Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Her

by GreenyUk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Her is an short, musically interactive, story game looking at how people come together when in love and how we fall back out of it.

You task is simple; You control both characters at the same time and have to climb your way to the top. When your two worlds are in sync this is easy, but as you start distancing yourselves and your worlds start drifting it becomes much harder. I wanted to capture the feeling people working on a relationship when they're falling out of love.

Throughout the levels there are various pickups, each of which plays a random note. When the worlds are close together (the characters are in love) the notes compliment the music. As they start drifting the notes start to sour.

There is a running narrative throughout the game that fits with the music as well, so take your time and work your way to the top.

The music in the background was played by myself on acoustic guitar and simply recorded with my phone.

-Controls-
Move Left - A, Arrow Left
Move Right - D, Arrow Right
Jump - Space

I think this is my most proud LD entry to date. This is a totally new style of game for me and it turned out just how i imagined. If I had more time to focus on better level design that would have been nice, but hell; everyone running LD wishes for more time. :p

I hope you enjoy 'her' and let me know what you feel (if anything!) when playing. Again, had lots of fun during LD this time around and already looking forward to December. Congrats to all Devs that finished there games, and better luck next time to those that didn't! :)

-Dale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Theme4.52
#6Mood4.40
#15Audio4.07
#25Overall4.07
#81Graphics4.07
#133Fun3.63
#231Innovation3.59
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

Well designed, fun gameplay. The characters aren't synced properly but it doesn't hurt a lot.

robbd7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Very well done! Solid gameplay and great atmosphere.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

I like the concept, especially how you tied narrative and gameplay, but after two levels of mostly one dimensional platforming I gave up. I think you have something good here, but it started too slow to grab my attention

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

I think I lost on level 2/3

very polished, and strong theme.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

Excellent concept! Very appropriate to the theme. Great story, amazing graphics, good use of sound. I'm completely blown away. 5/5

skymarionsky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

Nice art. I like your style. enjoyed.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Whoa. A bit tricky at parts, but slowing down and thinking about it helped. Very nice!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Loooooove the concept. Great presentation with the gradient background and musical elements. I think the metaphor was strong enough without the narration though.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Her is a movie.

...

I liked this.

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

I suspect this is going to be one of the best takes I play on "controlling two characters at once" coming out of this compo. Great integration of theme and play. I'll be sharing this one around.

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really liked the tone, and the full experience of playing this game. I don't like floaty jumps, though.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

I really liked this. Great vibe. Amazed that the music, while I can tell it's being looped, is not annoying - maybe having the other sounds makes the difference. I liked the art too!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

Gotta say, pretty heavy topic for a game jam. In my experience, being lockstep doesn't always make for the best relationships.

Game is excellent. Nice mood and very good use of audio. I don't think I'll see a better use of the theme. Graphics also held the mood very well, and the difficulty curve kinda meshed with the theme. Great work.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Love the story and the soundtrack. Well done!

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Really great use of simplistic elements to make a very pleasing art style :)

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

the music is repetitive.

other than that its a cool game.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Looks great, very nice aesthetic to it.

Tonasz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Right in my feels! I love your approach to "controlling to characters at once". Adding a story (and desync mechanism) made this game very special.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

a lovable experience, very strong and a nice use of the theme.
Well done ! keep going

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06am

Very nice music (shame it doesn't loop properly) Graphics are elegant, everything has great mood. Begining for me is little slow but other than that neat entry!

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12pm

relaxing and nice game

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

The gradually growing disconnect was brilliant.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Really really nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]