Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sinister

by Joe Williamson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: The game currently has some minor performance issues, so please use a decent computer to play it if you have one available!

---

I was going for the premise of reconnecting to the world of the living. Unfortunately I had to cut a lot out due to time constraints, but I hope you enjoy it anyway. :)

* Engine: --- HaxeFlixel
* Graphics: - MS Paint, GraphicsGale, Photoshop 7, PyxelEdit
* Music: ---- Reaper

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Audio4.30
Graphics4.84
Mood4.48
#89Overall3.80
#540Humor2.35
#617Fun2.99
#742Theme2.99
#903Innovation2.68

Comments

Cyanblue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57am

10/10 GotY.

Melon Bread says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09am

Fantastic

GFM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

Wow. This was so beautiful... Both the graphics and how you set up the mood.

It's a pity that you couldn't develop it further.

Joseph says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

Awesome

PiratePants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

wow beautiful looking game nice work

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

Beautiful! Loved the art and the music! The reflexion effect and the steps on the water were very cool also!

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

I love the art in this sooo much. AND the story. What I played was perfect I just wish You had more of this.

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

Absolutely gorgeous man, great work.

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

The art was gorgeous, but the controls were difficult to use (it was kind of laggy, so hard to judge when to jump).

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Great presentation. Felt like a very well done short-movie in game-form (if that makes any sense).

Would have liked it to be longer, but the game is great for what it is!

vinull says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Very well done - art and music is really impressive.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

Good lord this is lovely. The music-integration is brilliant.

Nice work :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

there is not much of a game here, but you have the theme and the graphics, that's for sure. :D

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Beautiful graphics & music !

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00am

5/5 Better than FEZ.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Nice mood and visual !

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23am

WUB WUB WUB WUB

(i liked it)

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

Fairly basic gameplay, but outstanding presentation & graphics. Would easily play a much larger game of this.

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great art work, story and music, you should continue on making more maps!

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

Great art! Too bad there's not much to the game itself.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Excellent graphics and music. If would be awesome if it was longer :)

waynaul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Wonderful artwork and music. Very cinematic; I like the way everything forms from darkness to reality.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nailed on the graphics, but could have added a skip on the cutscene.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Awesome pixel art! Too bad it's very short, but the stunning looks and music makes up for it. Hope you work on this post-compo.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Noooo, I want more! This is a ridiculously stylish game, the graphics are insane. You should definitely develop this further.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

The music is amazing, the graphics are amazing.
I'm glad that this is all you got done, because if you had been able to finish AND these graphics AND this music AND a longer game, my brain would have exploded.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Really awesome! Beautiful pixelart and a definitely great work in every sense ;)

Aleph0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Amazing work ! Too bad that you couldn't make more gameplay. You're talented man ! :)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Definitely one of the games with the best mix of art, music and mood.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Visually is PERFECT!
Text effect is awesome!
But game is TOOO short! And gane don't fit the theme!
I understand about 48Hours, yeah.

Also I made something simillar on previous LD =)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

OMG
I've been in Ludum since LD23 and this game holds the best presentation I've ever saw!
I can't even...
Wow.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

This game is almost perfect : just need more gameplay ! But it still an amazing game with amazing graphics and music !

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

The most gorgeous entry I have seen so far. And by gorgeous I mean absolutely awesome graphics, music and storytelling.

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Wow! Amazing graphics and audio - I really wish the game were longer. You should work on a post jam version with all of your planned content in :D

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Very short, but fantastic pixelart and soundtrack.

pinkduh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Really cool look!

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

wow AMAZING game!!
great effects and great composition musical and artistic, 10/10

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

wow really fun no idea how you managed to create all this in 48 hours. Good job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Wow what a nice little playable short story... like the music... the art...cool experience... need to have more content... maybe you will work on a post ludum version?

Canti says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

This is so cool Im angry at myself that I wasn't participating this time. Great stuff!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18am

Graphics are gorgeous, certain this will win that category. Game is extremely polished. Played very smoothly except collisions on some objects. Sound was pretty good too, although I think changing the dubstep for something else might have worked better. Great build up, I'd love to see more from this.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

Holy smokes. I can't speak right now. You've got my fives.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53am

Absolutely Phenomenal. The graphics were incredible, and I LOVED the introduction. How with every sentence new form and structure were pulled out of the black screen...

