Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds Inc.

by CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD - Jam Entry

You are cable operator at Connected Worlds Inc., the most powerful interstellar Internet provider. Your aim is to lay Internet cable across the alien planet populated by angry mushroom crabs!

Controls:

A \ D - walk
W \ S - aim
Enter - shoot
Spacebar - jump
ESC - restart


Engine: Libgdx
Language: Java
Platform: Cross platform, required java runtime environment(jre). (http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html)

# From Siberia with love.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Audio(Jam)3.82
#97Humor(Jam)3.35
#99Fun(Jam)3.59
#137Theme(Jam)3.68
#176Graphics(Jam)3.91
#199Mood(Jam)3.45
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#251Innovation(Jam)3.27
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Fun concept, great graphics, didn't like how I couldn't figure out how to restart the game once I died (had to restart the game from the console). Also being assaulted by mushroom wielding crab people and being pushed off the level before laying a single meter of cable on my first attempt was sort of disconcerting, but next attempt I made it much further :p

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Interesting idea and personal graphics. Enter as a shoot button is somehow confusing.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:44pm

This game had some of the most original enemies I've see thus far this LD! hahahaha! I enjoyed playing it. Good luck to you :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

A very quick paced action platformer, I enjoyed it! Unfortunately it seems to be largely luck if you dodge the crab attacks, so it's mostly a race to the finish.

I love the cable physics (is it getting stuck on stuff though?) and the concept of bringing Google Fibre to other WORLDS even, after seeing all the internet problems American Redditors have. You get extra points for that concept.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I really love the music, perfect for this kind of game.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Nice graphics and music. Would be nice to aim with a mouse instead of only having a few directions to shoot.

SupSuper says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Cool graphics. :)

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Cool graphics, well made music, great idea. I really enjoyed playing this ;D.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:23am

nice game, but what i disliked was the controls. i think a combination of keyboard (move) and mouse (aim and shoot) would improve this ALOT.
i liked the 8bit sounds :)

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

Would've loved to be able to use mouse controls for shooting :D

alhvi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:43am

Nice idea. As the others say, the controls were a little weird. I also would have preferred using the mouse to shoot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]