Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Delta Spaceline

by damrem - Jam Entry

A space trading game.
Objective: gather 10,000 credits within the minimum amount of travels.
Travel aboard your ship by clicking on planets. Trade merchandises. Check price trends. Buy cheap, sell hard! Carry passengers to optimize your moves.
Made in 72h.
Some graphics by Arachne on TIGsource
Music by Kevin MacLeod - Incompetech.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#116Theme(Jam)3.73
#270Innovation(Jam)3.22
#273Overall(Jam)3.38
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#416Mood(Jam)3.03
#559Humor(Jam)1.86
#578Graphics(Jam)2.89
#601Audio(Jam)2.11

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01am

i liked that you can take pasengers on to your ship.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Nice game

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

nice concept!

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

good game. i like. Im so evil buying all the food and selling it somewhere else xD

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Good game. Description says music but there was none.

damrem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Happy guys that you enjoy! What are your scores? How many times did you travel to gather 10,000 credits? Best score for me so far: 31... I know people who made 22!

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Cool game, took me a while to realise that getting passengers helped make the game go so much quicker, in fact it seemed almost unbeatable without making use of them. Seems like space trading is a perfect fit for the theme - I can't believe it didn't even cross my mind when coming up with ideas. I would love to see this as a full blown sandbox game, like a 2D sins of a solar empire without the combat.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

gj

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

@WebFreak001 You so nasty making starve millions of people!

@Rob Glen I have some ideas to improve the game: more merchandises (fuel could be one), bounty hunting (investigating to figure on which planet space bandits are hiding, then go there and use weapons), upgrading the ship (more cargo, more efficient engine...)

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:23am

@DarkUser You made me doubt, I could have forget to reactivate it, but there is definitely music! It's an ambient one called 'Space Machine A' by Kevin MacLeod (http://freepd.com/70s%20Sci%20Fi/Space%20Machine%20A). I guess you just have to turn your speaker on :-p

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19am

Good job!

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I've always loved business simulation games, and combining this with the mentality of puzzle-arcade score hunting (lowest possible set of moves) is absolutely an original idea! Very well done! :)

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31pm

It took me a few minutes to understand what I could do, but I enjoyed the experience. :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really fun - though it ashamedly took me far too long to realise that I could check the stock at other planets by hovering over them before visiting >.< Great game though!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice game, congrats!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Fit the theme very well.

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:17pm

I like how you can take your time, plan your moves carefully and really optimize your routes. Some random elements would be nice to break the pattern though.

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Thanks to all for your feedback!
@Jacic @rustybroomhandle I'm taking note of that. A light tutorial would definitely improve the experience.
@Hemuuli Trade exchange, stocks and passengers fluctuate randomly during each travel. Do you think about something in particular?

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Really solid game! My score was 38 :) Loved the simple icons and the passenger mechanic.

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:04am

Reminds me of a certain popular graphing calculator-based trading game.

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

One of the best we've played so far. Coul'd have been better if deeper, but it's hard to achieve in 72h ;)

banana4life says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:17pm

like it :)

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:47am

very rewarding when you make a goog deal :)
i would have liked to so the exact course of the items in the other worlds. otherwise pretty cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]