Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Arched Dimension

by Tanser - Jam Entry

Story: Using the knowledge preserved by generations, a young girl navigates over a strange twisted dimension. The bizarre realm, once controlled by vigorous civilization, is now busted in thousand pieces. Formed inside it are only ruins held by unfamiliar powers. Fluxed, constantly altering gateways drift over the wreckage of structures. Countless bonds are created, linking distant worlds and dimensions.

Controls: WASD or arrow keys for movement, SPACE - jump, down and SPACE - jump down, left mouse button - attack, E for interaction, X or ESC for skip.

Created by:
Petar Dimitrov - Art
Miroslav Dimitrov - Programming

!! Written in Java, the game requests latest version of Java. In addition the game needs OpenGL. If you experience Black/White or Red Screen, then you should update your OpenGL driver.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#88Graphics(Jam)4.21
#163Mood(Jam)3.55
#381Audio(Jam)3.06
#415Theme(Jam)3.09
#473Overall(Jam)3.09
#568Humor(Jam)1.80
#642Fun(Jam)2.52
#668Innovation(Jam)2.37

Comments

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

The art is just wonderful. Love it. The gameplay was a little boring though and the level design seems uninspired? I like the theme/art a lot though, good stuff!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

The environment is fantastic. The control of the character is smooth too as a platformer. However, the character's animation is a bit too rigid, including the transitions between idle, movement, and attack. Also the hit effect can be more dramatic :) Good job anyway!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

I have to agree with everything nikki93 said. The art was GREAT, but the game design was dull. The fact that the portals forced you to replay the same part over and over again was bad design, and forcing the player to start the game over if they miss one jump is just brutal and boring.

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

Man, that is one pretty game. The farther I got in the game, the longer I had to fall before being game dead. lol. It was fun.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59am

@porpglezomp
Love it that you like the environment, thank you! Well it actually should return you at the main portal that you discover in the middle, but it was a bit buggy... Thank you for pointing it out. :)

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

The enviroment is great, very atmospheric!

c023-dev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50am

Good mood! I liked the colors and shapes with the smooth audio. Animations were a bit weak compared to the rest though.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55am

I wasn't able to go through the main portal. It just said "Press E to enter" and that's all.
Graphics and atmosphere are great! But gameplay itself could be more interesting.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

@CoolIron
Ye, the end screen was not working. Got it now, thanks.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Art and mood are pretty neat, but I don't feel the theme. Going through those portals just feels like beeing teleported to another place in the same world to me.

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Very nice atmosphere, very eerie. The animations could need some polishing. Overall good job though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I really like your game! One can really see that you put a lot effort into it!

The main character looks a bit out of place but that is kinda the purpose I guess?

If you keep working on it add some sounds that would help a great deal to make it even more fun! Keep making games!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

You know what they say...the bigger the sword the better the game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

It just astonishing! Hard to believe that so awesome game was created for that short time.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Last quick update guys as some paths for the images in the game were wrong.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

pros: really like the graphics and choice of music
cons: controls feels quite jerky. Annoying the attack automatically happens to the right

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14pm

@parahunter

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Ooops comment fail...
@parahunter - the attack happens to the side that you have pointed the mouse at...

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I loved the Graphics, very talented. ^^

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Well, that was quick. Good immersion, but not so much of gameplay.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Awesome graphisms!
The fact that the char bugs a bit when we finish the jump breaks a bit the immersion :/

Good job anyway ;)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35am

Love the artwork :3

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Absolutely agree with nikki93. Also might need some sound effects?

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

Pretty nice. The gameplay seems a bit bland, though.

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

Nice art, but the gameplay is poor.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Art is beautiful and the sound is atmospheric. Animation is solid, but limited - our heroine's sword swing is a little circular. =) Jumping is predictable, which is great - was able to move with confidence. Thought the enemies were nicely enigmatic, but they (and your attacks) could REALLY have done with some sound effects. Points for a female lead in the game! Great work for three days!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great art and nice background music. Game is a bit boring, running around and nothing happens (except being attacked).

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Grat art! I really like girls with big swords!

plash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice work on the title screen. The aesthetic here is great. I was surprised to see the hanging crystals effected by the player character -- neat! The music is just above the barrier for acceptance for me. I usually raise a fuss about repetition, but this piece is only missing some variety.

The platforming works fairly well, though I fell into the void by jumping too far a handful of times. I think there needs to be more variety in the platforms to settle the mood; maybe just taller base platforms. The goal wasn't very inspired, and enemies were practically worthless. My summary judgement would be: great mood, not enough feedback, and unchallenging gameplay.

Nitpicks:

- The text is much too small (especially on a 1920x1080 display).
- Feedback is nonexistent. The only audio I'm hearing is the music -- the environment is aurally empty. Effects for player character jump/attack/step would add a lot, not to mention damage-taken effects for the enemies.
- Some platforms below the player character were not visible due to the screen shifting with the player as the player jumped.

Resonious says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

It feels a bit choppy, but I imagine if you had more time, it would look fantastic. Definitely nice job on the art, despite the strange attack animation!

lkr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Love the art, mood and music :)
Feels like the nice beginning of a great game, given more time!
I'm impressed about what you got done during the jam.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I just see a red screen. I have the latest versions of Java and Radeon HD graphics drivers (Windows 7 64bit). Unrated.

KEFIR says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

I can forgive everything to this game just because of this stunning graphics! Really beautiful. Very deep mood in this one.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:36am

Powerful graphics!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:06am

I like graphics, music and game concept. I can imagine better animations but I know that it is not easy (during only 72 hours for everything). It is just constructive criticism. :) Good job!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The art was really good but the animation wasn't. The atmosphere felt great, though, and I thought the music fit really well. As for gameplay, I wish the three worlds with the pieces weren't exactly the same, and I needed to look at this page to figure out how to use the sword.

Overall I enjoyed the game though, especially the atmosphere.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:18pm

The graphics and the mood are very cool. This is disturbing that the character is looking at the player and some animations are strange.

@iSamurai +1

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:47pm

+ music
+ graphics
- controls

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]