Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shooting Planets

by SuperSquareBoy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys.

I'm pretty proud of the stuff I got into this game. I managed to write a little server to get online leaderboards working. It's not the best game in the game, but it is fully complete, and the online leaderboards make such a big difference to the overall experience. Hope you enjoy it, sorry it's a little bit too hard, I ran out of tweaking/balancing time.

This was a hard theme and took me a good while to actually come up with something realistic. It's basically just 2 planets fighting off space ships and other planets. You're probably thinking the space ships are pretty big compared to the planets, and I'll say to you that yeah, well the planets are also attached, moving and shooting :)

Phew, glad that is over. If there is one thing I've learnt from this jam, then it's never give up.

Basically my main skill is programming. I'm not an artist. So 10 hours before the end I was REALLY struggling with the art work for space backgrounds and layers for parallax scrolling. The art I did was shockingly bad, I literally packed up tools and said, I'm out.

I went to Asda to clear my head and get some food. On the way to Asda, I was like what am I doing... I'm a programmer so why don't I just use a solid plain colour and slap a particle system in to make it look like you're scrolling. I couldn't wait to get home to finish this beast. So moral of that story is to never give up.

Enjoy and a massive well done to everyone who took part and completed. We are all winners.

Cheers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

Rahazan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08am

Good work on the game, the leaderboards are a cool addition and give it more replay value. It's quite difficult, everything is very fast, but hey, many games in LD are.

The art is fine for a programmer, everything in my game is basically particles too :P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Haha, cheers man :D thanks for playing it. Yeah it's way too hard, it wasn't meant to be this hard when I imagined it :(

Just seen yours now, it's awesome! nice work.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

this is HARD xD

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:59am

That was pretty fun, I'm glad you finished the game!

I think the controls would feel a bit better if you didn't turn quite as fast, as I'd miss a lot of shots by turning too far when aiming. Other than that, the tank controls are unusual for a shooter, but add to the challenge in a fun way :)

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I'm not very good at this, but I can see why people would like it.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Cheers for the comments guys. I wish it wasn't this hard xD I was going for big numbers style of game play, but you're lucky if you get around 4,000 ;(

Yeah I agree with the turning speed comment. This is all great stuff for next jam. Need to make it more accessible!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:02am

It was fun! Its pretty tricky to avoid projectiles with tank controls, but being able to rotate around to avoid a shot at the last second made up for it a little bit. I got on the leaderboard, oh yeah!

Jamage says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Haha, it seems like we had similarly literal ideas for "connected worlds"
It's a bit weird to control and the player may be a bit too big in comparison to everything else, but it's a lot of fun! The leaderboard adds a great touch of competition :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]