Awesome. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

Your such a tease! :P For what it was it was amazing. I really hope you develop this further. absolutely amazing!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54am

This is amazing! The graphics are spectacular and the music as fantastic. But it is way too short. If this was a full length game, I would pay money for it. Excellent work.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

Ten out of ten. Amazing graphics, music and story had me totally immersed. You got the mood spot-on. Simply amazing.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Space bar didn't work at first "trap" and screen was choppy. Graphics / Music / Sprite work was fantastic.

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02am

The art is amazing but there's not much else. Still I applaud the art. I literally looked away to twitter when the girl showed up, then when I looked back the game was over. I had to play a second time to make sure that was the end.

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07am

Best graphics I've seen so far... Absolutely beautiful!

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53am

The art in this is reaaaaaaaaaally great! I love the intro. It's perfect. The only nitpicks I have here are the music and the length. The music doesn't really fit the mood to me, and the game ends just when it was expanding. I can only imagine this would've been amazing with a team behind it in the Jam. Great work!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19am

OUTSTANDING graphics! Good music!

I do wish there were WASD control options in addition to arrow keys though.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

Pretty much perfect, except for the length. But since you polished this bit up so nicely, I'll forgive.

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

what a beautiful game!
congratulation, you really got a nice mood, graphics and controls!
runs a little slow here, but I think it was my flash player fault =/

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36am

Excellent art and sound. This is the best interpretation of the theme for a platformer that I've seen so far.

anssipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37am

Wow, love your art! Can't wait to play the full game.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

May be the best I have played so far.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

BEST GAME EVER!

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Those goosebumps tho.

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Awesome game! Love the music, the intro and the art style. You should keep working on it, it has potencial :D 5/5

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

The bad is the theme; I am suspicious that you looked at the top-three theme candidates before the competition and tried to think up something that covered the day night already dead meta-theme.

The shame: that its not longer!

The FANTASTIC: everything else! Art, atmosphere, mechanics, art, audio, mood, art, everything!!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Very very good looking, the theme is a bit sketchy though, are you sure you didn't secretly start a couple of days before and picked a common theme amongst the finalists? ;-)

Top votes from me!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Wow... this is so good looking. And the music is great as well. Too bad you had to cut out a lot, would have loved to play the whole game.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Short but sweet! :) Great atmosphere and presentation and incredible graphics and animation, nice work! More gameplay would have been nice of course, but I like that you managed to get that ending in there instead of not at all.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Wow! keep working on it. Make a kickstarter campaing and finish it. Then the world will be a better place.

RevoLab says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great graphics, really neat and charismatic!
Too short, but very intense

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Game is interesting but too short. Amazing art.

Luin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

The narration and the graphics are great and have potential, but it's really too bad that there's no gameplay at all. So the rest look too much common. I'm interested to know how you have imagine the rest of the game, the perhaps interaction of the two worlds ? Too bad you couldn't have time for it :<

favoyang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Feel the mood!

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

stunning visuals and mood, would love to see more game!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Pretty generic and simple gameplay (and also short), but fantastic graphics and music.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Fantastic! If it is only short because you ran out of time, then you should take heart: if it had been longer I would have liked it less. Think of it this way: when I start to play a beautiful platformer, with great graphics and nice controls, I want it to last forever. I want to play for an hour, and explore a super cool world! Imagine my heart-break when I got to the end and felt "what? that's it? that's all I get?"

That heart-break is exactly the feeling of a lover who loses their partner. So your game made _me_ feel loss without hammering it over my head through text. If you are planning to make this game longer post-jam, I recommend abandoning that goal. Keep it as short as it is, and maybe just polish the experience (remove text, include more feedback). Use the engine and art assets to make another game, because this game about loss will lose its impact if you "bring it back from the dead" as a longer, gamier game.

Seriously: even if people love this game, don't make it longer! Integrity!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Also: nice camera lerp.

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Amazing graphics for the deadline, I'm very impressed!

RookMage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Awesome music and art. Amazing work.

