Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Steam

by Pinktreeleaf - Jam Entry

Did you get a fair shake in life? Steam is the drama comedy of a young girl who is torn between the world she lives in, and the world she "lives" in. Help her understand where she belongs and who her true friends are.

Team:
Artist: Constance Chen
http://www.theskyandthesea.com

Writer: Pinktreeleaf
http://www.pinktreeleaf.com/

Musician Mike Nicholson
https://soundcloud.com/harmonichive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Graphics(Jam)3.96
#163Mood(Jam)3.55
#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#393Theme(Jam)3.15
#635Fun(Jam)2.55
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25am

Sweet story. Glad to see someone else using Ren'Py!

Frankus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44pm

A nice story, would be nice to have a follow up of what's happening afterwards!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

"I miss not being angry. I miss smiling."
...Holy shit, that cuts deep.

As metaphors into race relations go, this is really well handled; and the art is super pretty. It seems the code for summoning sprites is broken (Most scenes after the first had no character sprites, and the sizes of characters was a bit inconsistent), but they're easy fixes.

Definitely come back to this and polish things, you have a wonderful game in the works here.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Great game! Awesome!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Hey, another Renpy user =).

I felt the story wasn't properly introduced at the beginning so it can be difficult to follow the plot from times to times. Other than like, I really liked the music (too bad there's only one track because it contrats with the more dramatic scenes) and the art is cute (again, too bad the sprites are so static, I wish there would be more variations/moves/transitions).

Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:56pm

This VN is nice, but I'd wish you'd use a different BGM for the dramatic latter half.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:21am

Firstly, the art is lovely!!! Major kudos to your artist. :D

I really enjoyed the story. I sometimes have troubles playing through visual novels due to the amount of reading involved, but I was really engrossed in the story. I think you've done an excellent job with the theme and building a world around that.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Thought about quitting halfway trough, but kept going till the end which was actually pretty nice. Art was cool and so was the music for a while, got bored of that pretty quickly.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:27am

Pretty good story. I kind of got bored half-way into it, but I'm glad I stuck through to the end,

Warboys says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:57am

Really nice art, super cute. I'm not too into the amount of dialogue I had to read though, I'm an uncivilized man :P

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice entry.

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:15am

Very nice idea, could use some gameplay though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]