Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dagger Dash

by Linus123xbb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game in Ludum Dare and it not the best so to speak.

Buy hey! My goal was after all to make a playable game, and that's what I did!

The game is inspired by the Mobile game Geometry Dash.

You need to jump and douch to avoid obstacles but you can press spacebar twice rapidly to teleport to a world above to avoid dying.

CONTROLS:
Spacebar to jump.
Press spacebar twice rapidly to teleport.
Hold shift to crouch.
Hold shift while jumping to get through certain obstacles.
Press ESC to enter the main menu.

**NOTE:**
The patched version was released AFTER the Compo had finished!
For anyone having problems getting through where you have to jump and crouch simultaneously, it's totally possible, it just requires precise timing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#673Humor2.16
#706Audio2.41
#827Graphics2.67
#987Theme2.52
#1009Mood2.33
#1039Fun2.43
#1101Overall2.52
#1141Innovation2.10

Comments

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Cool look, feel, and sound! And yikes, that's pretty hard! The slide feels a bit unresponsive at times, like I'd hit it in time but would still die. Also, the character feels too far forward on the screen so I can't see obstacles soon enough - especially after teleporting! Besides that though I thought it was quite enjoyable. I quit a little sooner than I would have due to difficulty.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I love how the player looks.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

The patched version (post-compo) is a serious impovement over the original. I couldn't fit between the double blades in either though (and I did "crouch" mid-air) ;)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Its not all that responsive but its a top effort, it certainly does not suck. The character looks good and the concept of the teleport is quite fun

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Very nice camera, the teleport felt natural.
Jumping through the double axes was really difficult, I only managed it once. For your first game, it's great!

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Intresting concept, I must say that the game would be a lot more fair if you actually could see the other place you are teleporting to.

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

The player's graphic feels out of place in comparison to the rest of the game and I'm pretty sure the guy is ripped from maple story or at-least it looks like it was. However i dig the game-play.

Other than that not bad.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

can you make a linux build, please?

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56pm

@r0x0r Sure, but I can't guarantee it works.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09pm

thanks! it works perfect

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

It's good for what it is :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Not a big fan of the art style, but the actual gameplay is pretty solid. With a bit of polish and some highscores something like this could be pretty addictive. A death animation would have been nice. Well done on your first entry, I hope to see you back in December :D

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06pm

It was fun but quite hard ! Congrats

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Two much hard due to some weird collisions but that's a nice infinite runner, it lack of some checkpoint due to the level of difficulty.

The character is fun, but he looks too much handpainted compared to the other, he is really well done, so maybe you could do all level with the same kind of graphics.

The switch between the two world is great, and a good idea, butit lacks of more information aboutthe other world, and it's more required du to the difficulty of the game itself, without any switch.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Those double blades are really rough. Good effort for a first compo!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice work dude! I really like the main character's sprite work - the duck animation is especially nice. I had a few technical issues, but I can see that with a bit of polish this could be a really fun game. See you at the next LD! :D

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:52am

Simple game but well done. I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dd4UkBLKHXI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]