Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flipper

by leondryaso - Jam Entry

Did you ever wonder, what is on the other side?
I can only tell you that it is hardcore!

On Windows ONLY, you can try the "Windows (alt)" version, it may or may not work for you.

Download the "All Platforms version", unzip and doubleclick on start_win or start_linux.sh on Linux. Linux version should work on Mac, I don't know.

I have made C# clone and I plan to continue developing it, you can download it on web page.

Sorry for only three levels, we are slow :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#277Humor(Jam)2.67
#289Fun(Jam)3.20
#374Overall(Jam)3.24
#380Graphics(Jam)3.39
#472Theme(Jam)2.97
#536Mood(Jam)2.81
#656Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Could not run on my Mac. Jar Launch Failed!

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Could you please run it from terminal by java -jar name.jar and send me the output? I don't have any Mac, but it should work...

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Weird, could you please provide output of the game from terminal?

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42pm

On Linux I get "java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: URI is not hierarchical" from WorldLoader.java:108.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great music and art, but it suffers from the mundane gameplay. The platforming was painfully difficult. Overall still pretty nice.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Player takes a really long time to stop moving considering how small some of the platforms are. Nice job on the audio. Ran fine on windows.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Pretty cool, I liked it. Platforming was a little difficult at times but the idea was cool, the music was cool, it was pretty cool, Lol.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I can only describe the movement as "floaty", but the main menu sound is very cool and I really dig your portal transition effect.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Overall a solid attempt, though I think the major thing holding it back is the acceleration/deacceleration on your physics. It makes everything feel way too slippery and winds up being frustrating to play. Couple that with having to start all over after death and I don't feel like continuing to play it.

The portal transitions were freaking awesome though. And I think the music and sounds effects were pretty keen.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26pm

So nice graphics,good work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

So nice graphics, good work!!!

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56am

Unfortunately, it crashes on my Win 8.1 64bit. I ran it from the console and it gave me this output:
C:\Users\Vilém\Documents\LD>java -jar ld30_js.jar
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:18 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.util.GLUtil createDisplay
INFO: Display created
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:18 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.util.GLUtil initGL
INFO: Framebuffer init successful!

Starting up SoundSystem...
Initializing LWJGL OpenAL
(The LWJGL binding of OpenAL. For more information, see http://www.lwjgl.or
g)
OpenAL initialized.

Tue Aug 26 10:55:20 CEST 2014 INFO:Use Java PNG Loader = true
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture logo.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture blocks2.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture coins.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture portal.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture pl1.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture life_full.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture life_null.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture pl1.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture enemy1.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture enemy2.png
VIII 26, 2014 10:55:20 DOP. cz.dat.ld30.TextureManager loadTexture
INFO: Successfully loaded texture czech.png
Exception in thread "Game thread" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: URI is not hierarchical
at java.io.File.<init>(Unknown Source)
at cz.dat.ld30.world.WorldLoader.getNames(WorldLoader.java:108)
at cz.dat.ld30.world.WorldLoader.loadLevels(WorldLoader.java:51)
at cz.dat.ld30.screen.GameScreen.<init>(GameScreen.java:45)
at cz.dat.ld30.Game.run(Game.java:57)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

(Yes, I was there ;) Contact me on Twitter, if you want.)

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Very nice music and smooth gameplay only the friction on movement is way too much. Good work overall :)

leondryaso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

We have actually considered making the movement less "floaty", but we decided to keep it for the.... "hardcore" feeling (ok, that is bad excuse, we were just lazy, but it is completable with little bit of practise :D)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Maneuvering was difficult, but that was part of the fun. Great game and good luck to you!

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02am

Nice job, I liked the graphics and the sound, kinda retro :) The physic is a little annoying sometimes but it's a good game. Good work

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Looks nice, but the platforming is really hard, even harder than in my game :-p

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Runs fine using ./start.sh on OSX for me. I agree with the other comments that the character sliding around made the game a bit frustrating, but I enjoyed jumping on the green things :P I love the pixel art graphics :D

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice art and music, and some pretty fun levels :)

The controls felt a bit too floaty though, and it was especially frustrating to jump and land on small platforms when I'd often slide right off them again.

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice, really liked the platforming and the level design! Like people have said before, you should set your friction a little higher.

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice little platformer! I liked the idea of rebelling against the end of the game, and I died in all hummiliating situations because of it: the G of "Do not go", the last jump of the other E, and so on. Levels and jumping need more polishing, but it was nice to play!

sikosis says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:09am

I was unable to get the Web or Windows version to work. Checked I had Update 55 of Java installed too.

leondryaso says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:45am

@sikosis - what about console output? The "All platforms" version should work. But yes, there is problem with level loading on some computers, I don't know why. At least, you can try the C# clone from web

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]