Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crack The Market

by colludium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Travel the inner solar system in your space ship and trade in illicit substances. You'll need to avoid the police, or be ready to fight - weapon upgrades and other spoils await you...

Can you make your fortune or will the police and pirates ruin your dreams? This is a fight / trade / steal / get robbed space adventure (of sorts)....

Requires keyboard and mouse input.

This HTML5 trading and space shooter game is my second LD entry - I hope you enjoy it!!

Edit to add - I misinterpreted the competition rules - the music was open source and not my own work! Technically, this game should have been entered in The Jam rather than the 48 Hour Compo. Please consider this when reviewing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#66Humor3.52
#274Audio3.21
#504Overall3.26
#534Mood3.00
#575Fun3.03
#663Graphics2.94
#724Theme3.00
#750Innovation2.90

Comments

geometrix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Some bits that are really well executed, but it needs a final layer of polish. Ship feels very slow, too. Nice music, too! Overall good work!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

great theme and a lot of fun, but i wanted to blaze it on the Sun :(

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Nice music, loved the look the sun before it burnt me to a crisp.

Good job

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

really good music. tried to crash in the earth when. bam drugs. buy from venus sell to moon. gotcha

Vidd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39pm

The ship feels a bit sluggish. Some ambient asteroids or something to give you a sense of speed would have been nice. I got confused by the top left arrow thinking it was leading me to Earth so I spent a long time having to fly back.

Still, there's a fair amount of work accomplished in 48 hours so well done! The music works well with it, too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool little game, lots going one. I agree the ship was a bit slow though. Of course I loved that a random message appeared saying "buy cocaine on Venus and sell it on the Moon". That is one of the last things I expected anyone to say to me today. Good work on the mini-map and zoom, nice touches

colludium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Thank you all for your kind words! I'm now going to re-do this as a proper / full up game with ship upgrades, space stations... Oh the joy of planning!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10pm

very nice, gta meets sc2 :) the ship should go a little faster.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:48pm

As others have said, the ship speed dragged the game down. Otherwise, it was fun. The music was a great match to the game. It kept my interest for quite a while (although I would do other things on my PC while the ship was travelling between worlds. The mini-map was great. I wasn't sure what benefit there was to zooming in. I kept my magnification as low as possible.

I'm glad to hear you're turning it into a full game. Keep us posted.

colludium says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:46am

Will do @zatyka, thank you for your thoughts!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

The minimap was a really nice touch, pthers have already said about the ship going a little slow, and a lot of the space did feel empty but I like it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Hi there. Looks like an interesting start. Got stuck in the prices screen... couldn't get out - "get me out of here" link didn't work, nor did typing things, Enter etc.

gnerkus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:01am

The ship was too slow. I had to lower my moral standards.

colludium says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:00pm

@mrexcessive - which version were you using, so I can do some bug fixing? Thanks...

colludium says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:29pm

OK, it seems that the form controls don't work on all computers...

Kyatric says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Well you sir have cheated :D
It's a compo entry, and though it contains assets (graphics and music) that you haven't done yourself. I feel I must downvote on those aspect in regards to other entries that even if they are less nice looking/sounding, at least, were made within the time of the compo, according to those rules.

DrugWars game/mechanics are funny. Adding the (slow) spaceship "transport" to it between planets... was kind of a good idea, but it did slow down the gameplay and made the pass from a spot to another quite tedious.
Apparently shooting the (numerous) cops did not have any kind of repercussion in the game (I saw no other waves of more aggressive cops chasing me down).

The interface in the merchandise transaction screen was a bit cluttered, and the fact that suddenly I had to use the mouse (compared to the ship being controlled with the keyboard) made it feel disconnected (or the ship felt disconnected, either).
I also felt like there were too many merchandises to remember, and I would have loved less of them, but more informations like what were the prices I had bought the merchandises at, or at least the average price for each of the merchandise I have in stock.

I would have enjoyed as well that the text field/number gives me the current total amount I was going to buy/sell (10 Y at 3.50 each => 35 $).
I would have enjoyed that the field let me know I was going over the amount available.
I would have enjoyed that the map stayed up or opens itself again when leaving the trade screen.

Overall it's mostly interface issues that would have made the gameplay smoother.

The galaxy is possibly a bit too expanded for the game to be really enjoyable as it could/should, but otherwise the idea to expand on DrugWars works and could be taken further in a more coherent way.

I understand how this project got you stressed, the scope is possibly a bit too big for a compo/jam, you possibly tried to tie too much stuff inside instead of focusing on a specific mechanic and polish it.

I hope you understand my critic is intended as constructive and not to shoot the game down for the sake of critic.

Congratulations on releasing a game during the compo time !

Kyatric says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:59am

Just an edit, apparently I was wrong on the graphics, they were made from derivative work during the compo.
My bad on that one, I thought I had recognized some other graphics. Graphic note changed :)

colludium says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:37am

OK, apparently I cannot read / comprehend the rules! The music was not my own work and, consequently, this game should have been entered into The Jam instead of the 48 Hour Compo! Please consider this when reviewing the game.

Cosmologicon says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:07pm

This would have been really good with a little balancing. If only the ship was about 5-10x faster, and there were more police and pirates.

Plays pretty well. I would have liked "buy max" and "sell all" buttons for quicker transacting. But I like the combination of economy and spaceflight.

On Chrome the "buy" button doesn't appear for me, so I got stuck like someone else did above. Firefox worked fine, though.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Reminds me a lot of Escape Velocity, if you've never played it I recommend it ;) I missed a winning criterion, making a certain amount of money for example. It would also have been nice if the enemies would show up depending on what you bought (the police came after me even when I had just oranges or even nothing). Surprising how brave the attackers are btw, relying only on boarding tactics against a ship that fires missiles at them...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]