Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Notes from a Mad Mage

by Razoric - Jam Entry

Theme: The game draws on the "Connected Worlds" theme through connecting past gameplay with present. Everytime you die a ghost will appear and perform the same actions you did on the previous run. The ghosts stack so you can have up to 14 ghosts at a time (totally depending on how much you die). It gets frantic!

Story: While rotting away in prison for over a millenia the Mad Mage has discovered the secret of connecting life with death. Only through the help of past lives will the mage be able to escape the dungeon forever.

Notes from a Mad Mage is a short, action packed puzzle game that may leave your mouse in ruin by the end.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Fun(Jam)4.01
#56Overall(Jam)3.89
#72Humor(Jam)3.52
#122Audio(Jam)3.64
#127Innovation(Jam)3.56
#195Mood(Jam)3.46
#240Graphics(Jam)3.73
#318Theme(Jam)3.31

Comments

zakchaos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Love the music,
bit hard for me on laptop touch pad, great graphics tho
could not figure out the mechanic to get past the first puzzle.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Really like the ghost mechanic. Made it really hectic after a while.

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

DAMN AWESOME!!! Really, I made me happy! I shared it to some of my colleagues.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40pm

FANTASTIC! I love it. The mechanic isn't new, but it's implemented really well. And you had time to put some 'juice' in the game which is really appreciated. Great job all around.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Second playthough I just started blasting everything!!!

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Hilarious! Loved this game quite alot. The ghost feature made this game really fun! Played right through to the end :3

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48pm

That was a ton of fun. Incredibly satisfying as well. Really cool concept!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Really fun, took me a while to beat, and dammit I almost had made it with the max amount of lives but I screwed up at the end! really fun and well designed. It's really hard at first, but It got a lot easier once I figured out each areas 's traps, and when i realized I couldn't harm myself with my ghost's fireballs.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Awesome music and original idea. Great job!

elliottd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

great, lots of fun, compelling mechanic. One thing I don't like is that the top of your head can touch the lava and kill you. player needs a shorter hitbox than the graphic.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:15am

There are so many things that I love about this. Shooting fireballs feels great, the sound effects are hilarious, and the graphics are perfect. Nice work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

AWESOME! 5/5 Tons of fun!
The only one thing that I have in my mynd, probably you may add some cooldown for firebals. Right now it becomes easy if you can click really fast))

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Nicely done!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Nice. The ghost style is really great. I like that the previous players also can shoot. Solid work.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Thanks for the feedback so far everyone!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Wow! I'm very impressed by the idea and how well everything was done. I was worried that when I got to those evil wizards it would get too hard but I was wrong because it was still possible. Really good innovations, fun, graphics, audio and just overall! Great job! :D

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Good fun, liked how you could blast things while you waited for your past self.

Only thing was the bridge over the lava seemed a bit touchy and I died the most to that!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

This was awesome! Great idea, well implemented with great graphics and sound. Very nice job indeed.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Great controls, graphics, and good (but confusing at first) mechanics.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Fun game mechanic with great pixel art - very chaotic after a few deaths :)

The fact that the razor blades and enemies weren't in sync for each life added to the chaos, but in a good way.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

It really becomes crazy when you have all your 10+ previous ghosts shooting everywhere. I died a few times more because I lost track of the main character XD

Great job :)

BroCade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27pm

One of the most fun things i have played this jam, infuriatingly addictive! A clever mechanic executed well

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Cool game and interesting problem solving involved.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Would like to try it without ghost limit, 1000 fireballs a second sounds fun xD
Music is hilarious, ghoul screams get annoying after a while.
Really fun little action game :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Love it hahaha

nataku92 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41am

pretty fun

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Brilliant fun! Very manic trying to play it on my laptops touchpad. Will definitely be giving it another go on our main pc :D

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Haha yeah I tested it on my Mac laptop (to check performance) and after 10 seconds with the touchpad I was like "nope."

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Sometimes enemies can trap you and leave you no choice but to lose all your life at once. That is not good :) Maybe the screams are too annoying at those moments. But beside that, you have some nice ideas implemented there that I will like to see taken to the next step. Well done!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Yeah that was a last minute issue I discovered at the final hours of the jam I didn't have time to fix. When the screams overlap each other from all the deaths in a row it can be quite jarring. You can also press F super fast for the same effect! :P Thanks for the feedback!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Hi there... Loved your game. The physics of the mage fire spell is great, the acceleration away... The sounds especially the piano music, which sounds much like an old B&W film accompianment! Ghosts a good idea also! Great job overall.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I hate that lava so much. Took me a few tries (I was doing so poorly I just restarted before losing all my lifes :P) but I managed to beat it! Too bad there wasn't a boss at the end waiting for me.

Nice and juicy game. Good job.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Pressing R to reload the game, did not work for me, so every time I had to restart (which sadly, was many times lol)I had to just refresh the screen, but that's no biggie :) The music kinda reminded me of an old black and white western movie. Very unique and challenging game! GJ!

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Awesome rocket firballs, fun game! Well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Nice music & graphics. SFX are really good too, making this a good action game (camera movements, explosions etc.). Really loved the concept too!

GOOD JOB ;)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice mechanic, but very hard to play.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07pm

The game is ultra fun, in terms of graphics, audio and gameplay! Best Jam entry I've seen so far!

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Really fun! Love the pace of it, and the music works perfectly with it too.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10am

AMAZING. Def my favorite game so far.

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

Really fun and intensive game. Great sound fx and music to go along. I really liked this one. Well done! :)

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

Excellent, top 3.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

It's been said before but.. AWESOME! 5/5 Tons of fun!

