Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Hopper

by dkkarate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: It is completely random whether or not this game runs. The only way to be sure that it will run is to run the source from the unity IDE.

Use WASD or Arrow Keys to move the character.

Use R to switch dimensions.

There was supposed to be a way to make your own maps but because of the way Unity builds the text file that the map creator reads from gets hidden and encrypted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

this game dit not work for me.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

FYI, didn't run for me. Unity games normally do, so I think it's weird. Not sure why not. All I got is the Unity logo to slide in and back out (although with some sort of draw error). Nothing but a black viewport. Would love to try your game! If you get it working, let me know!

Adjotur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Having the same issue as Drew. Unity logo slides in and out with black viewport.

pinkduh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Yep nothing for me either. :/

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Also got the black screen with the unity logo and nothing else

harko12 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Couldn't get it to work

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I start the game inside Unity, it's pretty nice, the camera, the character, but i can't figure out to finish anything or get any level end.
Sadly because the game looks simple but really well done.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Didn't work in Web mode

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

doesn't work

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Sorry, it did not work for me. The unity logo draws, and then vanishes.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I have the same problem as Drew Van Camp

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Same issue of a black screen running in Chrome. Looks like the screen is not clearing, which is giving the weird draw artifact in the Unity logo. Is there no camera turned on? I think this could lead to the drawing artifact, as without a camera there is nothing to clear the screen, or draw anything else.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Yeah, doesn't run for me either.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35am

The web version freezes up at a black screen for me. -- The logo slides in and out (and leaves a trail of dirty pixels behind it), but that's it.

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57am

Seems to be unrunnable on the web.

sorle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:44pm

hmm do not work...

Perjoka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

web version doesn`t work

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:46am

Couldn't run it on web either :( that's a shame, hope you find a way to fix it ^^

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Doesn't work

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Hi. As predicted web version doesn't work.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Don't work. I see a black screen both in web and windows versions.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:29am

The void. Black. Empty.
I tried the web and Windows version. Both shows black screen.

Robert says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I think this game dosent work in web mode because hes loading the level from an txt file o.O.Why didnt you build the level in unity itself ?

banana4life says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I tried the web version with safari, firefox and chrome but it don't work. Only blackscreen. OS/X version, too.

dusho says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:47pm

..not working..

sikosis says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:13am

Black screen and a Unity logo - that's it I'm afraid.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]