Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Matters of Perspective

by nesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hit E to swap between the worlds of 2D sidescroller and FPS to work your way through a mind-bending maze. (And click to hit buttons, but that's made a little obvious in-game :p)

In-game notes have overtones of the connections felt in relationships, treating each person as their own world, with their own perspectives and views that enable positive connections with each other.

Troubleshooting:

Some issues are known with Unity3D's webplayer, and might affect all entries using the webplayer. If it locks up your browser, wait a little and it should unlock. If it doesn't start playing right after loading, try resizing the browser window.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#6Innovation4.46
#29Overall4.05
#34Theme4.12
#83Fun3.78
#272Mood3.33
#400Humor2.57
#478Graphics3.20
#950Audio1.67

Comments

hinerz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:53am

Wow! This is sort of similar to the idea I had (but decided it was too difficult to implement) Great job on the level design! Def. reminds me of portal, but in a good way. Thank you for the arrows, they definitely help.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:09am

Awesome!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:59am

This is pretty cool! I don't think it's confusing, it was pretty easy to get used to it. I'm just wondering how to make it more difficult and to require more thinking rather than just "I'm stuck, I should hit 'e' "

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:11am

Nice work! The design is very sleek, and the mechanics are smooth. Great job!

Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:14am

This was really neat! I love that you are using change in perspective as a puzzle mechanic, that just tickles my brain-fuzz. I know this may be a difficult thing to ask, but I would love it if the puzzles were designed in a way that could make the player think very hard about whether or not to hit 'e' (e.g. negative consequence for hitting 'e' at the wrong place)

nesis says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:31am

Thanks for checking out the prototype guys! It's great to know you like it. As for specific responses...

@hinerz: I like arrows for this. Arrows are go! :)

@AkirAssasin: Thanks!

@vividhelix: Good point there. I'm hoping to make it more challenging, needing to hit E at different heights rather than being spoonfed just one height you can hit E at. Where one character can't cross some gap, the other should be able to assist.

@BlueSama: Thanks for the compliment, too!

@auto_suggestion: Uncannily, I removed something that I thought was too punishing for an intro level - burning rectangular prisms that kill you on touch. My plan is to intro them early on after the basic mechanics are explained in a safety net environment.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:22am

Wow! Absolutely fantastic concept, and really impressive implementation. Best one I've seen on here so far!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Wow! Fantastic level! I'm really enjoy read your messages on the walls. Thank's for good quest!

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

Nice game :)
The 2nd level took me about 10 to 15 minutes. I must be tired...
I did like it enough to keep playing, so that's a good thing. The design is very sleek, I liked the writing on the walls and the first moment I hit 'E' I was definitely suprised! Well Done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

Really well done. I love the feel and look of the game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

Norgesnerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

Best one so far :D

Any chance I could get a hint on the second easter egg? :3

nesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

Thanks for checking out my game guys!

@wolfmother: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

@BloodJohn: Thanks as well - I wasn't sure if the messages would be interesting or not, so it's good to hear they were a part you liked :)

@sez: Thanks for playing it. I'm glad the second level was a bit challenging, I was hoping to make one level at least a little mind-bending! :)

@Jupiter_Hadley: Thanks for including my game Jupi! I have no idea how you play so many games. Keep up the good work!

@Norgesnerd: Thanks for playing! The second easter egg needs you to climb the staircase fully, then go into sidescroller mode to drop down to the easter egg's platform, then return to first person to pick it up :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Awesome game, perfect!

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

Great level design (I bet thinking in 3D/2D was no easy task)! The way you teach the player how to play is fantastic. A couple of things though: the light on the walls is too strong if you place yourself next to them, and music would have been nice :)

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Very cool! The take on the theme is definitely quite unique and also works really well in terms of gameplay. The mouse sensitivity was really low, and it could have used some music to make it even better, but definitely an impressive entry!

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Umm.... I think I found a shortcut in level 2.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really well done. Nice gameplay. Love theme implementation.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Wow.. This is first time when i played something like this ! Good job!

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Well done on the game. It was a lot of fun to play. The only time the mechanic confused me we right at the start when I didn't know what way was down in 2D mode. Good job on that.

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10am

Excellent! Fun to play and innovative.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16am

Haha, great one. I knew someone will make the 2D/3D switch game. =)

Norgesnerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Did you use some tool to place all the cubes? Because holy shizzle there were many of 'em O_o

Also, do you mind if I use the game sources to make a fourth (and maybe fifth) stage?

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

splendid art style, and it loaded nice and fast on the web browser (which is always a great sign of optimization, good job on that!)
I loved the switch in perspective idea, really well thought out level design, and a great tutorial to get you in to the game quickly.

