Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Telecaster

by vulpineblazeyt - Jam Entry

Telecaster is a game where you click Planets to Telecast to them in your Ship. Once abroad, various local effects occur that affect your mission. The goal is to acquire as many resources as possible in your exploration of all castable planets.

Written in ImpactJS using an old template (Hence why this is a Jam)

EDIT: (8-24-14 1:50pm PST) Way more to do, way more planets, better sprites, tons of kind-of-instructive text!
You take your crew on an epic voyage through the telecaster, embarking on strange new worlds and frequently being sought out by the local wildlife. You are are a voyage to get as many Crystals as possible, they are required by your civilization to survive. If your crew dies, your fuel runs out, or your hull gets destroyed: You and your people lose. Winning is simply a trade off between the long sought out Crystals and the precious (but expendable) lives of your crew. Post screenshots of your high score with a brief bio of your Captain for a chance to be included in the next round of new planets!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#380Humor(Jam)2.43
#540Innovation(Jam)2.76
#661Audio(Jam)1.43
#668Mood(Jam)2.36
#708Fun(Jam)2.27
#724Graphics(Jam)2.26
#745Overall(Jam)2.49

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 6:01am

1/10
Wha...?

Graydom says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 6:16am

Not quite sure what it is about.

roktom says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 6:20am

2/10
2 planets , 2 points !

demtool5 says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 6:53am

next gen!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:08am

I don`t know what I`m looking at...

bluesky says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:55am

ha.... ?

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:16am

I don't get it

c4chaos says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:18am

I just don't understand what I am meant to be doing 2/10

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:56am

You should give some hints in what amount going to a planet will change your stats, so you can plan ahead of where to go. Currently it is a blind guess...

Rehacked says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:45pm

what are the win/loose conditions ???

Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I have updated the description! Please read and re-play, as there have been vast improvement since launch!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

Haha apparently I must be doing something right because I kept finding the utopian planet. Pretty fun and humorous game :)

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54am

Cool use of the theme, some of the narration of the planets was great :D Actually manage to tell a cool story! Nice entry, although somewhat confusing to figure out gameplay from the word go

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Nice idea, interesting planet descriptions, though gameplay seems kinda random, I mean there's not much room for weighted desicion making.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

Reminds me of FTL. Would be better if the player had any real decisions to do, right now it feels too random.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53am

would be nice to have some inkling of what planet does what, but I enjoyed reading the descriptions nonetheless

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

This needs some sound. A soundless world is a dull world.

Nitpicks:

- The text area is initially underneath all the planets. Bit annoying.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39am

Interesting game, it feels like FTL but later on I find it feels more like an interactive novel instead. It is like a novel because you pretty much have no control over the outcome (there was little information on how good/bad a planet is), the choices are pretty much random but I like how your choices will become a unique story for you. The text may need to be re-positioned a bit because it was obscured by the planets. It does give you the fun for purely exploring but it would be better if the player is more informed.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46am

Funny descriptions. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17am

Hi there... Novel design! The planets on first screen after splash get in way of text. Couldn't see any way to develop a strategy, so more of a digital toy than a game to me at least... did I miss something ?

DrCicero says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03am

After some telecasting i always get 'You just sold your crew into slavery for crystals'. I am such a captain ;)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

After I played a few times I realized that it was a strategy to go back to the planets you visited before to refuel and get more crew. But I still couldn't figure it out. I kept loosing all my crew, even if I had 200+ before I went to a new planet. Cool concept though, and I like the detailed descriptions of each planet.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Fun game. The descriptions for each planet were great!

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Wat :D I'm confused, it is like a text adventure with planets..and something. Definitely original!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36pm

A lot of different events and a really unusual idea^_^

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

I liked this outer space oregon trail. I think it would have been nice to see my current inventory to see how low I was on fuel and how damaged the ship was / needing scrap metal. Interesting take on the theme.

c4chaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice to see it with the updates alot more fun and now I know what I am doing nice job :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I like the concept a lot! Like an Oregon Trail set in space. It would be nice to have some more options when visiting a planet, e.g. attack or try to steal resources and escape, to spice it up.

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

I really liked this. I don't mind that it is completely up to luck. Wouldn't exploring space realistically be like that? It is nice to have your own experience even if your choices weren't informed.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:31am

Very similar to Faster Than Light though with less options available and a more confusing storyline. It would be great to see all the options in one screen and to get feedback when you arrive at an end condition. For your second Ludum Dare it is quite a good effort. Keep it up!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:30pm

very nice, love the idea strategy + space exploration, well done

Shide says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:05am

Seriosly, you need sound and more explains for planets. Or, maybe somehow grade your ship to travel longer every next time

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:16am

Seems like random fast FTL!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]