Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transfer

by mystakin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Life's a bit chaotic during this Ludum Dare, but I still managed to put something together! :D

My entry is a simple puzzle game where you control two cubes in connected worlds. The game is a bit short, unfortunately. The purple tiles at the end of the second stage were meant to be their own level but I didn't have time to complete it. :(

Mac and Linux versions are provided but untested.

-- Controls --
A,D or Arrow Keys -- Move
Space -- Transfer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Audio3.24
#308Overall3.46
#390Fun3.23
#393Theme3.46
#484Graphics3.19
#508Mood3.05
#620Innovation3.08
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

AlexGhost says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Really well made !

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

Really nice game! I didn't find it short at all, rather I was impressed by its length :)
The puzzles were sometimes quite tricky and I really enjoyed it.
The music and sound effects were good and did not disturb.
Graphics were simple, but did their job and looked good.
Game also ran good on Linux.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Solid entry, and it's not short at all for a 48h game jam.
You had to do everything, and it is well made. I especially like the level design and the music.

I hope more person will play it.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice. The vertical looping really gave it an extra dimension

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I really like this! Not too short. It's only a jam, plus if we had to play full length games for weeks....ouch. I enjoyed it, was one of my favorites. Liked the music as well. Would like to see more like this.

Aevek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Really enjoyed this. I appreciated the extra puzzling element not having a jump button presented. Puzzles were well designed and a few of them had me stumped for a while, but always ended up making sense. Great job.

Artamus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice game, congrats!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:17am

Awesome innovation! Love the graphics and sound! Great job!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:59am

Cool! It fits very well with the theme and is quite interesting.
I would like to play more levels :D
Good work!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

Great job! Simple, but interesting :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:01am

Did you use Famitracker for the chip-tune? Cause that's an awesome tune you've made!
I don't know if there's a way to restart a level. I've got trapped a couple of times and I had to refresh the browser to restart. Very solid game!

mystakin says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:33am

@jprogman - I've played guitar for many years, so for the music, I use a program called Tabit to build a song and export to midi. From there, I use GXSCC to convert the midi to a chiptune-y .wav!

I'm sad you got stuck! I tried to prevent that from happening, but I could only fit so much testing into the 48-hour period, haha. Thank you for the kind words. :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Enjoyed this entry! Simply and polished gameplay and great level-design.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]