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Amazing graphics and music! But I wish there was more gameplay =( Also a bigger relation to the theme itself...didn't really felt like connecting worlds...

But either way, the presentation is very impressive :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Lovely graphics and very fitting music. It was a little slow at times, but I can forgive it that because it just looks so great. I was hoping for a longer game but even so I really enjoyed this.

steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Awesome presentation, art and music :)

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Awesome!!! Especially i like the soundtrack.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I love this game! I love the graphics, the animation, the mood, the sound!

If only it was longer; but maybe it will be sometimes?

Ogniok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45pm

It was such a touching experience that i lost my breath for a second

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I really love the Pixel Art. Great color steps and I love the hard lines and mixed angles on the rock formation the step from deep black to grey is a excellent and dramatic shading effect. Great fluid movement in the run animation as well

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Wow, this entry is just unbelievable presentation-wise. Really beautiful pixel art, intricate music (can't say I enjoyed the dubstep part though, but that's personal taste), and just the way everything flows. Of course, there isn't much of a game there gameplay-wise, but it's a nice short story. Definitely interested in seeing a full game in that style - the ghostly protagonist could offer some interesting game mechanics too.

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Awesome graphics, sound and feel. Great job.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Aah this is absolutely gorgeous, such a pity it's so short. Nice work!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Great work! Very pretty, good use of theme, plays well!

PAMVllo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Very short, but the graphics are just very insane! Nice Work!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Fresh presentation for sure.... Wish it was longer/less laggy, but the visuals make up for all of that;

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Professional art here, i'm impressed!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02am

Woooah! Really really nice! Thats awesome! And.. really short! Thats make me feel sad! ;) Great job! Masterpiece!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03am

Uhms.. I play one more time.. i need see that awesome graphics!

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04am

Very good pixel art, good mood also

LeafThief says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:08am

I agree with most commenters here: really well done art and good audio. Definitely solid presentation.
But the lack of content renders it rather short and in general the narrative reminds me too much of other games such as Appy 1000mg by deepnight.

The game presents itself as a platformer (gorgeously executed no doubt!) but there minimal platforming going on - which is probably a good thing since it's clearly narrative-focused.

I by no means want to diminish your accomplishment, it is a very very beautiful and well-sounding entry and I was especially delighted by the vanishing letters when text appeared.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52am

damn, how did you get so good at art, there's too many little details and incredible things to say them all, everything is so fucking rad, great job! I really wanna see a full game from you soon! :)

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05am

W O W
WOWOWOWOWOWOWOOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOOWOWOWOW
fjasklfjasdl;fasjdl;kkl WOW!

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24am

Amazing stuff. Love the pixelart and music. I wish it game be lobger.

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

The scenery is gorgeous! Nice job on the graphics and presentation. I would consider this like an intro of a game, so hopefully this can evolve into something greater after LD30.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

You definitely have the art and music in the bag man, even the mechanics of jumping and moving were solid. It's too bad you had to cut so much, especially since it seems like your last LD had the same problem. Please please please, next time prioritize your game design first and I think you will really create something special with the potential to go far beyond LD.

ViliX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18am

Awesome and well polished game. I think we have a winner for this LD :)

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:31am

The art and overall presentation is absolutely gorgeous! I just wish there was more game to back it up. The music was good but once the wubs kicked in it didn't really seem to fit the mood anymore.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:34am

*Jawdrops* I... I... I don't know what to say... it's... it's... beautiful.

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42am

Superb graphics and good audio too. Wish there was more

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:08am

What a gem! Would love to see more... post-compo version perhaps? :D

nataku92 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:20am

The art and overall mood is seriously amazing. I would love to see a full game from this!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:26am

nice, great atmosphere

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29am

stunning game visually, I really would love to play a complete version of this, as your introduction is perfectly paced. I love how you introduce the character and world, very imaginative

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36am

This is simply grande. I remember seeing some of your indev. posts on the ludum dare site about how you spend to much time on trees - and I already wanted to see more. :D
But hell the soundcomposition when the moon appeared was absolutely cool. I got stuck 'cause i didn't knew by east you meant west. xD However played through it twice in a row. Great experience.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03pm

stunning game visually, I really would love to play a complete version of this, as your introduction is perfectly paced. I love how you introduce the character and world, very imaginative

Ludipe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06pm

It's a pity there's almost no gameplay, the art and music blew my mind.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Awesome artworks, great game!

