Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Micro-Cosmic

by MicroChasm - Jam Entry

A terrible disease has broken out on your homeworld. You must avoid conflicts as you race back, cure in hand. However, the disease itself has its own goals...

Left click to create waypoints
Right click to destroy waypoints
Create a path to the portal or large cell
Press Space to restart level
Press "a" to slow down
Press "d" to speed up


Special Thanks:
We would like to offer our sincere thanks to bFusion for his Ludum Dare music.
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/bfusion/

We would also like to thank Chris Martyn, Geoff Harvey and Mark Fildes from Purple Planet Music for their royalty-free tracks.
http://www.purple-planet.com/

Thanks also to LostGarden for the explosion sprites.
http://www.lostgarden.com/index.html

Thanks also to Soundjay for a few assorted sounds.
http://www.soundjay.com/

Thanks also SuperFlashBros for their awesome sound generator, where we got our explosion sounds.
http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/

And finally, many thanks to our official playtesters: Chris Skahan, and Winnie and Anita Lai.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Mood(Jam)4.17
#133Audio(Jam)3.61
#158Innovation(Jam)3.48
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#204Overall(Jam)3.46
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#473Graphics(Jam)3.16
#532Humor(Jam)2.00
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

Great mood - love the text fade-out effect!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Some levels are very hard and I could not pasármelos, but the game is quite relaxing, except when you explode..

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

+mood 5/5
+only one need to past
-it look like you can past through asteroid field

use link like this to download directly from drive (https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=xxxxxxxxx)

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Very moody, nice approach to the theme!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very cool game, this gets my first 5 star rating of 22 games. Great aesthetics, genuinely fun gameplay, appropriate music, excellent story and amazing delivery with the gradual exposition/fading text between levels, and the mix of the super tiny vs super large picture gameplay. I made it back with but one ship =O

I hope to be able to apply lessons from this to future projects. Very well done.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Beautiful graphics, Very unique mood. It's obvious you put a lot of thought and effort into this game!

cudabear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:37am

Very awesome game! The gameplay itself was innovative but left something to be desired. The mood was very apparent and I loved your interpretation of connected worlds. Well done!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:48am

Interesting premise, but the gameplay required too much patience with planning the perfect path IMO and I just ended up brute forcing it. Good mood though!

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

Very good mood, and pretty neat idea. I thought it'd be lame but the slow down feature made it pretty fun.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Wow, great atmosphere! I love how you integrated the theme.

Shivur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good concept and good mood!

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:18am

I love it! Nice idea, well done, amazing!! :)

seantheartist says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Fun game, and great feel. However the enemies seemed a little too random. I liked the randomized movement of the character, but the movement of the enemies seemed a bit jerky

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:45am

I agree with everyone else, perfect mood!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]