Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Life (and your choices)

by anserran - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
- keys (move through choices)
- a: use "Clairvoyance" item
- s: use "See Demons" item

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#153Innovation3.75
#346Humor2.69
#552Graphics3.11
#555Overall3.21
#614Audio2.61
#707Mood2.81
#813Theme2.86
#825Fun2.73

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Cool game. I like the graphics. I didn't quite understand how the "see evil spirits" thing helped me, as most of the time I couldn't avoid whatever it was he was doing.

Great concept and I'd like to see more from this.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Good idea for a game, but seeing the evil spirits is pretty pointless if you can't avoid it anyway

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

The game got really laggy towards the end, framerate dropped to about one or two. Possibly something to do with the GWT build?

mkochmin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Looks good! It would be great to see some finished scenario for this engine

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

@tigerbyte when there is an evil spirit it's invert the controls, up / down inverted.
Nice game like it, loved your interpretation of the theme, and love/money/health/events make me laugh.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:22pm

@manabreak Yep, specially bad in Firefox. Didn't have time to fix it. Jar is OK, though.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Hi. Interesting idea, fun gameplay. Was spoilt a bit on Chrome/W8 machine by slowness - I expect that is down to Chrome rather than your game.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Awesome idea! You choose the paths! Check out the updated version of my game, the bugs spoilt it so now now its fixed.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18pm

cool game

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Interresting game about choices in life. It gets a little boring after some minutes of play :\

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08pm

That was one of more original entries, but got somewhat boring after a life. Also, I don't like how I don't have a definite goal in life, apparently. :<

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I really enjoyed this entry. It is a great idea. You choose the path throught your life, you take decisions... It's amazing.

uprightpath says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I played, and honestly, I ended up stuck in a situation where all I could get was "Go to Gym" or "Do Drugs", or "Find Lover" or "Call Ex", and it repeated for several looking iterations. I broke out of it, but it'd be nice if there were an extra option, like a neutral path at times.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Nice game, interesting idea!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

hoow good is the visual interpretation of th life. slow in my tablet after 20-25 moves

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very interesting take on the theme. I couldn't quite make out how the demon mechanic worked; after I used it once it seems like I couldn't use it again..

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice concept! I would like to see something more around it, but it is a good starting point. Keep at it!

Kojan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:01pm

It was fun playing this game ! Good idea ! I died a bit stupidly, with an accidental suicide...But whatever
Great job

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:08pm

A piece of art. Interesting how you show the possible life paths, and how they can lead to pointless death. I like the gameplay, and love the message. Well done!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Cool! The gameplay is very interesting. Took me a while to not die before my 18s hahahah... my best was live 90 years. Good graphics and nice concept about choices ;)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Great idea. The game is pretty good, and I liked the sound effects, but it gets a little repetitive after awhile. Maybe you could add more options, and have them affect the player's options in the future? Either than that good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]