Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnecting People

by Once Upon a Team - Jam Entry

Update :

Added some feedbacks/helps
Added a new character
Fixed bugs

/////////////////////////////////////////////

The HIGHSCORES are online !

Play and submit your highscore to enter the top ;)

/////////////////////////////////////////////

HOW TO PLAY

A/D to move or LEFT/RIGHT

DESTROY LINKS to score.

RECOLT HOURGLASSES to get more time.

/////////////////////////////////////////////

MUSIC BY Invisible Observer
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/318221

/////////////////////////////////////////////

We all hope you'll enjoy this little game, we are group of five french students in video game.

Thank you for commenting, we're currently learning how to make games, your feedbacks are really appreciated.

The Team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Fun(Jam)3.83
#74Overall(Jam)3.78
#78Graphics(Jam)4.24
#92Audio(Jam)3.74
#124Humor(Jam)3.25
#147Mood(Jam)3.58
#196Innovation(Jam)3.40
#304Theme(Jam)3.34

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37am

My favorite Jam entry thus far. The visuals are fantastic and its really enjoyable to play and watch.

jwin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38am

Great game! I love the art-style!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40am

I'm really enjoying this game and really hope that you keep going with this, I almost broke a million score! Extremely beautiful too!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44am

That's pretty smooth. Great art, music, easy to understand premise and controls, addictive. You dun good!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Great execution! Very captivating while playing. Got 991K.

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

Love it. Great art style, unique idea. I have no idea why I was in a wheelchair, but 10/10 would roll in a wheelchair again.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56am

166,850 >.< Really nice - love the art style and music!

Colorvade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08am

Super smooth. Really nails the excitement of stringing a combo together.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

Great entry. Like the graphics a lot but I feel like there's too much happening to fully appreciate them. And the colours are great. I don't know if that is how it is supposed to be but sometimes I break only half of the link. And, as I always prefer to destroy than build, I love your approach to the theme ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Thank you for all your comments guys, the messy aspect is hard to balance but we'll try to improve the lisibility ! We're aware of that link problem, it's in our to do list, thank you for these precious feedbacks.

Macocco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

1000950 was my score. Really liked it. Graphics were nice and the music fit. 5/5 overall.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

That was really interesting. Great concept and execution.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I got around 502k... is that good or bad :P?

I really liked this game, I think it's well-made, very polished game. The main character is difficult to control but not unfairly so, and that makes it feel like a matter of skill, which is exactly what you'd want in an arcade game like this.

Music + Art were perfect for the game. Very good entry.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04pm

That's a nice score ! Breaking the 1 million bar is the most enjoyable thing tho.

Indeed, we wanted to create a dynamic control and it came with a "skilly" but interesting one in such a game.

For your scores, you will be soon able to submit it and view it on the HighScore menu ;)

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This was a lot of fun. Smooth controls, great music.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Interesting take on the theme and a really nice to play. When things go dark for the bonus points its super cool! Awesome stuff!

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

5/5. Congrats.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I love this so much!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I love your style. All the audio and visual cues line up perfectly. It was very satisfying running through a big group of lines in my wheel chair.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I would love to have PAUSE button, just to have time to look at your graphic in peace. Great funny game! I like the dynamic of the wheel.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38pm

This feels remarkably polished. The graphics look stunning, the music feels just right and the controls are really smooth. The graphics in Bonus Time are pretty too. I'm already addicted -- can't wait for the highscore menu.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38pm

We have thought about a pause menu, but we decided to not put one since our game is based on dynamism and "one game" intensity. Anyway, we could reconsider this :)

Thanks for your feedback !

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46am

I'm a connection destroying asshole... and I love it :)

The graphics were really slick, this is one of those games you can play for hours and not even realize where the time has gone, excellent job!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11am

GREAT GRAPHICS! 977k!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:15am

Thanks for your comment on Galactic Dump! I saw your game on At0mium show as well and the concept impressed me instantly. I'm glad I could test it finally. Very good entry, professional look, smooth gameplay and related to the theme in a very smart way of disconnection. Congrats. I just have troubles to distinguish the hourglass! Almost reach 1M tho.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:49am

