Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where have you been so long?

by Satyre - Jam Entry

Welcome to the most serious Ludum Dare entry of all time ;D

Controls:
Just the left / right arrows to move, the up key to interact.



-------------------------------- Spoiler --------------------------------


This time I present some kind of newsgame with hidden messages.

The theme can be understood as the world that we know and the hidden world in our reality, where the news is only available when you search for it.

I had some difficulties with the time. Therefore the entry is not as polished as I wanted it to be. But I hope the message of the game will be clear to everyone :)

The post jam version will contain more features, like more usable environment and more polished graphics, more sounds and music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#456Mood(Jam)2.95
#468Humor(Jam)2.20
#486Audio(Jam)2.76
#554Graphics(Jam)2.94
#562Innovation(Jam)2.72
#599Theme(Jam)2.57
#676Overall(Jam)2.73
#729Fun(Jam)2.18

Comments

Twittle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

I like this game but the web runs very laggy for me :/

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

Thanks for the feedback. I've added a download link for the flash file.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

I'll be honest, I'm not really sure what I just played, but the mood was excellent and the music was nice. The visual effects were pretty nice as well. I think I may need the concept explained to me though, because I really don't have a clue what happened. It was almost trance like, which I assume you were going for.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

The music is nice, as are the back drops. The store sign is obscured by the UI elements when you first visit it. Since it is the only part of the background that has text, it really stuck out.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

Reminds me of Lone Survivor, which I enjoyed.

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

don't entirely understand the point

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

I almost stopped playing after going through the possible actions once, then realized you can do them multiple times. Is there still something to do once you have opened all 4 eyes ?

Great message, good game. The backgrounds were nice looking and the music was catchy (although repetitive). Good job !

By the way, how did you make the music ?

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

@TeamQuadratic: That's the point :D. It is somehow an experience I made. Like beeing in trance for a while and then becoming clearer with every second. I was aiming for that feeling. The game is a newsgame, which offers some subliminal information about events that are not mentioned in the news. At least in my country ;). I tried to show that there are more informations hidden from the people or they don't really realize them.

@hamster_mk_4: Thanks for mentioning. The UI Icon will change once you visit the bourse. It will become smaller and the player can fully read the sign.

@mramaizng: I need to check that game, thanks for mentioning :)

@FinnMacd: I wanted to show that there are hidden informations that are not clear to most people.

@sprawl: Thanks. Unfortunately the opening of the eyes is the awakeing. Everthing beyond is not programmed. I did the music with Fruity Loops and used some Sytrus samples.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

Intense!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48am

I can see that you have a message with this game. Try to make the game enjoyable and add more gameplay elements, otherwise people won't stick around to hear what you want to say. Hope this critique helps. Goodluck!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50am

I caught onto the theme very quickly and good application of the theme.
The graphics are ok, nothing really stuck out about them.
To me there was nothing new about actually playing the game, the background music really annoyed the hell out of me, and the mood never really hit me.

- Bradley

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

I have no idea what I just did. I worked to death? it became an eye and then it was black

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Nice concept!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

@rjhelms: :)

@Accidental Rebel: Thanks for your opinion. I wanted to add more elements, but the time frame was to short to full fledge my ideas. I'll try to add some in the post jam version.

@Chikun Dev Team: Thanks for the honest critique. I suck somehow on graphic xD, but considering working alone I think I did a great job. I'm glad you already knew the messages, you can consider yourself awakened. Unfortunately there is still need for other people to understand. The music was created shorthanded by me, so there is only a short endless loop.

@phytong: Being confused with the game is somehow essential. The messages need to be reviewed after playing. When one eye is open, then you know the secrets of this part of the game.

@Tanner: Thanks :)

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Creative and engrossing. With some more polish you could have a winner here.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Surprisingly dark game, took me a moment to realize the various things could be done multiple times.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I like the look... reminds me of an 80s Quest game with better graphics.

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

I loved the message behind this game, and the way you can go discovering things by yourself without complex mechanics or "click and guess". Good job!

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

gj

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very serious indeed :) liked the music and gameplay is very smooth. Good work!

