Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Lanes

by Fortyseven - Jam Entry

WORK IN PROGRESS!

Yup. Bowling. Completely out of left field for me. The theme fulfillment of "Connected Worlds" was intended to be that the bowling balls would all look like planets, and they'd "connect" with the pins down the end. A stretch, I admit it.

Unfortunately, this is incomplete. I got a lot done, but I had distractions all weekend. Did more work with Blender than I'd expected to, among other things.

Reasons.

Anyway, I'll continue working on it post-LD48, because I have some ideas I still want to see implemented.

What can you do in this build? Pick your throwing angle. Then the strength of the roll. And then you watch the ball hit some pins. And then the ball returns to you immediately; rinse, repeat.

The pins do not get cleaned up. They don't reset. I was working on that before I decided to move on for the evening. To reset the pins, reload the page. ;D

Learned a lot. Especially about bowling. Did I mention I knew nothing at all about Bowling before this? Oof. :)

More to come.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#399Humor(Jam)2.38
#405Graphics(Jam)3.33
#596Mood(Jam)2.67
#680Fun(Jam)2.41
#727Innovation(Jam)2.08
#742Theme(Jam)1.85
#762Overall(Jam)2.36

Comments

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

Most creative use of the theme I've seen so far, and a pretty good bowling simulator.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

Loved the bowling alley ambiance you managed to capture. And great visuals. The physics seemed off, and the pins seemed to overreact to the weight of the ball hitting them but that's precisely what made it fun for me.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

Bowling was a surprise, but great job.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice bowling alley aesthetic but as you say a rather tenuous link to the theme

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Brave with a 3D entry in a jam (I've tried it a couple of times, it usually ends up with a non-entry), so I applaud you for that. Though the gameplay is unfortunatly a bit lacking, but still a rather good bowling simulator :)

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

haha awesome, yay bowling!

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Definitely unique, and actually pretty fun. Nice graphics too! A suggestion might be to make the power bar vertical, since the way it appears right after the angle meter can be a bit misleading right now.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Good graphics and simulation (a bit too easy, couldn't manage to send the ball to the sideways)

But I wish I could give you -2 for the theme.

I hope you learned a lot and will come back to see the game in it's finished state.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

This kind of interface would work well for a mobile bowling game - very simple interaction! Good stuff!!

Fortyseven says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very grateful for the kind words and feedback -- still going to keep working on it when I can. Wish I was able to polish the gameplay a bit more, but I spent too much time on graphics, and not enough on the logic. ;)

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Ha ha! Very nice game and had a blast trying to get all pins. It's very basic but the fun fact comes through. I played the post-LD though to get more of the intended experience.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I was not expecting to see a bowling game here. Very well done, however like you said, nothing happens when you knock down all the pins, but for a game as well visualized as this, I think the current state is fine given the time frame. I could almost taste the pizza and feel the squeeze of bowling shoes that were a half size too small.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]