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Waaaaaaaaaah it's too short T_T

The art and sound is top notch, but the game itself lacks gameplay. When you think it really starts... it ends.

Very frustrating!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Was gonna give you five stars overall, but then I realized how short it was. Nothing new or innovative or substantial about the gameplay, but the graphics, oh, the graphics! They're beautiful! The music's also very, very nice. Wish it were longer!

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:16pm

That's just on another level senses-wise

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:32pm

We want moooooore!!! :)

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Awesome intro - absolutely stunning. Loved the style, beautiful graphics and narration was spot on. I would love to see an extended version.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Awesome graphics and story. I enjoyed playing this game.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18pm

The most polished Compo entry i've seen so far. So bad you didn't spend 24hours more on this and run for the jam, so we could enjoy a longer experience with a deeper integration of the theme. Still you managed to finish such a polished short game. Fucking good job.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30pm

A shame that you could not make it longer... I really like the graphics

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38pm

That moon dropped the bass on me.

TeamConn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Artwork and soundtrack are really beautiful. Unfortunally the use of the theme can only be guessed and there isn't much gameplay. Why didn't you turn this into a jam entry?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01pm

@TeamConn: Unfortunately I would not have been able to turn this into a Jam entry. I needed sleep, considering I had a maximum 4 hours over the weekend.

The theme might have been more evident had I included more of my original plan, but the premise was meant to be that he is reconnecting to the world of the living.

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:38pm

The introduction is just amazing !
(I still gets chills)
Too bad the game itself is so short.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The presentation for this is just amazing, feels like it was cut short way too early though.
Also wish you'd used the reflection for something more than it looks great.

Malapropos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I love the mood of the game and how you presented the story. It was short but really good!

Oli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Just beautiful *___*

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Just amazing, the polish on this is just amazing! I wish it was a bit stronger (more obvious?) on the theme and a bit longer, but it was still really amazing!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:13pm

+ everything perfect
- nothing

well done!

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Wow, very moody. Music was perfect, a little sad that there wasn't much gameplay at all. Still very cool!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:09pm

A shame it's so short because just the beggining settled a great mood. It's presentation is fantastic, but it ends too early

kill0u says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

Dat art Oo

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:32am

One of my favorite so far. Really interesting.

sekaru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very graphically impressive however the gameplay was very lacklustre.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Full marks, this game was a really good experience.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nice art and music for sure. Good entry.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Just wow dude! That is some amazing pixel art skills you have there. Also really love the music, and the story. I just wish there was more!

Jedi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

Woooooow! Sooooo preeeeettttty! Even short as it is, I did a double-take when I saw this was a compo entry and not something a team made for the jam.

Kudos!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

Wow, that's a really great entry, love the graphics and the music.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

Awesome graphics, music and mood! Great job!

JoJoyX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

Incredible, everything is just awesome, from the programming to the music. I hope you'll continue this game and add some "core gameplay", it could be a GotY

ncannasse says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Good, but where's the game ? :)

Inateno says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

F**k this is awesome

Beard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Running very laggy, but the experience is well crafted. I will impressed right from teh beginning.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

And when I've seen some entries worth winning, I see this one! This is FREAKING ASTONISHING! Graphics/Music are perfect. I cannot believe you made this masterpiece in 48 hours. I hope you make a post-compo version, that'll be even more amazing!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Short but very, very sweet!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

The art and the setup is absolutely astounding; too bad it's so short (though not surprising, considering that these 48 hours must have been spent *somewhere*). I'd really like to see it developed further, though, the premise is quite promising.

(one thing I didn't exactly like: later part of soundtrack, when it went from mysterious cimbal-like instruments to something more techno-ish; granted, I'm not the fan of that instrument in general ^^")

darklightteam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Soo beatiful! Too bad there's too little of a "game". Otherwise, the mood and the graphics are outstanding.

abeing says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

exceptionell good game :)

DDFranky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

WOW! Just WOW!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

best game of Ludum Dare compo ever.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Wow, Nice work and great presentation. I luv da way dat beat drops in ;)

sephyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Amazing polished game with wonderful mood.
Perfect graphics, perfect song, perfect experience.
Very good!

