Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Molyneux God

by Capitals - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE TUTORIAL IS NOW IN THE POST-COMPO VERSION, I SUGGEST THAT YOU PLAY THE POST-COMPO TUTORIAL FIRST TO LEARN HOW TO PLAY AND THEN TRY OUT THE COMPO VERSION.

For my 3rd Ludum Dare I wanted to create a simple and small game, since my last game was too complex. Unfortunately though I did not get everything in that I wanted to as was planned. You can see the list down at the bottom if you are interested.

I am going to do a post-compo dlc which includes a main-menu and instructions.

THE VARIABLES:
Population -- Global Population
Resources -- Global Resources
World Health/Goldilocks-- How far out to the edge of the Goldilocks zone your planet is.
Land Mass -- How much land is on the planet.
AVG Global Temperature -- Self Explanatory!


THE ABILITIES (*Means that it is not included ATM):

Meteor -- Pushes down Goldilocks meter by quite a bit, kills people and adds new terrain;
Volcano -- Constantly spews lava;
*Earthquake -- Destroys cities and degrades land!
*Rain -- Fertilize land, creates forest
*SUnshine -- Fertilizes lands creates forest spawns
*Radiation -- Creates IRRADIATED Land which kills settlers and cities around it, Slowly decays over years
*Aliens -- Sets up aliens cities which seek out and kills other cities
*Encourage War -- Starts a war between two races. By making a rival city, or starting war
*Encourage Peace -- Stops war
*Minerals -- Makes an oil tile, increase GDP
*Grow -- Encourages a Field to become successful
Encourage Procreation -- Increases City production rate
*Migration -- Moves a city from on place to another, moves a city into an Uninhabited Zone
*Discovery -- Science is not implemented so...
Virus -- Destroys a city
*XCom -- Destroys an alien city
*Sabotage -- Science is not implemented so...
*Locus Plague -- Fields...
Freeze -- Makes an Ice Patch
Erosion -- Erodes away at the land (creates water)

**For those who don't get satire, it will be free dlc!

WHAT I AM CURRENTLY WORKING ON FOR POST COMPO!
-- A Clearer Objective System.
-- Floating change effect to variables
-- Show the objective amount!
-- If you have any ideas I'll be happy to hear them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#250Innovation3.56
#455Theme3.39
#514Humor2.39
#562Graphics3.10
#697Overall3.07
#778Fun2.80
#875Mood2.61

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This is quite interesting god game.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Interesting mechanics packed with pretty nice pixel art! Generally not so fond of god games though, but that's just me!

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Make a god game in 48h is quite a challenge. Nice try, though !
And thanks for sharing the difficulties you've encountered :)
Always interesting.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Nice idea and the visual representation is pretty decent. Congratulations on finishing!

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

It took me a while to figure out how the game works, but it's seriously impressive how far you came in only 48 hours

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Pretty nifty experiment! Obvious theme tie in, of course. Could use audio! BTW, I did find it unclear what resources allow me to apply natural disasters and other events. I'm not sure what re-enables those abilities. But it was fun wreaking havoc on two worlds at once! (:

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I spammed volcanoes and everything died ): not sure how to bring that back :P it is an interesting concept! Well done.

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

An impressive game considering the limitations this competition gives. But please link your source files as it's required in the rules!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Interesting god game. Felt like the theme was a bit tacked on. Nice art.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

It's a really good take on the theme. I kept forgetting they're connected and did some terrible things to the second world. Lots of fun.

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Thanks for the replies guys.

In reply to pighead10; When I decided on the gameplay I wanted to have two world with objectives to complete on both worlds and that sometimes you may have to destroy the city on one planet but you may not want to take land away from the other.

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Very interesting game and I would really like to understand it. But the tooltips over the icons are unreadable which makes it impossible to tell what will happen. The icons are useless too.
I really like the looks of the map though.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

At first I thought that there is no OSX/web version (Windows label was confusing) but it is a java app so it is OK :D

Good luck with Post Compo development because the "god game" idea is always promising!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15pm

I love SimEarth. I love this. More, more!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53am

Overwhelming at the start but really fun later :)

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Great simulator! I've tried to fight ice with volcanos and it was very surprising that the whole worlds became deserts :D Looking forward for your dlc :)

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Well I tried the game out. It is definitely interesting and I liked the idea of having two worlds to do whatever I wanted in :D.

I liked the powers, shame they weren't all implemented though I'd love to see how the population actually acts on the map to give it more a live feeling rather than land/weather effects only (but I understand the time limitations).

It is fun but it is lacking the objectives you've mentioned. Perhaps if iterated on it would be more interesting :D.

Well done!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Slightly confused by what I'm actually supposed to do in this game but to make something of this complexity within 48 hours is pretty amazing and the game itself does fit the theme somewhat.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Pretty confusing, especially since I'm not really well versed in the whole God-game genre :P. Didn't really get it even after understanding the UI. I did like playing with ice and volcanoes though. Your last Ludum Dare project must have been really complex if this is "simple and small" for you!

Eli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Interesting concept:)
Just some meteorites and volcanoes and BAM! They died!!

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice idea, but trying to get three or four goals seems as an inevitable doom to one of the worlds (if not both) and I haven't found a way to "heal" the planet.

Lord bobyness says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:15am

Pretty interesting. The game mainly just felt lacking in content(and a tutorial. To be fair, I'm rating the compo version)

Can't say I spent hours with this but would love to see a fleshed out version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]