Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Line Crossing - Lissar - Jam Entry

Afra finds herself in a very mysterious place after what she thought was a simple train ride to a place she dreaded. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Who knows! ~Mysterious Train Adventure~ TEN ENDINGS!

Built with blood, sweat, tears, Construct 2, during a 9 hour power outage, with the wrench.

Status: Easily fixed the weird sliding you get if you press both left and right at once. Fixed more dialogue box freezing. Made Afra leave room automatically after opening scene as she was intended to do. Only the itch.io version has been updated, the rest I will get to tomorrow (if you really want a downloadable version!)

View Lissar's journal. | View all entries by Lissar

Ratings

Coolness89%
#6Mood(Jam)4.32
#14Graphics(Jam)4.60
#59Overall(Jam)3.87
#62Theme(Jam)3.86
#133Humor(Jam)3.21
#218Audio(Jam)3.41
#255Innovation(Jam)3.25
#322Fun(Jam)3.13

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

I really liked the art style here. The way everything gradually unraveled, it was really nice to look at while you investigated all the rooms.

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28am

Super, super awesome. So beautifully done, such atmosphere. Such game jame. wow.
5 stars.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

Really like the art, and the storyline was pretty interesting. Interesting take on the theme.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

Very interesting style!

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30am

Very cool graphics. It's exciting to enter those train carriages when you know each one has something wildly different and weird. The font was a little difficult to read.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Very beautiful game with a great atmosphere, I did find it hard to read the text with the current font though.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37am

I don't quite know what to make of all that, but it looked beautiful.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Fantastic world you have created. I very much liked the winged ones.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53am

Wow - beautiful art and very intriguing story. I'm not entirely sure I'm at the end - I passed the rats and there's a black screen, half filled with text? I see no way to continue. Perhaps I'm missing a piece of the story. (One small critique is that the font is difficult to read... almost glyph-like).

Anyway, very impressed with the artistry that went into what I've seen. I can see the effort and creativity that went into this. Thank you for sharing it!

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43am

I really liked the art. After playing, I immediately whipped out paint.net and started doing little animated sprites. Really awesome and atmospheric.

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47am

Fantastic art style and dreamlike experience, I love it.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

Great dreamy atmosphere and graphics. Great job! :)

vinhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47am

Really cool art style. You definitely have talent as a pixel artist, I liked the setting and dialogue. Just to point out one small glitch, when you press both arrow keys you can break the animation and glide across he floor for a bit. It was very minor just thought I'd point it out, I don't know anything about using Construct 2 so maybe that's difficult to remedy.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57am

Vinhuman - Yes, that was something I noticed and had planned to look into but it got lost in the shuffle of a million other things I had to attend to. Perhaps I'll look into it in a few days when I try to make my updated non-LD build!

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21am

Damn - I'm dumbstruck! This a phenomenal entry.

So much to praise. To start, it's a brilliant interpretation of the theme that develops and escalates fantastically. Art couldn't be better - really really adore the character design for most everyone (especially the protagonist). Great mood and a rock solid build. Good use of sound.

If I can offer any constructive criticism, it's that the typeface could have been more legible. Cool from a style point of view, but not the most easy to read, which in a game like this, should be the first priority. But this is just a small thing, overall this is big 5 stars from my side!

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Nice Job xD

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

this game looked really nice, but there isn't that much gameplay. That does not at all mean that it's bad tho! I loved it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36pm

The graphics are great the mood is great. I think I missed one of the items but it still let me through. I loved the idea of the train connecting worlds inside itself when trains usually connect places outside of themselves. That little paragraph at the end was really nice and the constant train noise constantly reminds you that you are still on a train even if you are looking at magnificent birds in cages or a tall library.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Art style is super nice, congrats!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Such a weird place. Really dream like. So nice to look at!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Surreal and very very classy. Wonderful imagination.

desu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Very awesome art and feel. Loved the surreal atmosphere.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Very pretty game, I like the surreal world inside the train.

I first completed the game by getting the mask, then talked to the fire guy and someone in library. On second playthrough I talked to library person first, then the fire guy and then the feather guy, but I didn't seem to get any items when I talked to folks after that and game didn't proceed anywhere, bug?

