 3, save 3, but then it said save 4! And gave me 6 planets! Liked the you saved another galaxy, and beat out the game remarks! Too

Good job!

yoanndeplo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07am

A very good job !

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:59am

Pretty fun. The game was a bit laggy for me.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fun game, but the red orbs are a bit slow. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]