Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The SwitchBoard

by paps - Jam Entry

You play as a phone switch board agent in this Point and click type game.
Your mission is to allow people to call each other, by making the connection.
Select the correct two people that wants to interact.
But be careful of mistake and long wait time.
People usually don't like that.

Have fun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Innovation(Jam)3.37
#244Humor(Jam)2.76
#267Theme(Jam)3.42
#376Mood(Jam)3.10
#464Overall(Jam)3.11
#518Audio(Jam)2.63
#533Fun(Jam)2.78
#734Graphics(Jam)2.19
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

srakowski says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29am

A little confusing, but ultimately a pretty neat puzzle game!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36am

Nice!

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:38am

Confused on how to play. It feels like I'm selecting the right things in the right way, but it only chooses to go through sometimes.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44am

great game, really tense! there's a few context click bugs but other wise it's solid.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38am

Hard game but fun! I liked the music, made it more intense. I think it would be better if there weren't calls being requested that were still in use.

eastes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:41am

Nice game! I enjoyed the challenge. Excellent theme idea.


Also, regarding the comment on my bird pooping simulator game, the fruit is currently symbolic and educational more than anything. If I had another hour, I'd make the fruit combinations relate to different poo, which in turn grows different trees, which you can then eat to make even more different trees. I'm very happy you enjoyed the game. Thank you for playing it and giving some feedback!

aneeslol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42am

I was actually feeling pretty stressed out playing this, haha. The audio does a great job creating tension.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Hehe, made the mistake of going straight to the highest difficulty.

(didn't end well)

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:06am

It's confusing that the same person apparently wants to make calls to multiple people... at the same time!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Clever and fun idea.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:09am

Good use of the theme, and nice audio.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:34am

Nice game, can get a bit frustrating cuz you try to select the first end of a call you want to establish but if you select the next one (that just finished a call), the game thinks you want to select that as a first end of a call, so you have 2 "first ends" and you need to deselect them and start over.
Nevertheless, I like the concept :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:42am

Does it ever end? Good take on the theme. Well done!

ruerob says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:44am

A little bit confusing, because of the numbers which wanted to call to two different numbers at the same time. Thank you for your game.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Strangely addicting! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]