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Amazing audio and graphics!

harko12 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Nice work

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

great artwork and BGM

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Beautiful, congrats!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Amazing work, one of the best I've seen. Had some performance issues (maybe because I have around 100 tabs open...) but the art you've created is amazing. Comlete entry, would like to see more. Great job!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Wow.... a shame it is short and lacks some beef... but just wow... To be able to make this music and art alone in 48 hours is just astonishing to me :)

Great entry, probably the best in terms of visuals/audio/mood that I have seen so far.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

This is really great. Super love the art and the music.

skiddings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Amazing opening and animation, I wish there was more game!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Beautiful graphics, music and style. Great job!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

"OH MY GOD! THIS IS THE AWESOMEST INTO I'VE EVER SEEN IN A LUDUM DARE GAME...uh...what? Is it over already?"

This games is impressive in a lot of ways, as soon as I saw the circles on the water in the first seconds I was "Woaaaaah"

Now, of course, it's way too short. But I can't imagine how you could even have made it longer. So...well...congratulations

Carduus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

i don'tknow what to say, yes because i'm disapointed :)
I WANT MOOOAR!!!
Serriously your game teased me so much, i mean it: SO MUCH!
when i hit the end i said to myself "WTF WTF I need MOOAAAAR"
It is so short man >< i need more, i need a gameplay!
Nevertheless, it is the best game trailer i've ever seen :)

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I'm left just craving more. Fantastic work. The music has a kind of ominous majesty that works right in with the melancholy colour palette and style. But at the same time it's about reconnecting to the living, and the music always feels confident and powerful, urging you forward. (I think you can tell I liked the music.)

Gameplay-wise the obvious thing to say is that more would be good. You've only really scratched the surface I'm guessing. But for 48 hours this is extremely impressive. Nice work!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

Amazing atmosphere. Would love to see this idea developed more!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Hi there. Lovely graphics and sound, especially reflection idea. Nice animations too. Very good atmosphere. Stuck at jump at first lever...either I missed something or that jump is too wide, or perhaps end of game ?

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

The movement felt great although it was so short. Hiding the key at the smart was clever. You just needed more to do. The animations and graphics are amazingly detailed for 48hr.

The audio track fits and helps the mood along with the pacing of the story but could be helped by sound effects/ambiance.

spotco says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

Great visuals, but really short (and wanted more gameplay content!)

runvs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

I want more! The Music is so awesome as well as the artstyle and the mood. Please keep making Games!

Ditto says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

Wicked stuff dude! :D

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

@mrexcessive: There is a key hidden at the far left of the map. This will allow you to activate the lever.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Beautiful. Can't fault this on anything and so glad I played it. I'd love to see a longer game come from this.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Graphics and audio are great.

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Wow, a lot of work packed in for 48 hours. Lovely graphics and music. Very poignant ending, and good use of the theme. I'd love to see more!

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

The art style was mind-blowing, too short to really get into though. Awesome job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Amazing audio and graphics!! Very short though, would like to see a larger version of it :)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

I really hope to see the full game on Steam :D

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

This it most certainly the most beautiful game I've played this LD. The graphics were stunning and the story was better than expected.

However this honestly could have just as easily been a short pixelart animation. It didn't really use the fact that the player had control of the character to it's advantage at all. If you were to continue this, maybe that would be something you want to think about.

In the end though this is an amazing LD game and thank you for making it.

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

Great mix of elements, the graphics are superb, but is too short.

paps says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

Awesome. Fantastic. Beautiful

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Graphics are awesome. Music is great. However it's really short even for a Compo entry. I think time was a factor here. Hope you plan to make it to a longer game with the same atmosphere.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

More like an interactive short story, but a really really good one at that. Damn I was really stunned! Still am.

Talvara says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:59pm

the graphics and mood of this is simply superb, Would have liked to see some more 'game' but as a short narrative experience this seems to get the best value out of the development time.

Dohan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:39pm

What a pity you had to cut out content, I would love to play more of it with that art, that music and that atmosphere!

