Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Isles of Elona

by mocker - Jam Entry

*Update 8/31* : Server is back. I fixed several issues that caused it to keep crashing. Also multiplayer is working again so you can see other players on your map (if there are). Have another player send you the id string of the map they are on, put it into the warp id field and hit warp and you'll go to their map.

This is an online topdown rpg. Your homeworld you first log into belongs to you and each portal can take you to a new world or stumble on an existing one

The art is tilesets from the game Elona
Gameplay at the moment is exploring and killing the occasional monsters to up your kill count.

I do plan on continuing to to develop this to add building on your own world, fix it so you don't get dc'd when you and another player are on the same world, add items. All that good stuff I ran out of time doing while I made a server

Please let me know what you think and if you'd be interested in following development!

Tech: Node.JS/MongoDB + Phaser.js, using socket.io for networking
Source: https://github.com/Mocker/LD30
Twitch Feed: http://www.twitch.tv/irishwilly

Problems with LD version:
Enemies do not attack back. Really not much gameplay aside from exploring through portals and killing defenseless enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#436Theme(Jam)3.05
#611Mood(Jam)2.63
#662Graphics(Jam)2.58
#687Innovation(Jam)2.30
#716Overall(Jam)2.59
#758Fun(Jam)1.86
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22am

This looks really cool! and multiplayer! but i cant seem to do anything. i create an account and spawn in a world, then nothing i do does anything. I will rate when I am able to play

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Said server was disconnected for me. Looks cool though.

mocker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I finally got a chance to check on the server and it is running again

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I'm more impressed with the concept of it being an online game than anything else. I don't think i found anything that could hurt me, and i couldn't tell friendlies from enemies. Movement and attacking were also pretty clunky.

Jedi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:45pm

It's a really ambitious idea but I don't think you were quite able to pull it off in the 72 hours. I managed to kill one enemy, but most of the time my attacks didn't work at all. It wasn't a very satisfying kill; the game needs to be responsive and "juicy." (You HAVE seen the youtube video, "Juice it or lose it", right? Everyone should!)

Also, other than getting realms named after players it doesn't seem like there's much to connect me to "my" world.

I wish the player would keep moving when I held down the movement key.

I never got a chance to see any multiplayer functionality because the worlds are too big and there was only one other person on when I was playing, and I didn't run into them. This is a common problem with multiplayer jam games - there being nobody on the other end to play them with.

Well, I suspect most of the work went into the online functionality. Next time, Keep It Sesame Street! :P

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:47pm

This game definitely has a lot of potential. I really like the art and the networking stuff seems to be good. I think if you didn't have to be assigned a grid spot and instead could be in between the grid spots the game could look a lot nicer too. Good job! :D

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Got stuck at a portal, or maybe the loading time was just too long for my patience. As others said, impressive to try a multiplayer online game, but there's currently no fun-factor in it.

mipi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Reply to my game: Please don't rate my game if you didn't see any other weapons than the starting pistol, because my game really seems bad if you quit at that point.

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I like the concept, but I think ennemies are too speed, so it's difficult to kill something ... I don't know if the tile system is good for that. Maybe for turn-based gameplay ?
But it's ambitious ! Good luck for the development !

mipi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Reply: Ah sorry, I immediately pictured the worst case scenario in my head. But of course you were talking about the screenshot weapons. But yes, I think I got some strong contrast on the game and it might very well hurt eyes, thanks for your constructive feedback!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:18am

Interesting take on the theme. Amazing you created a multiplayer game! I know how much effort it takes, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]