Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravitate

by acehk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple, literal take on the theme. Gravitate is a puzzle game revolving(HURR) around the manipulation of gravity. Each level has a specific goal such as converting a planet to a certain element or transferring a moon to a new owner.

I'm happy with the style and idea I came up with, although admittedly my take on the theme is rather literal. I'm a little annoyed with myself that I let the mechanics slip in my rush to finish, and that is the first thing I would clean up if I continued pursuing this idea. I originally wanted a straight forward RPS style system of element interaction, but as of now it's much less intuitive and leaves the player to trial and error.

Anyway, point is - don't get too frustrated trying to figure out any of the levels :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Theme3.76
#185Innovation3.68
#344Fun3.29
#389Graphics3.36
#402Overall3.35
#604Mood2.93
#786Audio2.23
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Nice, it's simple and easy to grasp but still fun to play. Good job introducing new concepts through the different levels.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Some wonderful mechanics that were executed very well, more levels would have been great

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

Nice game. Lots of fun.

hellochar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29am

I can't seem to manipulate the planets :( Clicking on them just doesn't do anything

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

An interesting game mechanic, bit tricky to control, but still fun.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really nice entry, and a pretty original idea! Nice work :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I sometimes found it a little hard to click on the planets, but otherwise found it really fun and engaging! Good job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Pretty cool game. Couldn't figure out how to turn planets into ice though :\

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Hi there. Play buttons on main planet menu do nothing, well they change their own colour slightly/new anim. image but nothing else happens. Chrome/W8.1

acehk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Hmm. I'm on 8.1 + Chrome, and that's the only OS/Browser combo I tested on. Sometimes I have to swap tabs after a unity game loads to get it to properly detect input.

Shide says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:56am

Pretty fun, cool gameplay mechanics, though could've used some more levels. And I hasn't figured out how to bit one of the levels :)

4xisblack says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:07am

Cool! I like the way this game looks: The concentric rings are very evocative, and the trails are a nice touch.

While the collision mechanics do make for a couple of interesting puzzles, I'd be interested in trying a version of this game where destructive collision could not occur; there would be less resetting that way, and I think it would move the game more towards cultivating your own little solar system rather than merely accomplishing arbitrary tasks.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Well done. I always bad with this "orbit" game. But the game look complete with different levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]