Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Shadok

by Belvar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!!!!!! YOU CAN DOUBLE JUMP !!!!!!!
(I am putting this here because it is not clear enough and some people were stuck right at the first level because it is not mentioned that it is possible)

Escape Shadok is a puzzle platformer with a gameplay inspired by Escape Goat set in the universe of "Les Shadoks".

Les Shadoks is a french cartoon, you can watch it in English or in French on youtube.

The game only contains 4 levels. I wished I could have made more, but that's the rules ! Maybe I'll make a post-compo version with more levels and more mechanics.
Didn't have enough time to make music the time...

Controls :

* Left and right for movements
* Up or X to jump and double jump
* Space to activate pump or switch
* Escape to restart

The goal is to push the egg to the exit by using the pumps. when the egg is near a pump, press Space while on it to push the egg.
Don't touch the gibis or you will have to restart the level.
You can change "world" by entering a portal. There are two room layout per level. When the egg is on the other world, it appears black.
I tried to make the levels in a way that it teaches you the mechanics while playing, but if you have questions, don't hesitate !

Tools used :

* Language : Haxe
* Library : HaxeFlixel
* Graphics : GIMP
* Level editor : Tiled
* Sound : SFXR
* IDE : emacs with emacs-ide and haxe-mode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#204Humor3.00
#765Fun2.81
#777Graphics2.76
#781Theme2.90
#882Audio1.97
#894Innovation2.69
#943Mood2.51
#950Overall2.79

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:19am

I wasn't able to jump at first platform, but game looks very promising.

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

Oh, yeah, you can double jump, I forgot to mention that, sorry !

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

It's fun! I love your art style it's like the games that I used to play when I was a child (jeje the little legs of the main player xD) :)

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

Loved the level design, challenging enough. Cute sprites and theme.

It did take me a while to figure out the doublejump too though haha.

Happy to see a HaxeFlixel game, was curious about the language/library the other day.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

Nice game, and always cool to see some shadocks !

exoticorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice simple graphics and a solid puzzle-platformer. A bit short, but I can relate to running out of time. :)
I was also having trouble with the first jump, because the standard jump height looks just high enough to reach the platform. You might want to decrease the jump height slightly to make this clearer.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

Hey, great idea! Tiny ingame notes for first double jump and pressing the pump would have been handy. It took me a second look on this site to know the controls. (You have an infinite jump when touching the ceiling btw. - maybe put in an extra true/false to check if the second jump was already executed) I enjoyed the naive art! Especially the kicking of the transdimensional egg =D ... Any artist could now pimp that to make it a solid experience. Congrats!

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Character's animations are really funny. Nice level design.

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Thanks you all for you feedback. I take note for the double jump :D
@c023-dev : Yeah, I noticed the infinite jump on the ceiling but as it did not allow to break the puzzles I chose to let it as it is to focus on other things :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

For anyone else getting stuck at the first platform, you can double jump!

Very interesting, I like the art style.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Nice puzzles! It took me a while to figure out even the more simple, but I finally enjoyed them. You should have pointed out the double jump on the game description (you can still edit it).

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Oh, I see the double jump on the instructions, sorry :)
Nice game!

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I had never heard of Les Shadoks, checking it out it does seem like a treasure trove of design inspiration! Cool puzzles!

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Really enjoyed playing this game. It was fun and I liked the concept ^^

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37am

I really liked the aesthetic style. There were some great subtle animations you threw in there too that made it feel really polished. It felt like a Roald Dahl children's book. Great job!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

i played the html5 version, but after kicking the ball the game got slower and slower?

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Fun game! Not a very original idea, but still fun to play because I love platformers. Nice art and sounds too! Some funny music would be nice.

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Ball touches pig and all reality grinds to a halt!

Belvar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Thank you all for the feedback !

@01010111 : really a great piece of cartoon satire picturing french people as stupid birds

@pythong : Hmm, that is not supposed to happen. Is your computer particularly not powerful ?

@stvr: That happens on the flash version, but not the html5. What version did you play ?

Jacic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54am

Interesting idea, and pretty fun. Some decent puzzles. :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

I think it could definitely use some polish though; things just felt rough around the edges. I laughed at the animations, and enjoyed playing.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:50am

J'ai vu ton poste sur IndieMag . Marrant ton jeux. Bon boulot!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Aww, I like the Shadoks but the controls are difficult to handle. Otherwise, nice game !
(I saw your post on IndieMag too)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:24am

Cute game! I like the mechanics you used. Good job!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Lovely game. I enjoyed the puzzles very much.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]