Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Burger Beat

by TrickFishPie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aim of the game

Endless Runner - See how far the Burger Beat can power the chap down the road.

Controls

1) use the left & right arrow keys alternately to build up speed. Left right left right left right etc.....

2) Press the space bar to jump over the boxes

3) Whilst in mid jump you will be presented with arrow keys to press (left and right) press them in the correct order before the guy lands otherwise he will fall! ***TOP TIP stop pressing left and right when you jump and wait for the input bar to show up before pressing again :)

Created for Ludum dare 30 #48 Compo.

Theme: Connected Worlds - The connected worlds link between a person and the world of the food inside them. The idea seemed valid at first but now i'm not so sure :S

In this game the chap eats some food and this is what is powering him a long.

The burger is beating the drums to keep the chap moving a long.

This idea was awesome at first but not sure its turned out anything more than a really awkward endless runner. :) hey ho just following the advice of people on here to just submit it! :)

First attempt at a Ludum - has been an awesome experience and I will take a lot away from it. Certainly will plan it better next time!

Created a mobile version if people want to check it out :) Control's are a little different

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#72Humor3.48
#209Audio3.33
#556Fun3.05
#625Innovation3.07
#730Mood2.79
#751Overall3.00
#752Graphics2.80
#1125Theme2.11

Comments

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:38am

Nice game! Thought it was quite hard though

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

An endless runner mixed with a rhythm game. Difficult, but insanely fun. Are you sponsored by one of the big burger corporations because now I'm hungry :)

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

The found the game hard but also I pretty enjoyable. For some reason it reminded me of QWOP.
Also, it seemed like the burger didn't affect the gameplay but I'm glad it's there playing those drums.
Good job!

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Nice game, congrats!

PunyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

It took me quite some time, but finally I managed to overcome the first box :).

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Cool burger; super annoying controls! I also liked Jug-head/Andy Capp.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I love these types of games, they really pull you in.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Pretty fun! Reminded me of Donkey Kong Jungle Beat, what with playing the bongos to run and jump!

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Love that burger!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Challenging game, but so fun! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Good first entry ! Quite fun to play. You should put a single key to play again not R and then X. The theme is not really there though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

this realy remembers me of one vinger death punch.

it looks simple but it gets hard, fast.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

this realy remembers me of one vinger death punch.
it looks simple but it gets hard, fast.

btw thanks for playing my game i now the bug you mentioned i have the code for one part ready to jump with 2 but at the last seconds i dit not hat enough time so i neded to cut it out.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

This is fun! Really difficult though - I think arrows rather than text would have been MUCH easier! Personal best: 4, and I'm proud of it. Love the music even though it's really enervating.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53pm

That was really fun! I managed to jump over 6 boxes before my jumps wouldn't keep me in the air long enough to input the commands. It's really hilarious when I just run as fast as possible because of the way the guy animates. Well done!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Great first entry! It's very difficult but fun once you get the hang of it. I wish the game would skip the title screen when restarting.

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Hard game but I kept coming back for more. I guess that's something you want to hear! :)

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Great creativity! The difficulty is a bit too high for my taste, but that might be my own problem :P I liked the game a lot, but couldn't advance far enough to "get into the rhythm", so to speak.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I don't know why, but this game wouldn't have made as much of an impact if it wasn't a hamburger playing the drums. i love how the guy falls apart into pieces. Loved it!

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Nice and challenging. I only got to 6!
The music is really fitting too.

I have only one suggestion, maybe you can use graphic instead of words to indicate which button to press? (e.g. the drums) Maybe helps with reaction time :p

Good job

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

Wow that was pretty difficult, only ever managed to make it to the 3rd box! Still, the hamburger guy was a pretty groovy drummer. Fun concept, and good job on completing your first LD Game!

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Pretty difficult game! But also, kinda fun. Specially that burger :P

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Really difficult but rather fun; would like a mobile version.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

SO like the burger is god?
Maybe not on purpose, but the social commentary is solid.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I really like it! Great idea. I beat my mums highscore. Maybe you could run between worlds to make it more on theme though...

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59pm

It was a decent game, quiet was hard, and the controls were a bit wonky, but overall it was quiet good. :)

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56pm

it needs an ending where you eat the drum burger

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Fun game! I was digging that drum beat.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Nice game! Amazing how hard it is to press two buttons in the correct order xD

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

not sure what the link is to the theme, funny burger drummer though

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Thanks for the feedback and playing my game :) In my mental mind the theme link was meant to be the world inside your body(where the burger is drumming away) powers the man in the outside world.

it made sense when I came up with it but now - not so much :>

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Good entry. It's pretty hard, plus I keep forgetting which way is left and which is right. I like the burger drummer and his infectious beat.

dadman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Cool physics thing when you die that makes it have an impact, however I found it too hard to the level of fustration. High marks on inovation and audio though!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nice and cool !

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:35pm

The restart controls should just be space since you already have your hand on that key. Starting could just be space too.

I like the run mechanic and jump but it was a little hard to get used to at first. I think it's because I was assuming you had to use a rhythm but you can just spam left and right as quickly as possible to get the best movement.

SFX would improve the game for death or maybe even running.

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:13am

I couldn't get the hang of the controls, and when the first jump came the keys flashed by too quickly for me to make it past the first box. The burger is awesome.

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:11pm

This game was hard. :D The game was fun but I would have preferred if you had used the space key to restart the game (and one key only) as I had to restart a lot. :D

Zambini says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:27pm

This game is fantastic! The music works, and it's just the right amount of 'Insanely hard' to make me keep wanting to try over and over again.

My one comment for improvement is to make the QTE for jumping much clearer to the user, it's too easy to accidentally do it.

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:50pm

While the theme is seriously tenuous, it was a cute game to try.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]