Well done!

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I love this concept. Changing from 2D to 3D is not a new concept but the gravity chane makes it more interesting than other titles that use this mechanic.

It would've really benefitted from some sounds but other than that, I'm impressed.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

This was amazing! great job on the level design and the mechanic.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very nice!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Pretty cool game, common mechanic but done in a fairly cool way. A bit of a higher mouse sensitivity would have been nice.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I would love to see more of this. If you're making more is there a way to follow developements?

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Amazing! Really fun & the puzzles really made you think about the envrionment in many different ways. super awesome. Wish the mouse look speed was faster & would love for some weird ambient music, but overall really slick game. :D

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Interesting take on the theme. The controls were quite slick, although I would've hoped for a bit faster mouse movement. Puzzles were quite self explanatory but it was fun to play with the mechanic you had there.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Really great and awesome game... Superb gameplay. I'll definitely come back to play longer tonight.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Great concept, has a lot of potential!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53am

Amazing game and very good level design :D

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01pm

@unnamed1334, hypp, Druid, royvanrijn, mlabarca, dickpoelen, goosetickler, Ogniok:

I'm glad you all liked my game, thanks for playing it!

@Agecaf:

You're sure right, thinking in 2D / 3D is a challenge. I tried working out levels on paper, but it doesn't always make sense for this kind of level design. So in the end I resorted to placing blocks in Unity and manually testing levels to make sure they work as intended (with some leeway for daring shortcuts).

@AkirAssasin:

:) Hey this is your second comment - does that mean you came back to play again? And nice find! There's actually quite a few shortcuts in this game. Level 3 in particular. The level 2 one I'm thinking of patching since it really cuts out the bulk of the level. But I do like the way you can solve it more than one way...

@tmpxyz:

Thanks! Happy to fulfil that expectation :p

@Norgesnerd:

For placing the cubes, I placed one then kept hittin Ctrl+D to duplicate it. For walls and floors, I'd place a line of cubes, select them all, then duplicate it that way... it still took several hours to make one level, though!

I'm thinking of developing this game further to sell, but feel free to tinker with my source - and let me know if you make anything, I'd love to see!

@liquidminduk:

I'm frankly surprised how quickly the game (and levels with 1000+ cubes!) loads. I was expecting to need to crunch down the size of all my textures to get the game's size down... but for some reason, that wasn't so. Lucky me! Seems the default Unity assets are very web-friendly.

@Donar:

Thanks for playing! I agree sounds would've been nice... as is usually the Ludum Dare story, I ran out of time :(

@HoopsnakeGames:

I agree about the mouse sensitivity being too low. It's kind of a case of "works on my computer" - I keep forgetting my mouse sensitivity is insanely high compared to most. Later versions will have a way to tweak that, for sure.

@BoaHeck_ArtGent:

Sure thing - for now, my Twitter account @llnesisll will be the only place I'm likely to post updates.

@radmars:

I'm glad you liked my game! I agree about both the need for music and higher (or customisable) mouse sensitivity - the sensitivity I can fix, my lack of skill making music, not really :p Weird ambient stuff would be cool though! It'd be nice to give change it a bit between sidescroll and FPS perspectives, too.

@Rocketship:

I agree about mouse sensitivity needing to be higher, later versions should have a way to tweak that (pause -> sensitivity slider). Thanks for playing!

@JM-DG:

Thanks for checking out my game! :D I'll be giving yours a go soon, too! (And anyone else's who's commented here, cuz hey... why not? You all played mine, after all.)

booyaa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03pm

really nice idea, love the whole switching from 2d to 3d! thanks creating the game!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Easily the nicest game concept and mechanic I've seen so far. Very, very impressive, especially for a compo entry!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Very good for 48 hours. I love 3d puzzles and this one is great! It needs polish with some "fancy indie" artstyle plus new levels and is ready for steam! :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:08pm

one of the best interpretations of theme I have seen this Ludum Dare. Well done sir! add some audio and score a job at valve :D

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

It's an amusing concept... I fell out of the second level though and had to reload the page.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

2d/3d combinaison is a good idea - something new. well done ++

kblaney says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

Great design. It would be awesome to play a fully fleshed out version of this with a few more levels and perhaps an extra mechanic or two to make some really great puzzles.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:47am

The graphics are awesome. That's a really cool idea. Great job.

mactinite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Really cool mechanics. I could see this going much deeper. I did get stuck on the second level, also was able to make myself fall out of the level forcing me to restart.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

Whoah! It was really intersting experience for me!
Idea of connected world is really awesome! Mind bending sometimes =)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Really amazing concept, and great level design too! One of the best games I've seen so far!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:29am

That's a brilliant gameplay idea - seems so obvious in retrospect, but no-one managed to think of it until just now! Bravo, super impressed.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

This game is great, and I commend anyone who can make a Unity game that doesn't have that default "Unity look".

