Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Visiting the Mushrooms

by Ryan Melmoth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a randomly generated trippy exploration game. If you like exploring strange caves with bizarre ambient music, then this game is for you!

Every second time you enter full screen mode it may resize the game beyond borders of your monitor, so try to avoid that if you can (bug with Stencyl, not my fault!)

Windows only right now because I don't have a Mac, sorry about that!

Buttons:
Left/Right to walk
Up/Z to jump
Enter to toggle fullscreen
A to reset

Made in Stencyl. (Stencyl is awesome!) Gfx in Paint Tool SAI and GIMP, sfx & music in FL Studio and from my musical instruments and my face.

For the first time I successfully finished the Ludum Dare competition, whooo!!! And not to toot my own horn, but I'm EXTREMELY happy with how the game itself turned out. I find myself getting addicted to playing it (or maybe that was just procrastination)... hope other people enjoy it as well!

If you want to follow me I have a twitter here: https://twitter.com/RyanMelmoth

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#142Audio3.49
#184Mood3.47
#329Graphics3.47
#378Humor2.63
#628Overall3.14
#830Fun2.72
#894Innovation2.69
#925Theme2.64

Comments

togie says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Haha heavy metal - the game! i love the thought put into the intro and loading screen alot! but i found the game to be a little buggy

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Love it! You need a MAC build?

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:59pm

The random generation worked really well, wasn't 100% sure what I was meant to be doing but as an exploration game was pretty good!

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Presentation is really fantastic - sometimes the randomly generated levels can be difficult to traverse.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

Cool game :D

skymarionsky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

psychedelic!!

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Not sure what I just played, but loved it. that was some awesome music. metal rocks. Congrats on finishing the game

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

weird, creepy, strangely engaging. It was a interesting time.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Weird game. As expected. :D Graphics were nice, animations were a bit choppy but the sound effects made up for that. :) The audio also added a lot to the mood, great job on that department.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

Well, this was weird :D I liked the attack of the mushrooms.

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I didn't know I liked exploring caves with bizarre ambient music until just now but I definitely do! This was just a really great experience. Love the art style and the sounds, they work together perfectly to create the mood.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Good art, but what is that "bee" screen ??

Colorvade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

The best.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

I liked a lot. The walking feels pretty cool.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Original theme but a little bit agressive graphics.

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02pm

You've made something really weird. And as much as there is not much to the gameplay, I do want to collect more mushrooms to see what the next world is...

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

As of this moment this game is among the best games I've played so far in this Ludum Dare. Music is incredible. Randomly generated caves are excellent, perhaps not because of their layout but because of the art style and the attention to detail.

Keep up the good work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I love trippy games, this is pretty crazy! I dig it, plays well!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Oh, wow. I normally hate exploration games but this was such a perfect combination of low quality assets, weirdness, and skilled procedural world generation that I enjoyed screwing around in it. I've got nothing to add--loved the walking animation and the blood-squirting mushrooms, this was brilliant.

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Great to see more procedural stuff! :) The jump could use some more gravity so you fall faster when you reach the apex. Since you placed an emphasis on the dungeon I'd suggest spending some time on getting your generation to create more unique results. In general I liked the visuals though.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

wow i LOVED this! this was an ultimate experience all the way through i love everything about it except that theres no goal, but it may not need one.
The environments and mood and everything were fantastic, and i continued to find new themes and music after like half an hour of playing it!
this was amazing great job

romandtom says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:44am

Dude, its super freaking cool!
Love that walk animation~

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]