Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Guidance

by Reverend Speed - Jam Entry

Three turns!

First turn - look at the map and memorise your route!

Second turn - try to plot the route to the goal (green cube) on a blank map.

Third turn - your follower will follow your route - will she make it to the goal?

More notes to come...

########################################################

Hey folks! Man. Excuses time. So I started half-way through the second day and barely managed to finish the systems with ten minutes to go - leaving just enough time for two levels and a congratulations.

POOR TIMEKEEPING! Honestly, I'm amazed this took so long to make... But looking back on it, it's a fairly complicated program to make (though the actual game design is simple as pie).

The two levels were intended as my tutorial levels - demonstrating the mechanics before I got into anything more complicated.

I had about eight levels of increasing difficulty planned (indeed, at the beginning of the project I thought they might be procedurally generated - but no time, no time!). I also wanted to work on the incredibly crappy hud and graphics but, as I say, the clock was against me.

No 3D models. No textures. No lighting. Sigh. Depressing.

Slightly worried at how slowly things came together. There's a lot of states, passing information between states, transferring paths between locations and level information going on behind the scenes and it all just took forever. It's really complicated behind the scenes (at least, to me!) but that means very little when there's nothing for you to play.

At least it has a start screen, pause and a difficulty system (though hardly anybody will see it, I'd imagine). Be grateful for small mercies.

Gratz to Shoddy for the title screen! I don't think either of us expected it to make it to the final submission, but I was grateful to have a front end for the game! And it really captures the intended mood. =)

--Rev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#534Innovation(Jam)2.77
#590Humor(Jam)1.33
#666Audio(Jam)1.21
#684Theme(Jam)2.20
#710Mood(Jam)1.64
#724Fun(Jam)2.19
#766Graphics(Jam)1.45
#768Overall(Jam)2.28

Comments

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Seriously? only two levels? And also why you didn't keep the "replay" graphics in all game?

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The concept is fun but it's very short :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

An interesting idea that could have been fleshed out more.

Robotic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I didn't really get the point of drawing a path if there's no way the follower can be lost.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Interesting idea but needs a lot more polish.

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Great idea! memory game always let me can't stop. Thanks.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Hey folks! Man. Excuses time. So I started half-way through the second day and barely managed to finish the systems with ten minutes to go - leaving just enough time for two levels and a congratulations.

POOR TIMEKEEPING! Honestly, I'm amazed this took so long to make... But looking back on it, it's a fairly complicated program to make (though the actual game design is simple as pie).

The two levels were intended as my tutorial levels - demonstrating the mechanics before I got into anything more complicated.

I had about eight levels of increasing difficulty planned (indeed, at the beginning of the project I thought they might be procedurally generated - but no time, no time!). I also wanted to work on the incredibly crappy hud and graphics but, as I say, the clock was against me.

No 3D models. No textures. No lighting. Sigh. Depressing.

Slightly worried at how slowly things came together. There's a lot of states, passing information between states, transferring paths between locations and level information going on behind the scenes and it all just took forever. It's really complicated behind the scenes (at least, to me!) but that means very little when there's nothing for you to play.

Gratz to Shoddy for the title screen! I don't think either of us expected it to make it to the final submission, but I was grateful to have a front end for the game! And it really captures the intended mood. =)

@elkiwydev: I'm not entirely sure what you mean by 'replay' graphics all in game? If you're asking why the follower is in perspective mode... well, I intended changing the cameras up for the Follower, with lots of lighting effects. Alas...

@Sojabird: Glad you like the concept! I am also sad it is short. :(

@Carrier Signal: I agree! I'd like to do more with this. I've got lots of places to take it, but I'm trying to focus on another short game right now. I think I'll go back to Guidance after that...

@Robotic: The Follower can be lost on any of the included levels by simply not reaching the goal! My intention was to make the Follower stage really dark - so if the Guide's instructions / route makes no sense, the Follower would give up.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

@CptDustmite: Glad you liked the idea. Agree with you on polish. I think I could make this look really good, but found absolutely ZERO time for aesthetics, to my regret. I mean, jesus, the font is still Arial.

@gnuwind: Thanks for the compliment. =)

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Yeah, the idea is there, execution needs work, but excellent effort.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I think you had a good concept going, but it would have been much more fun with more levels...but I read time got a way from you. it happens :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27pm

@Ponywolf and nerd burglars: Thanks, folks. Execution needs work? Execution needs to be shot in the face, but at least it communicates the basics of what's going on. =) I'm up for taking tips on time management, but I really just need to be able to tell what work is going to take a lot of time... This has proven most educational. MOST EDUCATIONAL. *rubs hands together*

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice concept, I haven't seen this game mechanic before and it was refreshing. Shame you couldn't get further on it in the time allotted. Maybe you can use it another time, though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

@Skyfish - Glad you liked it! Definitely interested in developing this further.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I'm sorry that you didn't get to make more than this. The idea is great, but sadly way too short. I played it twice, just to give it the attention it deserves :-)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54pm

@Mekuri: I'm sorry too! And I do appreciate the double-play. Thanks. =) Seriously thinking of shoving other game work to the side for a few days to give this a content & polish pass. The Follower says thanks, Mekuri!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18am

A salute your effort. Each attempt, learn something new. Keep working at it and you'll get faster and learn to work within the limitations of time. Best luck, hope to see you next time!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:16pm

@KhaoTom: Cheers man! As far as working faster, well, one hopes too. I could have sworn this was going to be a fast, straight-forward game. See you next time, man. =)

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:12am

Good idea but the paths did not fulfill it.

Satyre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Could become a great game, when you replace the graphics and add some music. The idea is great. It surely would become a super game, when adding obstacles in advancing level. Great concept.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

@Tanser & Satyre: Many thanks, folks. Yeah, it's surely lacking in content, but glad you could appreciate the idea.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

@Reverend Speed
Lack in content is something expected here. Its not like we got all the time in the world. For the limited time as I said, you have done greatly, especially with the theme and idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

Hi there. Needs more levels and more complications. Interesting idea. Shame no sound. Good job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

@Tanser: Cheers - thanks for understanding. =)

@mrexcessive: Thanks! More stuff needed - believe me, I know. Appreciate the comment!

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

Well... the concept of the game is nice, you made a 3d memorize game, but it could be longer, harder, and to have sounds!
My game is also built in unity, so check it out if you want :D!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

@Tosic: Much obliged! I also think I should expand it - but I'm not going to make it as hard as your game! =) Thanks for the comment!

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:46pm

As hard as my game... OK!

Yoni says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:38am

Interesting idea, too bad it's unfinished :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]