Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mediator

by luismb55 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play the role of a mediator in a conflict where innocents lives are being lost.

Objective:
- Block the aggressions of both parties in order to make the negotiations succeed before it's too late.

Controls:
W,A,S,D or Arrow keys to move the mediator on the conflict zone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#515Audio2.77
#534Mood3.00
#575Overall3.19
#600Theme3.20
#620Innovation3.08
#699Fun2.88
#747Graphics2.81
#847Humor1.88
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12am

Like the idea but found it really difficult to stop the bullets - is it beatable or am I just that rubbish :) I failed miserably and now I must live with the lives of an entire nation on my conscience.

Good effort

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55am

Thanks for trying it out! The difficulty is high and demands some skill (although nothing compared with real-life task) but I can assure that mediation is possible.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

The second time I stopped the bullets, it is doable IMHO, good game!

Inudenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

One of my favorites! Simple and beautiful

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I look this take on the theme :D Nice little DontKillThemUp :P

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Really good idea + execution. Bit difficult though, quickly becomes overwhelming.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Haha, nice game! 300+ casualties as a result of only protecting green side

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Cool metaphor, works great.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Harsh message, but probably a good lesson for the kids. A little disturbing that I couldn't bring peace to the world.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

The concept is clear but it's a very hard game :-S Good job.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39pm

pretty interesting idea. gameplay is a little bit on the dull side though.

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Good use of the theme. Pretty challenging as well. Good work!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

First, I though it was Palestine vs Israel..
Seriously, a bit difficult but fun !

seagaia says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11pm

interesting...maybe it's better to not intervene at alla nd let things play out , vs extend it for a long period of time.

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

397 innocents died :( but peace was achieved :)
Interesting take on the theme. I enjoyed it, good job!

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice and compact game! The movement didn't feel completely right but very close to it I think. I especially like that the task got harder the closer both sides got to the middle, increasing the difficulty as you get closer to your goal. Good entry!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Very hard, but very fun. I would recommend this game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]