Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet rescue

by texus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the second time that I participate in ludum dare, but the first time was for the jam instead of the compo.

Language: c++
Libraries: SFML + Thor + TGUI
Graphics: GIMP
Sound: sfxr

The game is a 2d platformer where you have to find the pieces of the portal to restore the connection to another world. Afterwards you must go there to investigate the situation there. The game only has 2 levels though, so don't expect too much of a story :).

Although there are no enemies, there are still plenty of ways to die.

Use the arrow keys to move and jump.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#645Fun2.94
#713Humor2.12
#868Audio2.00
#868Overall2.89
#944Mood2.50
#1009Theme2.46
#1055Graphics2.24
#1097Innovation2.27

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

A bit frustrated with all that dying, but I guess that makes it a game I will remember .)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

A bit frustrated with all that dying, but I guess that makes it a game I will remember :)

Linkigi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

It felt pretty unfair when I died in this game (especially on the first level) due to hidden traps coupled with the time it takes to do that first section, but the 'Game Over' page was pretty funny. Nevertheless, Your game has a charm to it which kept me motivated to keep trying and beat it.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

The story was well written, but the game was a tad too difficult for me.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Difficult but it makes this game a challenge

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I liked the spikes in the first level... good sequence. Art and music missed my taste a bit. I found myself holdtn the jump button all the time and timing the stuff like I'm on a pogo stick - maybe try that for gameplay - just go left and right and let the character jump all the time, that was fun =D

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Hah, as other have mentioned, very frustrating to die :C Has some great concepts though!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Why you no Mac?

texus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19pm

I didn't want the game to be too easy since there were only 2 levels. I guess I made it too difficult :).

@AndrewAdams There is no need to put this comment on every game that doesn't have a mac version. Not everyone has a mac to compile on.
That being said, the windows build works fine on linux with wine, so it might work on mac too with wine.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

Quite hard, but fun and has some nice level design!

Robotic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15am

Wall the level design of the first level is good, allowing you to take the parts in any order you want.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43pm

The game is pretty simple but addictive

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

tough game. But still a pretty satisfying experience. Great job on completing the game.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Neat game, but kinda hard. Props on using SFML

jprogman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:38am

Difficult, but not too difficult. Managed to clear the castle though, yeah!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]