Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Twist And Weave

by ZeppelinCaptain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Twist and Weave the worlds together. Enjoy.

Don't give up when the going gets tough. Later levels are harder, but also better.

Level 10 is only for true experts. Don't feel bad if you don't beat it. The rest of the game is manageable though - my dad, who don't really play games, actually got to level 10!

The game auto-saves, so you don't need to complete it in one sitting.

Turn up the volume, there is a soundtrack, although an unorthodox one!


Update: deleted a line that reset the save file every time the game launched. Moved the download to itch.io, so Chrome doesn't think the file will destroy the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#75Innovation3.95
#148Fun3.60
#161Overall3.66
#323Theme3.56
#445Graphics3.24
#522Audio2.76
#534Mood3.00
#776Humor2.00

Comments

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

Great game! smooth yet simple!

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

Wow, great concept, well executed!

Vircung says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Great!

Praron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Really interesting mechanics and nice simple visualisation!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Great concept, nice and simple and quick to pick up. Nice difficulty curve as well.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice, relaxed game. I like it a lot!

lukz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Nice mechanics!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Very unique and interesting gameplay, very enjoyable. Graphics are nice and clean, though sound is a bit annoying at times - when it repeats over and over while you're too close to a wall. And it could use some music.
Gets very difficult, and I couldn't finish all the levels. I might go back to it later.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very funny game :D simple, but still can be hard

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Incredible engine, good ideas.
Makes me think about cellulars behaviors.
May be too much spikes but,
this is awweeEEssSOooomme...!!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25am

Great concept, visually pleasing. Well done!

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Very good game, good job! Simple and efficace ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31am

I like the sounds they make the balls to catch them and I like how the game

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Way too difficult for me, but it felt pretty smooth and innovative!

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:35am

Lovely mechanic, innovative and fun.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

It sends me Windows Error on 9th level.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Thanks for all the nice comments guys, if anyone sees this. Comments (=reactions) are the best thing about making games, especially if they contain valuable feedback, so keep them coming!

@Knowledge: Hm, that's weird, I haven't seen that on any machines before. Did you try to just start the game again? Your progress should have been saved.

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Simple and nice idea, but the physics make the controls a little bit slow and sloppy.

It could deserve more friction to make the trajectory manageable. Here is a game fully different who have in my opinion a really nice control of object to bring other at one spot (it's a "pool-like" game) :
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42067

The game could also benefit of some physical effects of the links to make the moving a little bit manageable.

I like the graphics specially the spike with their shaking. ;)

Theme linked, fun hard but not too much. Nice job.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Really fun mechanic, very clean.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

@jomomomo No chance for a web version, sorry. I'm still working on a mac version, but I'm having a LOT of troubles with GameMaker and exporting to mac, even though I've done it before w/o problems.

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Loved the physics and the way the chain moved around. Some levels were tricky where you had to sling the tail with accuracy to connect the last orb, and very rewarding when it worked :)

Couldn't beat all levels myself, but you should make more levels with all sorts of difficulties between the ones you have now, so there's something for everyone. Unless you want most levels to be difficult of course! (But you should still make more :)

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

I liked this game. It's challenging yet, you want to play more. The satisfaction of having solved a level is awesome. Congrats on finishing this on time.

Jod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Wow. That's really, really great design! Both on the level-design as well as graphics. Loved it!

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Incredible game!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Very nice game, sleek and elegant visual style, satisfying sound effects, clever puzzles... great work!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:34pm

This is a cool mechanic! Couldn't quite make it through the last level, though. Maybe later.

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Very good game ! Simple, efficient, it's my actual favorite.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very fun and addictive! Well done!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Interesting idea and I loved the elastic feel of the bond!

Knowledge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Last level doesn't work, sometimes game raise System error and if you resize window it raise system error.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:28pm

@OFF: I would have liked to experiment with different amounts of friction more, but I made the levels too rigid for that. However, I did play around with it in the beginning of development, and I actually think I found a good feel. It doesn't give you perfect control as one might be used to from games, but I think I like the chaotic element.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Hey guys! Once again, thanks for being so nice.

Please don't be scared away by Knowledge's bug. I haven't seen it anywhere else, so it might be a rare, system specific thing.

And please do leave comments. Reactions is the reason I make games.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Great concept, smooth execution!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Upon seeing that final level I instantly closed the window and dragged the game to the garbage bin. Thanks, but no thanks!

Sometimes it feels like getting the balls to go where I want them to go takes more luck than skill. Didn't really hear the background audio and didn't want to raise the volume because of the sound effects.

You could've also made it so that the player doesn't need to rescue all the balls, but instead each rescued ball counted towards a common score, which determined how well the player completed the level (bronze - silver - gold for example). That would've made it more easy for casual players to adopt while still providing the completionists with a challenge!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

radmars says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Awesome concept, would be better with a maybe smoother difficulty curve though

Shmackson says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:19am

Interesting mechanics. Smooth, sleek and fun yet difficult game.

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:41am

A great original idea for a game! I had a lot of fun with this.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:11am

Very fun and unique game. Great take on the theme. Last few levels were a little too frustrating for me but I kept trying :)

martim00 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:12am

Nice game. Congrats!

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:45am

Very cool puzzle game. The last level was pretty hard but I did finally get through it. Then I accidentally knocked one of the balls on the final page away before I realized I could lock them all in. :'[

Anyway, awesome game. :D

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:43am

I liked this game - graphics and audio were simple, clear and clean and the gameplay was challenging without being too difficult. Except that last level...

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:17am

This game is really great fun. The visuals are very simple but elegant, ant the levels are super fun, challenging, but not to the point of rage quitting or being boring. Very well done!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Alright, made it to the end, might have accidentally discovered some bug and treat it as gameplay element; or maybe it was gameplay element altogether, but it makes level 6 and 10 much easier than they would be otherwise. I mean: if orange orb has possible connection with more than one world, all of them get connected to the orange orb, making synchronised spikes avoidance a breeze.

Aside from that, game is pretty cool, both gameplay and aesthetics wise. I guess it might work well with more levels, though the little control over the blue worlds might make things more frustrating than challenging (seemingly needing more luck than skill). I wonder how it would work with lock-on option, when relative worlds alignment would be preserved; it might reduce challenge in some parts, but introduce in others...

(also, thanks for Madagascar; take some Greenland ;) )

cardboard says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:43pm

The mechanics are very interesting. I was one planet away from beating the last level after numerous tries, but the first loop was too hard and eventually deterred me from trying any more. The level of difficulty scales nicely from level to level, and beating a level is very rewarding.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]