Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DistantSpace LD30

by naksrifati - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, my name is Alex. I try my self first time here)

Implemented all main functional, but still laggy.


Target:
Help travelers get to distant planets. Fight pirates. Get in the Online Top!

Control:
Movement - WSAD
Disconect Module - Ctrl
Shoot - Space
Transport Trevelers - Drag'n'drop from planet to you cargo

I used:
Game Maker Studio
Photoshop
Paint.NET
TimelineFX Editor

Any idea how to fix my physics joint bugs? :)

Thanks to everyone who leave comments)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#436Theme3.41
#524Innovation3.19
#585Fun3.00
#606Humor2.25
#645Graphics2.97
#680Mood2.85
#788Overall2.97
#868Audio2.00

Comments

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Good job with the space physics. Not too floaty but still enough to have to preplan what you want to do.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36am

cool physics! A minimap and a larger world would definitely improve the gameplay a lot. had fun nonetheless!

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Nice job! I really like the idea that you could choose between a heavy tail, and carry more, or the fast tail.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57am

I had fun playing this! I got always stuck at the edges :( Worth downloading it!

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice mechanic, reminds me a lot of space engineers. Good Work!

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30am

Nicely done :) You nailed the "in space" controls. I had problems getting mine to be as I wanted.

cstack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59am

Movement/docking into a trailer has a cool feel to it. Nice mechanic of picking up and delivering travelers.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

Nice one! But spaceship control is not so easy and convinient :)
Funny thing: I've put one passenger in cargo and dragged other one with mouse :D Exploit! :)

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16pm

To CoolIron. The thing with dragging passenger, it is not a bug, it is a feature)))

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27pm

really cool game. keep up the good work

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice game! Physics are really good! (i rated on gamejolt too ;) )

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

To Druid Thanks)

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

neat game idea. controls felt a bit clunky and the ai was strange.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18am

Loved physics. Graphics style is silly, but very lovely ^_^

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

Cute! I misunderstood the passenger controls and tried dragging them directly onto my module, which ended up with them free-floating in space once I moved away - you should put in a penalty for 'spacing' people like that ;)

4xisblack says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:58am

I like the physics! It's fun to careen around bashing things with your trailer; would be even more fun if you could blow up pirates that way :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]