Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

LyftOff!

by mcapraro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

LyftOff! Connecting Worlds throughout the Galaxy!

Space taxis just aren't cutting it for these modern aliens, so help them get to their destinations with a lovely pink-mustachioed rocket ferry!

My son and both have comp entries, and this is our third LD. This game was a race to the finish! I started out in Unity, then fell back to Flash, then back to unity, then to flash again. probably not the best time to try and get better at unity!

Anyway, lots and lots left to do - the rocket didnt even make it in yet! hope you like it and have fun!


If you havent already, check out my 9 year old son's entry:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=30856

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Graphics4.25
#92Mood3.68
#126Humor3.26
#145Audio3.48
#206Theme3.73
#486Overall3.28
#713Innovation2.96
#830Fun2.72

Comments

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

Great job, I like the sound and visuals a lot.

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

Very clean aesthetic, good work!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

Really liked how the people got angry when you didn't select the right destination. Very beautiful game! Took a bit to figure out I could look around more of the map.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

it feels a little like a bland Hidden Object Game, but the visuals were well enough stylized to keep me involved for a little while. Really a cute setting you've made, it's just a shame that it doesn't feel like there's much to do in it.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

Beautiful graphics and smooth movement! Fun take on the classic memory matching game. As a suggestion, maybe you could consider making it time based or something? Overall, well done.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

I liked the clean look of this graphic, and also colors :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

Wow these aliens seem super angry lol. I love the style of this. I would like to see this when you are totally finished with it.

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

I *love* the art! I'm really bad at the game though, so the aliens spend most of their time cursing at me :P

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

I like the visual style of this game :)

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Really nice graphics :D

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

Visuals are really well done, especially for 48 hours! I also really enjoyed figuring out how to play - it was sort of an ah-ha! moment. Thanks for playing my game too :P

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

gorgeous graphics!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

Nice game, the controls are sometimes a little bit confusing tough, it also took me a while to understand how it worked. Still very nice.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

Lovely art and animation, reminds me of Pocoyo. But the game is really missing something without that rocket.

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Liked it, so much character on those aliens :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Lovely style - would be great on iPad

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

The art is fantastic and the game play is functional. I think if you made the game expand as you go so there are more planets to consider, and something to spend your money on the game would be really good. Like highlyinteractive, it could fit the mobile / tablet space very well. I was a bit sad when I didn't actually see a little spaceship flying around like the continue screen suggests, as that would further strengthen the game's overall theme.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I liked the realization and the taxi idea but was a little bit disappointed that it was just a kind of "click the good picture" game. Nice job anyway.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

sweet graphics! :D

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:28am

Slick visuals! Was a bit confusing at first to figure out what was going on.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06am

The visuals are great. Solid animations.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55am

Once you know the galaxy the taxi job becomes easier.
I really enjoyed the aliens expression.
Also, nice work on the graphics, flat and efficient.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

this was a very simple game that fit the theme well. great job

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

Simple game but amazingly polished! Really loved the aesthetic, particularly the amount of character the aliens conveyed and the stuff orbiting around the planets. Could easily see myself playing much longer if there was a little more to do as the game progressed. Very nice work :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Good visual style. Shame the rocket didn't make it in, but nice entry. :)

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I tried cliking planets but nothing happened :| I would have wanted feedback about what's going on... sorry, couldnt rate for this reason.

Raphy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Great job in the execution, kindda simple but still :)

dusho says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:53pm

clean visuals, nice game

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Awesome, minimalistic game. The graphics and sound are top notch. I was super confused at first, just saw those popups and couldn't figure out what to do.. but then I may just be slow :P

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I must admit I was a little disappointed that there was no little critter as main character, but after that disappointment it seems like a really nice game to port for touch device suitable from quite young age. One way of tuning the difficulty would be if aliens only showed where they wanted to go for a brief time. There were also some dialogs that never got removed.
To sum up, a really nice start for a game!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Very cool the mood is great ! The camera movement is a little bit frustrating. I've got a strange bug, some dialog boxes were staying in the game.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Cool! Feels like match 2/memory kinda games. Beautiful art!

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Not a bad little game given the time constraints. Love the art style and the character design of the aliens!

I super-confused myself the first couple times I tried to play this though. If you get an assignment, and then click on several wrong planets in a row, you wind up getting multiple new assignments. So as someone is trying to figure out the game, suddenly your map is scrolling around randomly giving you new assignments that you can't possibly click on fast enough. It gets really out of hand! Seems like the game needs to take measures to ensure you only have one assignment at a time.

I also would have liked some alternative scrolling controls. Mouse-edge scrolling is really hard to use when you're playing a non-full-screen game, so enabling some WASD and/or arrow keys would have been nice.

This is a great start for a very cute game!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:55am

Simple yet fun! At first it was a bit confusing but then I got the gist of it. Great entry!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Cute game, I like the clean graphics and simple aproach.

Sogomn says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice!

Tosic says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Very good and innovative idea, I like the sounds, and it is humorous too!

dunin says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:16pm

too simple gameplay (and little bugs) for me. But nice looking and good idea for the theme.
(I like start screen, why the ship isn't in the game...)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Maybe add some instructions, because it took me a while to figure out what to do, and got a bunch of aliens started showing that kept getting angry at me! When I figured it out, the game was actually pretty good, and I really liked the graphics!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The art is beautiful, stunning even, but it looks like time got the better of you in developing the gameplay.

(Tell your son he should be proud of himself as his game is very well put together)

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:23am

Nice work. This looks really smooth. Audio is nice. It is also easy to tell what you should do. Good work.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice and simple. Love the aesthetics. Also love the fact that you and your son both made a game. Keep it up :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]