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice simple "serious game" (technical term). The imagery is pretty open to interpretation.

It would've helped to have an indicator letting you know when you can walk off the side of a screen, and letting you know that this is a completely different action than pressing [up].

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Intriguing.

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I liked it. Had me playing till the end. Great graphics and music.

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

i usually don't like message games like this, but the music and art was so great. totally love pixel line art. i also like single pixel eyes opening up, probably from playing the first zelda. you got me. i don't even care about the message. had fun.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I really love games with deep subtext. Good work!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

interesting ode to the wastefulness of life

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55am

Neat, Interesting concept for sure...

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53am

I was just playing along, went to work and saw the stock market crashed. I was like, ok bad day at work... moving along. Come home and eat some food... mercury poisoning?!?! Oh ok, I say to myself, this is a game showing all of the bad things that can be happening under normal circumstances. Chilling at time with everyone being a puppet or hiding behind a mask on tv. Very nice entry :)

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34am

Fun game! Wish there was more to do though, finished it pretty quick :)

havana24 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11am

I loved graphic art and the concept itself!
I think you should work more on the side-walk animation of the character, it's a bit slim! :)
Congrats!

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03am

I like the mood , despite the music loop very short.
A game with a serious message !

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:09am

Game is really detailed, and I loved the graphics! And the message is strong

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09pm

@everyone: Thanks for your reviews (I'll add the changes you all mentioned in future updates). I'm glad you got the messages right, and the game is not as unfunny as I thought :)

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44pm

I like intriguing games like that!
I'm sure there is more depth to it but in my opinion the message is not very original though (bank's bad, pollution is wrong etc), but still managing to throw serious questions like that in a Jam game is something great! Thank you for this experience.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:53am

As a carnivorous capitalist automobile journalist, I give this game two thumbs up, way up! I like how you interpreted the theme, I dig the graphics and even the looping music (though the looping grated after a bit). While I don't think it's an especially convincing game, it's a great result for three days work and I'd love to see another, with more refinement!

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

lol don't understand.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

I think part of the message you were trying to convey was lost on me, but it did get me thinking. I think the music fit quite nicely. I played until I got all eyes and 'woke up'.

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

I have some political disagreements with it, but I like how it evolved from a mundane slice-of-life game a politically-centred game.

The ending felt kind of superfluous though -- (I paraphrase) the "now I can see!" quote -- kind of spelling out what had preceded. And also I felt it to be a bit arrogant (sorry): that he has suddenly became this enlightened, insightful person because of a few contentious viewpoints.

I think it would have been more effective had you argued and not asserted. Try to show the player why these things are bad and not just instruct them to think that these things are bad, if that makes sense. Otherwise it's just preaching to the converted and fails to influence people like me.

Still, it's really nice that you tried something different and I was certainly intrigued while playing it. The graphics and music also work very well.

Satyre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

This will be a long answer post. Wow, thanks for all your reviews.

@Razoric: Thanks, I'll try to polish the up with clearer messages.

@AdventureIslands: Indeed, it is dark :). I haven't time to make the gameplay more clearer, but I'll add this later.

@ponywolf: Thanks!

@psychonull: Thanks! I wanted to play more with pictures instead of text with the instructions.

@mess110: Thanks!

@Gametery: Yes it is :) I guess my next games will only be for fun, cause my last projects were all too serious somehow.

@tschmitz: Yes I wanted to be as neutral as possible, to let the imagination space for interpretation. Adding an indicator for the possible walkable areas is a great idea. I'll try to add some in the post jam version.

@badlydrawnrod: That's what I was also aiming for :)

@jpmit: Thanks!

@vandriver: Thanks! I'm still glad that you finished the game :). The pixel eyes were the most easier part of drawing, but also the funniest.

@Druid: Thanks!

@pjimmy: Nice desciption of the game :)

@jomomomo: Thanks!

@ceosol: Thanks for sharing your experience :). Yes you got it right, these things can happen. We just have to be aware of them.

@Zolmeister: I wanted to add a street with homeless persons and some super expensive shops to have a bigger contrast. I also planned that the player can use the most furniture, but I ran out of time too fast. Maybe I add these feature in future updates.

