Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cloud Connected

by elliottd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Initial submission was lacking a third level which is omitted because of bug blocking completion, I fixed this and updated in the spirit of bug fixing without adding content that was not complete at the deadline.

Added mac/linux/web builds, the web player seems to work even though I used the Unity 4.6 beta.


Updated version available on itch.io http://kenruze.itch.io/cloud-connected


Keyboard controls: WASD/Arrow keys + X to interact
Gamepad controls: Left analog stick + X to interact (XBox 360, but others should work too; Button 3 for interact)

I wrote a post about my process here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/27/cloud-connected/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Graphics4.21
#174Mood3.48
#227Theme3.70
#249Audio3.26
#288Overall3.48
#559Innovation3.15
#641Humor2.20
#668Fun2.91
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Cool graphics.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Awesome graphics, nice animation and cool concept. Enjoyed!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

This is lovely! Amazing work :)

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

pretty good.. love the graphics and animations
was interesting, but really really short

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Really cool concept. Enjoyed the graphics and the overall polish of the game.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Great graphics! Played through it all! A mellow mood was excellently set.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Great job, nice animations and art.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05am

Unity web player worked fine for me.

The graphical tone, music, and glow effect of the orb gave a very nice mysterious atmosphere. I wanted to keep playing, hoping there was some underlying story connecting things (i.e. what does the orb mean, and why a mailbox?).

Movements and controls were nice and tight. There wasn't much gameplay, but that didn't stop me from enjoying what there was.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:58am

I did not really get what was going on, but it ddefinitely was interesting and looked great.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

This ended way sooner than I wanted - it seems like there's way more to the story than presented here, and playing it makes me want to find out what it is. Great visuals/ animation - sets the mood perfectly. Awesome work!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Very lovely game, especially the main character. The animation is great for such a short development time! It was over pretty quickly, but I enjoyed the atmosphere!

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Really well done! I wanted to see more of how the mechanics would evolve and get harder ^_^ maybe we'll see a full fledged version ;)

elliottd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Thanks for the comments! I made a whole system for the held objects and interaction and planned a bunch more puzzles, but had to cut most of it for the sake of finishing at all. I will definitely do a post-competition update and just make a bunch more levels.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23pm

nice and short puzzle game, awesome models and animations. that's a pretty creepy dream-like setting, not sure if it's meant to be soothing or unnerving, maybe the girl is dead and moving around in limbo? perhaps the orbs are lost souls? excellent stuff for 48 hours.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

At first I thought it was the camera that changed, because the areas are too similar, then I got it :P Also I really like the concept of the mailbox as a teleporting device :D

mactinite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56am

Well now you've piqued my curiosity. I love the art, has a kind of Double Fine feel to it. Anyways, great work.

XenosNS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Sweet! Looks great, liked the animation of the girl. Simple mechanics, be interesting to see how those could be developed further. Game gave me a "Neverending Story" feel for some reason.

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

The sound effects are too electronic. I don't think they fit the setting.

The models are very nice though and I like the magic mailbox idea.

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

Love the feel of this game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Serene, surreal. Best character work there is in LD.

The rules of this world intrigue me; I want to hang out here more! Post-compo version please!

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

neat visuals you have here especially the animations! pretty eerie atmosphere also.
the concept is really cool!
great job!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Fabulous animation!

Aske says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

These graphics and animation are REALLY good ! Keep up the amazing work!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Amazing game, great audio + visual experience. A delight to explore and uncover. Cheers :)

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:56am

Really impressive character animations for such a short time, hope this gets worked into something bigger!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Pretty nice graphics, though the colors could be a little more vibrant maybe. Not very difficult. Nice background music.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really nice animation! I got this really interesting dream-like vibe from the style of the game. I didn't know what was going on at first, but I did manage to figure it out decently without instruction.
Like Steve | tacospice here said, I do agree that you should play with the colors a bit more, the game still looks really good! also, cute character :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]