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Amazing art, atmosphere and imagination! I would certainly plain a full-length adventure game set on that crazy train. Gameplay-wise, I wish there was more player agency though... puzzles maybe? But of course I understand the time constraints very well. :)

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37pm

HellBlazer - Yeah, I had planned on having dialogue choices and that would determine what items you get for the endings, unfortunately I ended up having to cut that as I lacked time!

AdventureIslands - I've heard about this bug, but haven't been able to reproduce it myself! That and people ending up with a blank ending. Not sure what's up with it, I'll have to continue looking into it.

Cad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09am

I like this game quite a lot, its art style definitely brought things together. However, not that it's a necessity, the game wasn't TOO involved with the theme in my honest opinion.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49am

What a pleasantly whimsical game :)

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52am

fantastic atmosphere.

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00am

The graphics where very nice and well done. Thank you for your game.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12am

WOW it looks great and the atmosphere was wonderful. I'm not sure if I fully understand the story though maybe because the font is really hard to read for me.

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:27am

Great art concept

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09am

That was quite well done. Really cool characters. Great job.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22am

Really pretty and had a great mood.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:39am

Haven't seen surrealism pulled off this well in a videogame since Kentucky Route Zero. Congrats on making a fantastic game!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12am

This was pretty mind blowing. A really interesting creative work! The sound design was superb as well.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:13am

LaFleur - Thank you! I absolutely ADORE Kentucky Route Zero. That's the best praise I've gotten this whole jam.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:35am

The art was really fantastic, and did a lot to set the mood. I kind of felt like my choices were more or less randomly made because I could either talk to someone or not, and the choice didn't seem to have an effect until the game was already over. Also the font was a little tough to read at times. Overall, pretty cool, though!

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59am

I really loved this game; it reminded me a little of a Miyazaki film.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Beautiful world to explore!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Love the style and really well done mood. The character design works nicely

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Really interesting world that introduces surreal pieces in a good pace. It's a bit unfortunate that you can't swap items when your inventory is full and because of that there isn't much choice in the first playthrough. But it's understandable and next playthroughs fix that problem. :)

Cell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Fantastic work. I thoroughly enjoyed everything

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Fantastic work, I really loved the style.

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Very nice art style, sound and mood!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

I think I got the musician ending. That was really cool :) (and kinda freaky)

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

The art and writing are excellent. The creatures are very appealing.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Amazing art! Great job :)

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Probably my favorite entry this Ludum Dare. While it brings nothing new gameplay-wise, the art is beyond beautiful, on an emotional, more-than-aesthetic level. It feels like it should be a book. I want to explore this world. I want to meet its inhabitants. I want more! Bravo.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

A really nice game, I love the aesthetics, graphic and the art style, but as an audio guy I missed more soundtrack, but this game is really 5 stars!

villhest says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Just... Awesome....

igoramendola says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

The concept is pretty cool! Awesome art/animations and the sounds are good. Also, the idea of having many different endings is really nice ;)

alvivar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:08am

enjoyable, good mood.

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I'll be honest, I have no idea what I was doing. I just kept going left, interacting with anything I could, until the game said it was over. It looks pretty, but the writing felt like it was trying to be smart and... exoteric? but in the end it was just confusing and nonsensical.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I'm pretty much stunned. I've never wanted a game jam adventure to keep going SO BADLY. This was fantastic! Thank you!

gladers says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:56am

Game looks great, looking forward to seeing more of this game :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:38am

I dig all the monster/alien things, they are well done!

Simplexcity says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:43am

what a beautiful art style.
very interesting and indeed surreal

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Really like the art style and the multiple endings. Great dialogue :)

pansapiens says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

So very very freaky. Love it (and just now I re-read and see there are ten endings .. better play again :) ).

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice artwork, it's a little bit difficult to read though. I think I've missed some important bits because of that. Overall nice style and artwork. Great job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Very beautifull little game. It reminded me a lot of K. Miyazawa's tale, Milky Way Railroad. Great entry.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:46am

Phenomenal pixel art and mood. The game felt short, but I see where your time went/ I also only got 1 of the endings. the one where I got all the items.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Amazing art! Really enjoyed how it looked, and it really contributes to the mood of the overall game. The fact you guys got multiple endings to be achieved in a variety of ways is really fun, and adds to the replayability. Great work!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:04am

the visuals were really really nice, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]