Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Smuggler

by DvigubaiPiktas - Jam Entry

Have you ever imagined yourself as a smuggler? People from The City of Desert need your help! Help them prepare for the uprising against the dictator. Led by leutenant Lado you'll meet face to face with the fearsome army of the well guarded wall between two worlds.
Be fast, brave an accurate. Become the ultimate smuggler and save the deserted city!


W, A, S and D to walk.
Mouse to aim
Left mouse button to shoot
Hold right mouse button to reload 1 bullet of revolver
Space to talk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#109Humor(Jam)3.29
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#515Overall(Jam)3.02
#559Audio(Jam)2.41
#647Theme(Jam)2.35
#652Graphics(Jam)2.64
#665Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

josh1billion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45am

I'm having some trouble running it. Double-clicking RobotSmuggler.jar didn't do anything. :/

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

Have you unzipped it first? The jar file needs to be in the same folder as all the images

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

The graphics are nice and the music was really well done. The dialogue at the end was pretty funny, I don't want to give it away...lol I enjoyed it, nicely done.

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

I liked the game's humor.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

I think its actually pretty good. Perfect mix between difficulty and fairness

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

Quite good and fun overall, it blends really nicely.

togie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

didnt think it was going to be that fun lol

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

Is not bad at all,

rjhunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

Suprisingly fun, once I figured out where the game started. (I spent ages trying to open the doors and follow the road before I figured out that I was meant to go off-road through the forest!)

The music was nice and gentle, which didn't quite suit the middle part of the game (the desert shooting).

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49am

This was enjoyable. Felt like the little things in the game got their share of attention(the way that the camera moves when you fire or the timing needed for reloading) it was fun, funny and just overall quite great!

soerxpso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54am

It crashes right after the start screen for me. I'm on Linux Mint 16 64-bit

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

We were trying to fix that crash, but we haven't done that yet. Because of that crash we had to pat that runnable jar in folder with all the assts to partially fix it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28am

ok, I think i have fixed that crash

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34am

Nice art style, controls are pretty good and didn't die too much. Also like that you spawn at the last place you were once you die. Awesome game, hope it gets a post-LD update

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

really good job. incredible fun, animations are alive (especially shooting) and love the reload mechanic

someone says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Nicely done. Could so with a reload sound though.
Also sometimes I seemed to get stuck on nothing in the towns, pressing space fixed it though. Perhaps something to do with the dialog system.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07am

The graphics is nice and the bullet has particle effect! The game is pretty fun and challenging, I like the humor you put in the game :) Well done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

great game! I would have liked if there were more sounds for the enemies ( gunfire, hitsounds, that sort of thing ) graphics are great! gameplay is spot on! :)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Pretty cool! The music sets a nice western mood, and the small amount of life you had forced you to be careful and take cover so that encounters often became short shootouts.

gladers says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great game, highly rated. Dialog was very funny!

jprogman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:07am

I couldn't play it for so long as it became tedious to go back and forth. I've only made it to my second trip to the desert town, but that is where I quit. The conversations are funny btw, so the game has points for humor.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]