Nedd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Yup, pretty fun game! Took me a few good seconds to ge a grasp of the ghost mechanic, but it was damn awesome after a few deaths!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

The ghost mechanic for solving the puzzles was a great idea and the music worked really well, great game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Really nice concept! Graphics! And the mechanic of the ghost its nice!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

This is a great idea! Reminds me of Cursor*10, but with more fun because FIREBALLS!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:26am

+fun!

Really mad mayhem!

The soundtrack was absolutely perfect! Piano really sets the mood :)

Impossible tempo, got to the point where I couldn't actually see the wizard I was controlling due to all the clutter! But I loved every crazy minute of it :D

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Great work there! I love the slow increase of speed on the fireballs! Music fits the frantic pace as well!

koalamo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Fun game, ghost mechanic is neat. I think the screenshake on every attack is a bit much. I feel it may be more rewarding if it was on contact with an enemy vs. when you cast. Great work!

Tanner says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Game so good. Made me want to engage with your brand. :D

Pfeyffer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Awesome game! The connection to the theme is not immediately apparent but it is fun to play. I swear the first few wizard ghosts had a very confused look on their face :-)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Great game! My hand is falling off, but it was fun to mass up a massive fireball army of death. Am imagining how this would work with more action elements (like a TD variant) vs. puzzle elements! The waiting becomes taxing after a while. But great fun. Super-satisfying to blow stuff up.

Maxom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Loved this game. Feels very, very well and has a good difficulty! Clearly one of my favorites this year!

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:19am

Nice little game. I didn't quite make it to the end, it became a long run back each time i died and I ended up dying again from lack of patience =)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:39am

Fantastic concept and execution.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:54am

Hah that was really cool - nice one :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:49am

best name so far haha
I loved how responsive this was, really great gamplay and the art style complimented it nicely.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:31am

Awesome game! Cool concept and execution. I especially like music and sounds %)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

Hectic action packed game! It gets furious fast, too many enemies going after the mage, but it makes it even funnier! Great job!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Nice take on the theme and the recorded past selves mechanic. The obstacles don't rest though which means one time the path is clear but the next time it might not be and that messes up the ghost button timings. Good job though

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:56am

Nice concept! This got me really addicted. Sounds are absolutely fun and graphics are nice. Very sweet for this short time!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:30am

Great entry. Really enjoyed everything about it. Frantic doesn't begin to describe it :)

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Love it. Reminds me of Super Time Force. Main problem I had was not that it was hectic, but cluttered. about halfway through my lives I couldn't even see myself anymore, much less enemy projectiles. It was also a bit too easy to accidentally step on lava while trying to cross the bridges.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:40pm

What a fun concept! The feedback from the fireballs and the explosions are really good! And the screams, oh my god the screams. Only annoyance might be that the bridges were a little narrow imo, but no biggie. Nice solid entry!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

The ghost mechanic is not that original since there are a few titles used it before but not in this kind of game so it counts as original. I used my ghost mages as an army of destruction :D Very good game with everything complete imo.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:29am

Fun, and a little frustrating!
(Liked the almost-wilheim scream)

xandy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

very cool music&art combined with the little wizzards!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Great entry!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:03pm

The dying sound is terrifying, I don't even want to know how you made it ;____;

Danman9914 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Screen shake was sooooooooo satisfying. PEW PEW

TowelKing says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:06am

good game, I wish there was a way to progress a bit faster instead of waiting for myself to do things faster

ninjascript says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:39am

Great mechanic and the art is awesome. Those fireballs feel powerful.

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:48am

Great game, after 8-10 deasths I stopped seing anything but it was fun!! :D

chowee says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Excellent entry !

As anounce, the gameplay gets frantic really fast and it is an awesome game, really good job. Graphics are nice and the music and general mood and humor of the game is great !

I greatly enjoyed my time with this ! I return to it now, it's addictive !

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:56am

what a crazy sloughter house. very funny! great music. Great Graphics. Cool Game!

juaxix says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nicely done, how did you save all the info of previous sessions?

Razoric says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I saved all player movements and actions into an array, then assigned the array to a 'ghost' for the next play through.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Top notch audio, strong visuals and solid gameplay, the only complaint I have is sometimes the lava is too unforgiving when I'm trying to get over the bridge. Maybe it should not kill you if you touch lava while you're also touching a bridge.

Other than that, great entry overall.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Very cool take on the theme, the shooting baddies make it a bit too hard with all the mayhem - hard to see and dodge their missiles, I think I died 5 times when I was 1 tile away from what I think is the end :(

Great job! Loved the art too!

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Awesome work on the pixel art. The sounds are hilarious and the music is great. Really fun to play (although I think any resemblance to the theme is tenuous at best). The sound effect, screen shake and size of the projectiles made shooting them feel really satisfying

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:56am

Awesome job, i really like the game mechanics. Although it gets a bit lagging at times. Nice entry!

Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:05am

One of the greatest entries I've seen. The ghost mechanic is super cool and you've added lots of audio and visual feedbacks to everything (screen shake, remaining corpses...) a la Vlambeer ;)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Loved the music and audio! The ghost mechanic was cool, and made the game even more fast-paced. Good job!

radmars says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:26am

That was incredible.

zatyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:34am

That was a lot of fun. Very nice job.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:11am

Very nice game. As I read through the comments it sounds like I was hitting the lava. I thought the bridge was just disappearing from under me as it would disappear when you died.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:34am

Oh Wow! This was one of the best from the Jam. Added to my favorites.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Utterly chaotic, but in the best possible way. Really cool idea and implementation. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]