One problem, however, is that the mouse sensitivity was far too low. It was fine once I turned my mouse up to 1500 DPI, but most people don't have adjustable DPI mice.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

Going through the three levels got me hooked till the end. Thinking in both two and three dimensions and get levels of such quality is awesome. Perhaps too easy to play, but if levels were more difficult, other people would have complained.Good start for a longer game!

hexagore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

This is superb. Level 2 took me ages though!

Fera says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

thats really great! reminds me on portal and antichamber

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I wrote this on my list of innovative games because the mechanic is really original (at least I haven't seen it before) You can polish the graphics and sound, you have the skills for level design. Release it and it will sell a lot :)

dylanigan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Really liked the concept, GJ

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I like the idea, it's tough for me!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Brilliant! Had me gripped. It's really impressive how you've linked the 2D & 3D worlds. Really good puzzles. I hope there's more after the compo.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Loved this game. I can't put it into words on how great it really was. Haven't played it? DO IT NOW.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Superb idea!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:43am

Cool concept, well implemented although I'd add more clear indication of what's a wall and what isn't when in 2D. Overall really nice, especially for a compo entry!

Meedoc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:59am

Brilliant!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Really fun puzzles and intriguing concept. I had a lot of fun searching for the easter eggs. Good job.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:35pm

A bit rough around the edges, but I love the concept! The lava pit felt a bit arbitrary when I died in 2D as I couldn't see it (it kind of felt like it shouldn't apply in the same way or something - or maybe it should be visible in 2D as well.) But I think it's a great idea that's worth exploring further!

Split82 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Great idea! Had fun playing this :) Thanks!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:59pm

A cool idea, but needs a lot more polish.

Mouselook speed is very, very low, and the perspective switching could be faster (make have it slow the first time to showcase the transition, then speed up all subsequent switches?).

Also, maybe I'm just slow, but I got stuck on the second level =/
I managed to get through the first barrier that closes when you hit the switch, but it felt like a glitch and I wasn't supposed to go straight through it (which I did). On the upside, I found an easter egg!

The tutorial messages on the walls were a nice touch. They're a lot like the ones in my first LD game actually (for LD 27), although I think mine weren't as well done.

Also, audio! Don't forget it!

Ditto says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

This was interesting! Very cool! :D

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Super great theme use and excellent execution!

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:28pm

I like the idea and the puzzles were nice. Sometimes it was a bit confusing to though.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:04am

A really really really good entry :)

The art has a very aseptic aesthetic but ... that's really really excellent mood. It also hints that you focused on game mechanics and level design, which is why the game is so fun to actually play too!

You could imagine a full game based on the mechanic but with more machines, cogs, rolling balls etc. Could definitely feel very portal-ish :)

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:27am

Really nice idea and the switch between the two modes was well done (easy to understand what happened). My only issue was that there was no mouse invert y. :)

Simon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:56am

Great puzzle game. Well done :)

Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great game, I love the use of writing on the walls as a tutorial. I got stuck on the 2nd level, but thought it was really fun.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Nice portal/fez-ish mashup, default mouselook settings felt really sluggish though.

MikePad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

This was a pretty cool game, I did get stuck in a few spots (physics?) but overall I can see this being developed further into a really cool puzzle platformer. Well done!

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Really nice work with the shifting mechanic! I think you had some pretty difficult spatial puzzles that might need a lot of extra feedback to convey the current game state. But I think there's a lot of fun puzzley stuff you can do with this. I loved the drawn style of the UI. Some audio work will really polish this right up! Nice job!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice level design man! Thanks for checking out my game, too.

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:11am

I really enjoyed this game. It was an interesting mechanic, that I could see expanded.

I recorded my playthrough of the game, and it will go up on my channel on September 8th, http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

plash says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:15am

Ooh, neat. I love the secret area in the third level. This mechanic could be used to great effect.

Only a few criticisms here:

1. The transition between perspectives takes a smidgen too long.

2. Mouse sensitivity is *extremely* low.

3. The player character light is too intense. Since most perspective changes occur right next to a surface, the emittance is unsettling.

Completion: three levels and three easter eggs!

Nitpicks:

- The game window does not release the mouse in the 3D perspective when the user has switched to a different window in Linux. I have not tested this on Windows.

- The Linux archive does not retain the executable bit for the game binary. Having seen this for multiple Unity games, I suspect the blame is fully on Unity. It is a minor inconvenience.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great work! Very original, love the gameplay mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]