Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Edmon's Illness

by intelligentbean - Jam Entry

There's something wrong with Edmond. Can the cells in his body defeat the virus that is attacking him?

Right now the game has 10 levels. I think I will add more levels and features after ludum dare is over.

Instructions
- Drag the cells around
- White blood cells destroy germs
- germs eat red blood cells
- Avoid hitting the crust that is building up in Edmon's immune system


Development Stuff
This game was made with unity. This is my first time using unity to make a full game so I'm sure my code isn't the best. I have used other frameworks and engines in the past.

Overall I liked working with Unity and I will probably make some more games with it.

I made everything in this game except for the music. I found the music on Reddit. It was made by professorlamp on soundcloud.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#131Humor(Jam)3.23
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#367Innovation(Jam)3.08
#392Graphics(Jam)3.37
#419Audio(Jam)2.97
#512Mood(Jam)2.86
#687Theme(Jam)2.19

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Neat physics-based puzzles that required both planning and careful execution. I liked the difficulty ramped up but wasn't brutally hard. Wasn't clear on the "connected worlds" theme.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

thanks for the feedback! It's hard for me to tell if the levels are too hard or not hard enough until I let a bunch of people play it lol. I want to add more levels so I'll probably make the new ones a little harder.

For the 2 worlds thing, My Idea was to have the human sized world and the germ sized "world". Your actions in the germ world effect the human, so the worlds are connected by that.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24am

Not too bad a concept.
Good use of mobile touch screen. A bit frustrating to play with a mouse.
Graphics are pretty decent, better than most on the app store.
Mechanics are pretty straightforward but there's room to grow.
Fair effort, with a bit more expansion this could be marketable.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33am

Okay, overall a nice entry. I gotta give 5/5 for graphics and humor for the faces he makes; little touches like that go a long way.

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48am

Not a bad Idea. I like how the game tie itself together.

On my phone, the "mines" were very hard to see, which led to some frustation. I hope to see you improve this game in the future.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I liked it. Worked like a charm on my Nexus 7... On mobile it would have been cool to have the red blood cells float toward the tilt of the device and the flicks move the white blood cells.

Also, I wanted some sort of audio feedback on moving things, maybe a heart beat?

Overall one of the best entries I've played so far. Nice work!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Nice graphics and audio, but what's the link with the theme ? p_o

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

This game deserves more levels! I want to play more!!!

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

The gradual increase in concepts is important and is done quite well. However the movement of the white blood cells. I don't see how this is connected to the them though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Pretty neat concept, and pretty polished as well. But I'm unsure about how it relates to the theme...

cstudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

:D I was laughing hard. We did the exact same idea as you. I mean the connection between its inside and outside. I mean if you were from nearby, I would invite you for a beer :D.

About the game. You had a different approach than us, its actually a game. (Sorry that I compare it to ours, but the similarity of the idea is incredible).
I would improve the sprites you are using (cellular level) and a music a bit(i know that 72h is not enough time) . The game mechanic is good. I think the fast decision based gameplay helps it a lot.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16am

Nice gamed, i cured him :)

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18am

I like the faces and physics. Also the challenge to defend the green cells.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very polished little game, Edmon's faces are great!

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Simple concept, good level design with a gentle difficulty curve. I had a lot of fun and I was able to cure Edmond. :)

The controls might have been more responsive or might have given better feedback while we're flicking the white blood cells around, but overall it's a nice entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Hi there. Nice looking graphics. Nice sounds. The drag and flick control scheme is awkward for dodging things.

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Didn't get the link to the theme but still a nice game.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Great first entry! Very colorful, nice music and good mechanics. Levels were at the right difficulty curve for me. Good job!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:48am

This is a really cute game and a great idea. Loved it!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:14am

very nice visuals! quirky and silly, well done

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]