Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Wars

by torvik88 - Jam Entry

This is our second LD and i think we are suffering from a curse or something because in every jam we had one designer or one programmer quit on us and ended up doing their tasks thus limiting our time to do the things we planned.

Oh well, the game is about a kind of Tower Defense in space. We wanted to a lot of things and add a lot of gameplay stuff but in the end, due to the time restrains we didn't.

We didn't even have time to put some instructions in the game, so it goes like this:

You can add Defense Drones to your planet with your mouse by dragging and dropping the drones to your orbit.

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#460Innovation(Jam)2.90
#468Fun(Jam)2.88
#475Humor(Jam)2.17
#532Graphics(Jam)2.98
#540Overall(Jam)2.98
#541Audio(Jam)2.55
#553Mood(Jam)2.78
#619Theme(Jam)2.48

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44am

Hi there. Nice looking and playing game you've made! I found it fairly easy to reach a state where all orbits were full and I could deploy no more towers... I then lost with a score of 912 once the attack size became crazy-big! Good job, would like to see more, multiple planets, tower/orbitals upgrades etc.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Agrees with @mrexcessive.
I would like to have been able to replace/upgrade defender orbs, and maybe buy more orbits or something like that.
But very nice game :)

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Overall, I liked this game!

Good:
* Nice details on graphics, loved the background star effects.
* Ok music, ok sound.
* Nice game idea and it's fun to play.

Bad:
* It's a little short and after a while I'm unable to buy more "planet" defenders and game ends with overwhelming amount of enemies;
* It needs some more balance on prices/damage and this alike.
* Weak theme usage

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:03am

Nice Game! I likt Tower Defence Games and the idea with "rings" and moving towers is nice. I would have liked to see some upgrades or a remaining Lives counter.
The Music line got me really annoyed after some runs.

TD5 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:44am

Really fun, but it's all over too quickly because I can't remove or upgrade the defences. Please add more levels or something to increase the life of the game.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Pretty fun! But i agree with @mrexcessive and others, when the orbits are full, there's nothing more to do. Nice concept though.

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I love the concept of a TD with orbits, maybe you can create a post-compo version with a slightly better balance and duration.

MaesK says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice tower defense, I liked the idea of using orbits as places to set barriers. Music repeats itself a little, but it matches with space theme. Good work.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Thank you all for your comments :)

Yes, unfortunately we had a snag and lost one of our programmers and his task had to be done be the others so we ended up cutting much from the gameplay we wanted to do.

CogComp says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Very addivtive game. Great work!

t4u says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I liked the idea of having tower defence withn otwer that moves on orbits. Audio was generally positive(4/5). Graphics were ok(3/5). I didnt really have fun from playing tbh.

udo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I like the idea a lot, it had potential. Since you mentioned team problems and running out of time, from my own experience with programming projects: maybe you are just too many people. You'd be amazed what can be done with just two people (or even one, for that matter).

Kojan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I really enjoid the game, just sad that we place all our "turrets" so fast.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:26pm

909 points ! Interesting concept ! A very nice and polished entry :)

sanojian says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice tower defense game. Pretty graphics. Music was a little bit repetative.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Cool game and it's very nice considering that you hadn't enough time to do more things. It would be interesting a post-compo version with more stuffs! :D
My best is 997.

Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Never made more than 999. :) Nice and pretty addictive game. Good job.

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice idea and graphics,

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice entry!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:30am

Score: 999

Wish I could put more planets in orbit, or delete ones to make room for different ones.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Good entry

mactinite says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really cool take on the tower defense. The orbits add a nice depth to the mechanics. Makes a cool idea to expand on. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]