Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WorldShifter

by PunyOne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A skill-based not-endless-runner about effort of an individual.

The web version is highly recommended, the OSX and Linux ones were not tested as I don't have where to do it :(.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#514Theme3.32
#582Mood2.96
#607Graphics3.03
#679Humor2.15
#848Audio2.11
#880Overall2.88
#927Fun2.61
#969Innovation2.55

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

I liked the presentation and the story setting.
Gameplay was a bit frustrating. Probably not because it was not well done but by my low jump predicting skills.

Schick. :)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18am

The graphics style is charming :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50am

Very interesting concept and moody stylisation.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

tap tap tap :) love this input method

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Like the nice atmo. A bit hard for me.

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Human movement is funny! )) good idea and grafics. nice game!

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I like the interpretation of the theme! Nice mood too! After the second checkpoint, it got too hard for me.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Cool graphics, hard as nails though. :) Good thing there's checkpoints. Nice job!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01am

I'm very impressed with the gameplay depth you were able to create with just one button. great work!

PunyOne says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04am

Thanks for the comments guys - I see that the difficulty is a problem, which surprises me as I usually suck at my games and this one was quite easy for me. For the further players a question: Do you think that the game is too hard for LD48 game or would you feel that it's too hard even if it were on an online portal?

PunyOne says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06am

Plus a bonus question, who managed to go through the whole thing? (I award you a virtual cookie for the effort :) )

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

Difficulty isn't that bad. Died 28 times total, mostly while gauging jump distances and whatnot. Checkpoint system makes deaths pretty trivial anyway.

Art style is really interesting. Sprite is digitized, floor looks like leather(?)... The bland particle columns feel a bit weird mixed in there, but somehow it all works out.

Fun game. Nice work!

Sascha says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Great idea! Pretty fun when you get used to the jump timing a bit. I like the concept of limiting the input to make the game about quick reactions. Towards the end it felt a bit too punishing, especially when you landed just before the border of the two worlds and had no time to re-jump again.

Great overall entry!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:58pm

That was very strange expirience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]