@havana24: Thanks! Yes the character is slim sideways :D. This was my first human sprite and I've got to practice a little more.

@01101101: Thanks!

@43iscoding: Thanks!

@Raphy: Oh I see how the game can be interpreted. I didn't wanted to wage, just to clear, that there are other informations that should be stayed in our mind as well as the presented in the news. I'll think about better ways to show such images and try to be as neutral as possible :)

@Revenend Speed: I'll try to be more convincing next time ;). The next projects of this kind or the post jam version will be more refined.

@donaldducky: That's ok if it seems encrypted. See it as some kind of message, that there are unknown facts that has been revealed, besides the ones we already know.

@Evil Cult: I understand how the game can be seen. I'll try to polish the way up that the messages are presented.

@Snoother: I wanted to be as political correct as possible, so there are no real clues which I'm pointing my finger at. In fact I can't, because we all have something to do with the world affairs :). The "I can see know" is meant to be related to the news aspect (hidden news vs. the ones shown publically), not that the player is enlighted. Seeing is the first step. Thanks for the honest review.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

nice use of the theme - i would say it errs more on the negative side, but it is good to bring up these systematic problems through a game. next time, don't be afraid to use words where possible, it will help make your points more clear/better articulated (seeing some of the commenters confused).

a different song might help - the current one is this sort of goofy disco preset beat.

are you on twitter? i'm twitter.com/seagaia2

Satyre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

@Sean Hogan: Yeah, thanks for the suggestions. I wanted to use text at some parts, but the time was to short to full fledge the system and I only added the pictures.
I've added you on twitter. My name in twitter is satyre_stencyl

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

@Satyre Ah, I misinterpreted the ending then. Thank you for taking the time to respond to my review, it certainly made me understand the game better. I'd love to read a post-mortem of the game too, as it's one of the more thematically interesting games this LD.

Oh, and thank you for your review of my game :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

This guy lives a very interesting life lol. Funky!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

The graphics remind me of a series of animation called kevin spencer. I find it nice, I love that show. good job for a jam

Alexander says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

This is great, really connects mood and theme to make a really neat experience. Great job! I love the way the images fade in and out with changing alphas too.

Alexander says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

After reading some of the other comments I want to say that I think the piece is stronger because it doesn't words, it makes it feel universal and forces the player to do some work to decipher the message, which can trigger a stronger reaction/impact. Really great job!

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I understand that there's a hidden message but I don't really get it. Maybe if there were more interactions and plot then I would have stuck with it longer.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:42am

It took a little meandering to get what the aim was, but it's a cool game concept. Some of the news items you discover are a bit vague in what they're trying to convey, though.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

I think I found the hidden message! Nice graphics by the way...

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:52am

Nice short graphic adventure, great music! Is there an ending available? Keep working on it!

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Kinda liked it. Not really a game, more an "experience". I really liked the way the messages zoom and fade when you do an action, and I find that the music goes well with rest. Needs more polish though.

Raphy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:05am

Yay, you recognized the BoF music! Sorry to spam your wall again but I was wondering if someone was gonna recognize it :)

ninjascript says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:44pm

That music got a bit repetitive after a while but I like where you are going with the game. Some of the imagery was not too obvious but it all made sense in the end. Are you going to continue developing this?

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:06pm

not shure what its about. the sound loop could be a bit longer and more seamless

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Not sure I got the entire message, but interesting take on the theme!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Ooh, very very nice way to convey in game format such a strong message. Excellent!

I hope people really understand what this game is about, because it's a dead serious topic. "Living is easy with eyes closed", because that's the only way to live comfortably, when we are awake, we see everything that's wrong, how our lazy and luxurious life stile was achieved trough destruction and someone else's misery.

I don't say people should be totaly aware, they would never be happy that way.. But sacrificing a bit of that happiness that comes with ignorance, we achieve responsability, an unrresponsable happines and life style, costs the happines of the environment and other people, specially the future generations.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:35am

good game

Satyre says ...
Dec 6, 2014 @ 12:28am

Thanks everyone for your awesome feedback :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]