Relaxing. Turn off your mind and make your bad things.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Very nice game, perfectly executed!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I love the visual style!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Gorgeous game! So much fun!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Fantastic game! awesome soundtrack. amazing graphics! put this on the mobile platform and I will be addicted :D Great team. make more games please

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Very satisfying game play. Loved flying through all the beams.

gillenew says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52pm

It's really fun to disconnect people. :D

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

J'aime cette jeux! L'art est incroyable, et l'intrigue est tres interresant et pertinent. C'est tres amusement aussi! Sorry if my French is no good, been two years since I stopped studying it, and I had to use some Google Translate :P

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Alright, you asked for feedback so here it is!
The look, sound, and feel of the game are all very nice, I especially like the little sigh that comes out when I break a connection and the aesthetic shift during bonus time. The use of theme was also pretty interesting and I haven't seen much like it.
I wasn't clear on how scoring worked. I noticed that I was getting labels like 'glitchy', 'amazing', and 'awesome' but even after playing four times I can't figure out what makes a score amazing. Is it the size of the connection? Is it the two-color connection? Do I have to hit it at a certain angle? I couldn't really tell, and it would be nice to have an explanation of how to maximize my points. A minor note, the numbers that came with the text were a bit too small and fast to read so I wasn't sure how much the point value changed either.
It seems like if I head off in one direction I eventually reach a vast empty space with occasionally one person in it. It would be ideal if it could stop me, or wrap around the screen, or even just spawn more people out in the distance.
One more thing, the level music ends pretty suddenly, it would be nice if it had a sort of lead up to the ending so I could tell without looking at the timer that I was getting close to the end.

I hope that feedback was helpful! I had fun playing your game and I hope to see more that you make in the future.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

Love the graphics! Nice music, and nice innovation!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:07am

Wow, thanks for your feedbacks guys :)

@KevinZuhn,
About our score mechanics, We didn't know if it was necessary to reveal the way you could reach a high score, or if it was better to let them learn by themselves. In fact, showing them some tips or even clearly those mechanics could encourage to masterize the game.

The numbers' size, the "map limit" and a "Game Over" transition/alert are coming soon :)

Thanks again, that's really helpful for us!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really fun! Satisfying to move through a huge mass of connections :) Like KevinZuhn, I was a little unclear what was affecting my score. Leaving it for the player to learn is great, but a little help wouldn't hurt ;)

I had some problems losing input at the end of a round using the webplayer, which is probably more a plugin issue than anything, but meant that I couldn't change the name in the scores and that I'd have to refresh the page in order to play again.

Great entry overall :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

We will discuss and we may change our how to play menu to give you some tips guys :)

About your problem, maybe it is because of the 'enter name' box : that's not the optimal way to do it, but we wanted that highscore leaderboard. You have to double click on "player_1" and then enter your name.

That's the first time someone notice us he can't play again directly, I hope that's a plugin problem ! :P

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great music and graphics! Really nice mechanics! Good job dude!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great idea and really smooth gameplay. Graphics and sound compliment each other. Good entry I'd say.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

I didn't know what I was doing but it felt great! It is really fun to play and it does smoothly. And it has a high scores table! Very well polished, awesome work!!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:20am

Graphics are amazing. Gorgeous entry. :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:35am

I became the curmudgeonly old man lol
Visually excellent, could have done with showing your current colour combo and maybe a larger effect for a higher scoring combo to reward the player and to encourage them to keep the combo going. good stuff

Carduus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

very hypnotising game, i like the idea to be an old man who hate people so much to spend the lasts days of his life to disconect people's social links.
You should add some difficulty in your game like some defined patern of links to breack, to much random in my opinion.
Nevertheless, great entry really i like it en enjoyed playing it :)

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Beautiful game, and really nice flow to it. Great job!

Shide says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Great game!
It should be more hardcore, by the way, but otherwise it has complex addictive gameplay c:

ninjascript says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Wow, really nicely paced. the screen gets pretty crazy full in the late game which makes it tough to tell what's going on, but I guess that's probably the point. I enjoyed it!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:13pm

stunning graphics and music. the controls are very dynamic. thou i didnt really now what i was doing :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:14am

The polish on this is very impressive. The game is very fun too, although I basically just ran around haha. I loved how hectic the game gets at times. Great job.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:40pm

A very fine entry. It's very polished and fun, but it gets a bit boring after a while, too repetitive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]