Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Everything Burns

by jordanbloemen - Jam Entry

Burn the chapel.
Escape the town.

There's no programmed win condition - it's a sandbox at this point.

WASD to move.
Left click to set fire. Only when you're absolutely ready.
Space to reset when you die (black screen)

Team Everything Burns brings you a first-person-twitch-'em-up adventure.


In order of appearance:
Logan Gilmour + Mathew Satchwill + Jordan Bloemen

Executive Produced by Scott Francis Winder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Graphics(Jam)4.30
#77Mood(Jam)3.82
#159Audio(Jam)3.53
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#315Humor(Jam)2.56
#454Fun(Jam)2.91
#473Overall(Jam)3.09
#756Theme(Jam)1.67
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12am

I played Webplayer version and there are textures missing.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

The title blowed our minds. Lost 10 times in a row. The graphics are great.

logangilmour says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Alright, texture issue (actually ended up being a shader issue) is ostensibly fixed!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14am

Amazing graphics! Great job!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19pm

graphics was awesome! although for me the game was creepy but i still played this game plenty of times lol. still very nice execution!

Demorro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:57am

Holy atmosphere batman that's cool. 5/5 for mood.

Demorro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:57am

Holy atmospheric batman that's cool. 5/5 for mood.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Nice graphics... lit the first thing I ran into a flame and unexpectedly the entire town went on fire from that one action... did I win? lol. IDK.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:03am

I got everything to burn, but nothing happened after that. Are there any more levels?

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:03am

The game is super choppy on my system.

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

It's more of a sandbox than an actual game - we never got to constraints or win conditions. To make a game out of it, try to get in, set the church on fire, and get out!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

I don't know what to make out of it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Very nice piece of art! I liked everything about it, except I don't see a relation with the theme.

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

Haha, the theme connection was a whole other layer of the game we didn't really get to - the only remnant was the fact that when the church burns down, there's a radio-tower inside instead of the expected skeleton. We had this whole ambiguous connected-timelines hysteria thing we'll hopefully actually explore in a more fleshed-out version.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

Holy hells, loved the aesthetic here. Amazing graphics. Could use some more gameplay though, and a way to reset it. I ran into the fire, got a black screen but the sounds were still going, and I couldn't start again xD

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:21am

That was surreal, and surprisingly fun! The color palette and visual style are pretty epic, as is the audio :D Particularly loved the fire effect.

Would really like to play a post-compo version that extends the gameplay. Some kind of spatial puzzling aspect where the fire slowly spreads from the ignition point perhaps? Anyways, great work.

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:23am

its an interesting game, i love the aesthetics and burning things is always fun.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:33am

After I#ve played this game, I was asking myself what the games message will be... graphics are really nice... webplayer version runs perfect for me... nice piece of work

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The graphics were amazing. Very moody too, it's sad you didn't get to finish... Maybe you could make a post-compo?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]