Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by WesleyJohnson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first every programming competition. I've checked out many of the past Ludum Dare compos in the past, but never had time to participate. I thought I would have more time this weekend, but I basically missed all of Saturday. That said, I like the concept I came up with and I think I'm going to redo it in a proper framework and flesh it out more.

This was a ton of fun and I enjoyed every minute of it!

Known Issues:
The collision is pretty wonky and sometimes you can stuck in a wall.

Downloads and Links




diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

Pretty fun overall; I liked the concept (although focusing on multiple screens while jumping was a little jarring)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

Definitely took a little while to get used to the screen switching, but I was amused. Tutorial windows blocked vision, but the existence of a tutorial was a nice touch. Clever level layout.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

This is cool. It has a solid game mechanic that fits the theme nicely and some good levels to use it.

A couple of the jumps were a little bit of a stretch to make and it was difficult to hop back out of the water after falling in.

A good game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

i like the puzzles. really solid game.

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Thanks for the comment so far, everyone. I agree on the level switching being jarring. I think, looking back, it may have made more sense to have the parallel world rendered on top of your world using dotted outlines or something akin to Mario's POW blocks when the POW isn't hit.

I agree on the tutorial blocking view and some of the jumps being a stretch as well. :)

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

Reminds me of Ripple Runner a small amount (that's a good thing). It's a pretty fun game. I like how you have lives so that you don't get overly frustrated by one screw up haha. Puzzles were about the right difficulty.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

Great fit for the theme, I really enjoyed the little bit of gameplay that I made it through. On that note, I got stuck not being able to switch at a certain point that caused me to keep dying

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

@vinhuman - Oh, man! I had forgotten about Ripple Runner, but had definitely played it before. I bet I was subconsciously inspired by that game; it's so good. I'm humble that this reminded you of it.

@haveric - Thanks, I definitely should have allotted for more time to create levels. Having some sort of editor would have made that easier. I was going to use tiled, but never got around to it. Thanks for the heads up on the bug. :)

rex64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

pretty clever!

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

Pretty fun. Took a little time to get used to looking at both screens to complete the levels. Having multiple lives definitely saved me a couple of times and let me complete a few of the levels.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

Good concept like the game , it will be really nice if you rework and polish it .
It was challenging that the down arrow change the worlds but kinda hard maybe try use other key.
but still good game .

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

@rex64 - Thank you!

@LordDraficus - Thanks. I definitely wanted to do more with the lives and having other mechanics in the game that will cause you to lose life.

@ahmedmohi - Great, I'm glad you liked the concept! I agree that if I can rework and polish everything it should be pretty fun. Don't forget you can use SPACE to change worlds too, which might be abit easier than DOWN.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Too short but I liked it :) The messages were useful in the beginning, but then they became a bit annoying I think. However, there is a great potential in this game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Pretty neat gameplay, get's challenging, there are some issues (you can land in the middle of wall sometimes) but overall nice job :)

rcirrus98 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Awesome! I love it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47am

Nice, good concept, i thought of sth. like that but couldn't really make it work, you did, well done :)
Was fun to play although the controls were a bit fickly sometimes, good onboarding..

ajopart says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:50am

Great concept. It fits perfectly in theme. And your post compo work on the graphics is nice. I had a similar idea, a bit different.Check it out ;-)

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

Nicely done. I enjoyed the puzzles alot.

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

Good concept and nice level design!

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

OK game, but not so original.

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Thanks for the continued feedback everyone!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Hi there. Nice job. Good swapping mechanic and nice sounds combine with the good platforming. Good job!

saguaro says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:09am

This is a cool puzzle game. I really like the concept.

WesleyJohnson says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Thanks. :) I had a lot of fun making it. Hoping to turn it into a fully game eventually.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Great level design. I'd recommend removing the press any key to continue part and just put the player in the next room though. No reason to have the player do that.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]