Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SWARM

by Kate Kligman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As two neighboring worlds battle, a horde of mechanized drones approach.
You are the highest ranked fighter pilot tasked with defending your planet
and saving mankind. Can you defeat the swarm?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#519Humor2.38
#568Audio2.70
#623Fun2.97
#899Mood2.57
#940Overall2.80
#1056Theme2.33
#1093Graphics2.17
#1159Innovation1.97

Comments

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

I like how they smile when they win

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Love how you took the theme and made it so you lose when the worlds connect haha. Really fun!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

Well done game! Keep it up!

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

Almost expected it to ask me for another quarter when I died. Good job with the arcadey feel. I wish there was a custom cursor though, because my cursors are black and it really upped the difficulty. Good job!

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

I think this might actually have worked better with chunkier pixel graphics - like a retro arcade. The soundscape and gameplay give this game a hectic arcade atmosphere, and I think that's its biggest strength.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice game! Made 138 kills, please add a leaderboard!!! Awesome graphical style.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55am

Difficulty progression was good. Enjoy the arcade feel. I laughed when I saw the robots smile once they won. Sound effects for shooting was nice. Good job :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Pew pew pew!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Like missile command, without having to wait for the missiles (and only one city to save).

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice simple gameplay. Good job. A leaderboard would make this game better.

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43am

The game's quite simple, but it works! Good job. However, I don't see how it's related to the theme?

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

nice job...very macabre ending :)

thanks for the feedback on my game. i'm thinking about a post-jam version with about a billion times more explosions

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Cool game, it gets intense. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17am

I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

Shit - meant to post this: Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Showing accuracy at the end was a great feature! Great job!

tatmos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I like sound.

plash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Score: 118500! Kills: 149!

The laser effect is nice, but it stopped appearing once ~3 drones started appearing. Probably just my browser (yay, web!). This is quite challenging on its own, but I think it could use another mechanic. Maybe have the drones shoot lasers that you have to deflect!

Nitpicks:

- No space kittens.

mildmojo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:58am

95200 w/133 kills. Cute game! Near CGA palette. Looks like you picked a simple mechanic and got the job done.

Once enemies start spawning in large numbers, they appear as a dense horizontal wave. They could maybe be less like waves and more like rainfall?

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Not bad, but the graphics need a bit of work.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:29pm

For some reason the yello lines dissapeared for me about half way through the game.

Kate Kligman says ...
Nov 17, 2014 @ 6:28am

Thanks for all the comments. I've added a post-competition version that fixes the laser, uses a custom cursor, and reworks the spawning a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]