Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Life of a Pixel World

by ShivanHunter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cultivate a cellular automaton through many strange, collapsing worlds. Move parts of the lifeform to a new world before the world it's in disappears completely.

A web build may become available if I can get some help here:
http://www.badlogicgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16035
http://www.reddit.com/r/libgdx/comments/2ee1yb/drawing_pixmap_to_texture_not_working_on_html5/

Based on Conway's Game of Life. Built using Java, Eclipse, LibGDX, GIMP, BMFont and jfxr (http://jfxr.frozenfractal.com/#).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#156Innovation3.74
#255Theme3.67
#402Overall3.35
#556Fun3.05
#560Audio2.71
#667Mood2.86
#795Graphics2.73
#925Humor1.58

Comments

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35am

Totally fun! Really interesting use of the theme, well-built, colorful, and very interesting! Will be sharing with friends, I liked it a lot!

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

Interesting take on the game of life. Took a couple plays to really grok the mechanic.

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39am

Great Idea!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

This is a really fun game, I liked your take on the theme and seeing each of the new worlds getting eaten. Very cool idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

It's a good idea, but the way the graphics and worlds were displayed was kind of confusing. The game was fun for a few minutes, but it seems to be mostly left to chance.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

Interesting use of the game of life. I managed to get a crazy spreading organism for a little while!

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Really good mechanic, I like it.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

An interesting interactive take on cellular automata!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18am

Awesome idea! Love it :)

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

really cool simple idea I've never seen anything like it.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13am

Great fun and unique game, The tutorial really helped. although sometimes the audio was annoying. I was a great game

Crefossus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

Liked the colors and the feedback of the mouseover. Could use objectives/end game as it got stressful/tiring. Could use more negatives to avoid. Enjoyed the sfx, it gets exciting with many pixels

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05am

This is a really cool idea, managing bacteria across worlds. Took a bit of getting used to, but once I did, I had some fun with it.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

This was quite an interesting game.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46pm

487 generations and 45 strange worlds, not much but it's my best! Very original concept. The game looks a bit more like an interface than actual real worlds but it's still nice to play, I enjoyed to see my little creepy stupid living animals ruining everything and killing themselves in panic :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

Really fun, and one of the more unique entries I've played so far. Good stuff!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

This is a really good concept. I think it could use some balancing at the beginning, so that you don't immediately end up in a world that your organism can't thrive in. Like, maybe the first few moves are always to a world where the organism won't die, but the rate of growth fluctuates. That way the player can play longer and feel like their decisions to move affect the game more than randomly getting unlucky. Great concept though, and the simplicity of the graphics are perfect.

lkr says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Interesting concept!
I couldn't really tell what worlds would be safe to move to beforehand though. I'd usually move a big chunk to a new world, and quickly move it to another one if it didn't immediately thrive.

I had fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]