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Awesome game. Unfortunately very unfinished... The mood... It's something, I just can't descriped in me words. It's very atmospheric.

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:06pm

By the way, can you share soundtrack with commununity? :) I can not forget how it sounds)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

@Menesetsu: http://soundcloud.com/huruey/sinister-1 :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Way, way too short.

Needs sound effects! Even just footstep sounds.

The graphics are ridiculously nice. I take it you spent most of the time on them? Well, I don't know..

The music's nice too, until it goes all dubstep. Not my cup of tea.

Not much else to say I think, given how short it is. Really a shame.

YopSolo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

damned i wanted to rate 6 stars for gfx and music but i am limited to 5 !

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:45pm

WOW! This would be perfect aside from all of my i5 processors running 50-80% once the music kicks in. Love the additive transitions and the story telling. Loved the music and how it ties in with the transitions. A wonderful find and a surprising entry from such a short dev time. Definitely an honor to connect this world to its ending credits. :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:05am

There wasn't much in the way of gameplay, but the art and music were phenomenal!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Amazing art and music!!! You should keep going!

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:26pm

It's very pretty, and it also sounds very pretty (until the dubstep kicks in >.>), but there really isn't any gameplay. Personally, next time I'd focus on getting your gameplay across before working out all the (seriously, gorgeous) graphics.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:01pm

@puppymythril: I'm personally quite keen on narrative based "interactive experience" type games. I prefer to prioritize experience over gameplay. To me, "gameplay" is just another tool for contributing to an experience.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Beautiful! I especially liked the text effects and the slow reveal of the world to help establish mood.

Unfortunately little substance, but such is Ludum Dare. I feel like dubstep was an odd choice given -- as I interpreted it -- the theme of separation from a loved one in death.

someone says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:57am

Wow, exceptional artwork. The setup and mood was great. Shame it wasn't longer.

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:10am

Gorgeous graphics & music, great work!

thiaguera says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Beautiful.

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I think we already have a winner, and it's this game! I'll never forget that soundtrack or those amazing graphics. Great job!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JejUnupw6aI

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The direction is amazing for a game this short =O. I don't really like the dubstep though >_<.

OFF says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Maybe more an interactive cut scene than a game but F*** THAT'S PERFECT.

Animation, graphics, controls, i can tell nothing... But nothing really new in gameplay and the theme is more background that inside but something so finished in 48H... how many hand/brain have you? :D

You kill me! ;)

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very beautiful game, both the narrative and the visual effects are really well done. I fail to see the connection to the theme though, but I feel the game already shows a lot of personality by itself!

local minimum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Wonderful graphics, music, effects. Wonderful most of it.
I did however have a problem with <space> not seeming to activate the lever, so I got stuck there, or if it did activate it, I never noticed and couldn't jump the distance.
A pity since I was enjoying myself.

datacr4sh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Great art and intro scene!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:54pm

@local minimum: The key required to activate the lever is on the far left of the map.

mildmojo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:59am

Really, really pretty. My Haswell i5 laptop isn't fast enough to play it, though, so I won't score it.

sikosis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:08am

Absolutely incredible. Artwork is amazing. Totally blown away !

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:26am

Short yet freaking awesome.

miotatsu says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:29am

talk about polish!

mechabit says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:28pm

wow, so many comments but yeah, really short but dat pixel art. Interesting theme but it looks more upbeat than sinister, unless the guys is about the kill the girl.

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:48pm

10/10 Awesome game!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

i really like the atmosphere of this game, short of course, but a really nice beginning. a lot of potential here

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Probably the best game I've played so far this compo. Well done

Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:26pm

This is a very beautiful entry. The art, audio and animations are superb. Shame about the length of it. I think this could be the intro of a very cool game that I hope you finish some day.

snooze82 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:38pm

just beautiful :)

Aaants says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Rage inducing jealousy-ishly good visuals, audio and mood :)

lotusgame says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Excellent mood ! Graphics and effects are amazing ! A must see :) Too bad it's too short, please make a post compo version !

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:53am

Great art , I got stuck on the first switch though

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Awesome graphics, awesome sound, awesome atmosphere ...and a very short story ;)

Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great looking game with music that worked really well. Loved the intro and mood you set up but just wish it was longer. Hopefully you expand upon this.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Breathtaking! This is hands down the most beautiful game I've seen this LD so far, and the most atmospheric one too. That introduction sequence was very well done, and feels as if its the start of a grand, classic adventure. The background music was also amazing and didn't just fit the mood, it strengthened it. Don't let LD be the end of this game! You clearly put a lot into it and it's just begging to be made into a full game. A proof-of-concept with this caliber of production quality is more than enough to get people excited.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:01pm

As others said, it's a shame that you were not able to develop this further. But I guess, you will make a game out of this or at least a post-compo version, or not?

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:10pm

@Steven Colling: Yes, I will be making this a into a full game after my current project. :)

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Awesome pixel art and a great use of the tech (HaxeFlixel woot!). The sprites are also really vivid and well animated. Hope you continue working on it in some way :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Very beautiful game! Art, music, mood are superb. I feel like the intro is long-winded considering the length, but this would be a great beginning to a full game. Shame you couldn't work in some interesting gameplay. Very impressive though! Great job!

leafo says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

great game

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

high marks for graphics, audio mood. I would have liked to have seen more of a game here. But what you have is very impressive indeed. nice job.

goosetickler says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Great looking game, would have liked some way to speed up the text. Wish there was also a little more gameplay here but the mood and atmosphere are great.

psychonull says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Glad I was able to see this game before judging ends. Too short, but it's worth the quality. Good job

recursor says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice start to a really pretty game.

zatyka says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:25am

Absolutely beautiful, but far too short. It's begging for more.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Wow, what an awesome game this is! That pixel art is gorgous and together with the music it really sets the mood. Great job!

Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:50pm

AMAZING GAME!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:33am

My computer is pretty beefy, and I play a lot of games at 2560x1440 with maxed out settings, but I got about 5 FPS tops here. Gorgeous, otherwise.

Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:52am

Dietrich

Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:54am

Dietrich Epp: I've played it on some pretty rubbishy laptops and it wasn't nearly as bad as that. I suspect something else is wrong. Could you check your power and GPU settings and let me know if anything helps?

Tommislav says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:26am

The graphics are amazing!

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:47pm

GG!!!
Sad to be so short :/
But the animations, music, mod, humor!
Good Entry

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Short but good. I really like the visual style and the music is awesome.

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:52am

I really hope you continue this game after the jam. This is so well made. The art and the "juice" animations are just phenomenal. One of the best entries I've played. Hope to see more someday.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:08am

Aw, too short. I want more. So beautiful.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Really nice graphics and music. Loved the general feel of this game.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Cool _intro_ for an adventure- / puzzle- / atmospheric-walking-simulator-game you got there! Would've been really cool if instead of teleporting me to the correct spot, the level would have just risen from beneath my feet naturally ;). Even though there isn't much gameplay, I think the little gameplay there is helps the player to immerse and feel invested in the game and the story.

The moon and the stars appearing is definitely one of my favourite gaming moments of all time.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Aside from the great art not a very statisfying experience. You created a great atmosphere but the rest was meh :(

Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:06pm

apiotrw: Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy it. Could you possibly provide any more feedback as to what you felt was missing, other than, I presume, the length? Thanks.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I like short, story-centered experiences like yours. And I also think that your art is amazing! Great work there. But I think the way you delivered the story (some text and at the end the "meeting" with the wife/gf) was too shallow. I think your game could benefit a lot by some more storytelling techniques like environmental storytelling etc. To the gameplay aspect: I think Sinister could profit from better puzzles than simply "Find the key".

Don´t get me wrong that I think this is a bad game. Sinister had great potential and so were my expectations when I saw it.
Nevertheless amazing work for 48 hours. :)

geometrix says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Awesome little taster, would love to play more of this!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Great graphics, great music, great mood. I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/hvOt_bkuFkM

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Very nice mood, graphics and music. Want more game though.
Greate entry!

sputnik says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Awesome graphic and theme. A lot of mood. A bit too short though.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Incredible.

CptDustmite says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Wow, I want more. Music was amazing, graphics were amazing. Even though it was very short I'm very impressed with what you managed to make in the time frame. Wish I got to rate this!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]